We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Check in was very easy. Staff were very friendly and professional. No wait at all.

Was given a room on the 12th Floor, in a semi corner room. Room had a funny configuration, however I really liked it. Room was large with floor to ceiling windows with a view out towards Port Phillip Bay. Bed was super comfortable, TV was good with lots of channels.

Bathroom was large, and also had floor to ceiling windows with a great view.

Room had all the amenities expected from a 5 star resort. Minibar had a great selection.

Location is fantastic, only a short walk to the Casino, South Bank or the city.

If you are in Melbourne I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kensa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    865
    174
    38
    45
See reviews for
378
885
88
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Check in easy, staff very friendly and professional, stayed overnight for my sons wedding. Offered us a late check out, ordered room service and the food was great and hot. Concierge very helpful. Room was big and clean and the bathroom was very large. Great hotel, lived it and will stay again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nunawad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The room has everything, hair dryer, even multi region power adapter. Clean, comfortable bed, adjustable climate control.

Location is excellent. Walk across the river into city, or walk to casino, or south gate shopping centre. Plenty of restaurant outside the hotel along river.

Staffs are very efficient, happy to help, but seem robotic, not much emotion. I don't mean trying to be nice and be your fake "friend" (I hate those sorts of hotels), but they just seem interested in getting the job done then that's it, a little disconnected from the guests.

I have no problem with staying here if needed, but mixed feeling about no frequent flyer points and "humanity disconnected" staffs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azzsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
189 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Well sited for conference centre and the Crown complex for casino, restaurants/cafes etc. Good size rooms with great floor to ceiling windows, night views with the city all lit up are spectacular. Excellent large sized showers, and long vanity in the bathroom, plenty of storage room. Beautiful sheets and comfy beds. Very good buffet breakfast, alas none of the other meals I ate either from room service or in the dinning room were of good quality. The mushroom soup was inedible, the salt and pepper calamari flavourless and limp. Room service took the time stated or quicker.

Room Tip: Generally with most hotels the higher the floor level the better the views. City view when facing no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Rooms very nice simple and clean , views were great on 23 floor. Close to walking to hop on hop off bus something I would do for $5 takes at least an hour and you can hop off where you want and back on, it was recommended to us in order to get orientation to the city sit the full route then figure where you want to go. This hotel is close to casino so it gives you more upturns for places to eat. Great buffet breakfast in am. Walking distance to convention center and shops along river. Need use cab to from airport expect to pay about $60 rach way. Staff friendly. Beds comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sandikayeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Every time we fly to Vic we try to have a couple of night stay at Promenade. I feel it is the nicest of the 3 towers at Crown Melbourne. Rooms are always clean, staff helpful and friendly, stay very comfortable. It has restaurants/cafes, boutique shopping and the casino all in the same complex plus a short walk to City shopping and Vic Markets. Who could ask for more...

Room Tip: Corner suites have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmKae70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. We are delighted to read your positive comments – whilst we are a different style to the Crown Towers and Metropol Hotels it is gratifying to know we are your favourite Hotel. Our staff will be very pleased to know you found the “rooms are always clean, staff helpful and friendly, stay very comfortable” as we like our guests to feel at home. As you mentioned we are very lucky to have a plethora of entertainment on offer and on the doorstep of the CBD if you feel a little more adventurous.

Thanks again for the positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlemaine, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is lovely and very elegant in a 'chinese-dragon-kind-of-way' with a lot of reds & black in the decor. Staff very very helpful, the gym slash health club is clean with the pool the highlight - the gym itself rather tiny given the size of the hotel - 3 treadmills, a rower, a stepper a orbital, 2 basic bikes and one recline bike (all three treadmills taken by 0610hrs - opens from 6am-late)...but the beds....! just heavenly. Thick crisp sheets, firm bed with no hint of an indent, lots of pillows - like falling into a cloud. The 'guest services' extremely responsive to any request - came and emptied our mini-bar when requested within 5 minutes - when I needed the room serviced, again within 5 minutes. The breakfast at Mesh diverse - loved the fresh fruit cut into chunks - with the attentive staff again elevating it to the next level. Location-wise really easy access to the waterfront and shopping precincts - and a supermarket and bottle shop just around the corner should you wish to just loll on your bed or the window seat and gaze at the view...

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Imogen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank-you for sharing your recent experience at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. It was very pleasing to read you found the staff “very, very helpful” as they take immense pride in their Service delivery. It was disappointing to read you felt the Gym was small, I do hope our Team explained there is a free weights room located on the other side of the change-rooms, we also have private steam and sauna in both the male / female change-rooms. It’s wonderful to read you found the “Guest Services extremely responsive to any request” and the breakfast service to be “attentive staff elevating it to the next level” – all of which will be shared with our Team. Thanks again for the positive reviews and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,765 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,263 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 159 in Melbourne
1,438 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing