We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice. Well appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #32 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time on a business trip recently. Was very impressed with the room fit out inclusions and cleanliness. The service and manner of both front desk and concierge staff was excellent. I'll be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,537 of 2,565 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Well located hotel for access to Southbank, CBD and Docklands, just a short walk to reach any of these. The good bits are the valet parking (friendly and super efficient) and the overall cleanliness of the hotel, room and bathroom. The downside is the atmosphere, which is rather sterile and impersonal. I guess that fits with the over arching casino links and is what some guests will be seeking.

Room Tip: Go high for city views.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank MarkDip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I really enjoyed staying here. The rooms were so quiet which is fantastic! Very clean and comfortable as well. Really, I have nothing negative to say. I'll be back for sure! The staff were also very helpful :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Arrived in the early morning and was warmly welcomed with cases etc quickly taken to the room. We had a corner room quite high up and the views were great. The room itself was well furnished with plenty of space and was in an excellent decorative order. The bathroom was a sparkling marble and ultra modern in design with a fabulous spacious shower but no bath ,which we knew. The large bed was extremely comfortable with a whole range of pillows to hand. The room was impeccably maintained but sometimes done late afternoon which was a hassle if you had been out all morning etc shopping or sightseeing.
The Tonic bar served a wide range of drinks priced as you would expect in a 5* hotel and had an excellent snack menu. Actually they were far from snacks and were great value for money as well as great to eat. Breakfast looked very good but was a silly price as per other Australian hotels so a short undercover walk took us to the restaurants and cafés by the river via the casino for excellent food at half the price in the same complex??
The Deck leisure facilities were excellent, well maintained and the large indoor pool was pleasantly warm. Good computer facilities if you needed it and somewhere to sit outside. The wifi is snail pace by European and Asian standards and you had to pay for the faster streaming of usually a free service outside of Australia.
Staff were always thoughtful and courteous and we had excellent advice from concierge who also sorted a car rental for us. Valet parking was not outrageous compared to 24 hour parking to UK city centres. It was also easy to use and very quick in practice. The bell captains outside were fun to chat to but also a wealth of useful information.
The location is great for easy access to Melbourne sights, the railway and tram links for going further afield if you do not fancy driving. It's located as part of the Crown complex with a wide range of entertainment, restaurants ( some of outstanding quality ), cafés and upmarket shops.
Overall a good quality city centre hotel which despite high turnover still keeps it's human touch because of the lovely staff. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: High floors recommended for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mikem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Check in was smooth, easy and pleasant. Room was ready before two pm check in, though if we wanted to wait until after 2 we could have had a higher floor. Rooms are clean modern and have all you need. Rooms are quiet with huge windows and great views. Access to casino and restaurants is very easy
Great city stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My family recently stayed at this hotel on an overnight visit to Melbourne. We got a great rate online for a Standard Twin room.

The room was very comfortable and large enough for four people. While busy, the hotel was also nice and quiet so we had a good sleep.

Located within very short walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants and bars, this hotel's position makes it an excellent choice for a city stay.

In the morning a coffee cart had been set up at the exit to the lifts on the ground floor. After a night out and on a cooler morning weather-wise I thought this was an excellent idea. Coffee was great too!

Thanks for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackwater165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I recently stayed in Melbourne for a congress. I was assigned to stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. Being from North America I was not familiar with the Crown brand so I was a bit hesitant. Having arrived in Melbourne, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, the location and the city of Melbourne.

The Positives: LOCATION! This property is located near the convention center, casino, Yarra River and Southbank entertainment area. It is a convenient for attending the convention as well as enjoying the many choices of restaurants nearby. If you are a runner, there is a long river path that extends for +13 km's.

The Negatives: I found internet connection very slow. The food at the breakfast is a bit poor for a business hotel. Congee and dumplings were the only non-traditional food choices. Otherwise, it was eggs, bacon sausage etc .... The amenities were more in line with a Holiday Inn type hotel vs. one associated with a casino.
Travel tip: There is free wifi in the lobby that seems to be a bit faster then the paid wifi in the rooms. If going to the convention center, there is actually a path through the casino that you can take to avoid going outside for most of the walk. This is helpful on days when raining.

In conclusion, I would definitely consider going back to Melbourne. I would consider staying at the Crown Promenade but it would depend on the offered rate. I would not pay more than $200 USD per night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhmTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
4,028 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,476 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#85 of 161 in Melbourne
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,968 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#22 of 161 in Melbourne
3,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £134 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing