We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic one-night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #29 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked an overnight stay with my wife over the weekend. Checking in was done within 5 minutes. The place was squeaky clean from the reception right up to our room. We had a great view of the Crown Complex from our room. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, the heating helped us sleep well, and the amenities were adequate for our needs. The receptionist was prompt in answering our call when we asked them to make a restaurant reservation for us.

Accessing the Crown Complex was very convenient with the tunnel access, so it didn't matter if it rained while walking there.

The only thing we would've preferred was for the shower head to be detachable. Other than that, we couldn't find any fault throughout our stay here, and we'd definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: Get a Corner King room for a more spacious room with bigger view outside your room. Also, if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,457 - 1,463 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

great and clean, i love modern hotel rather than classis. close to the main casino, lots of restaurant around. family is happy with it and enjoyed a long weekend there. will go there again when there is any special rate from time to time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hard to beat, so clean and professional situated perfectly for a cheeky night out! We have stayed several times now and have never been let down, love how even in the worst weather you can walk without getting wet do that you can visit all that crown has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenchef8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great location at southbank next to the casino and near the convention centre. A short walk to shopping factory outlet stores at south wharf. Great meals located along southbank and casino area. Shame about the weather-wet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Crown Promenade Melbourne.

We are conveniently located close to the MECC which allows guests to walk most of the way undercover. Hopefully you also experienced the various retail shops we have at Crown, all of which are open late most nights. Whilst the weather may be a little rough at times we do loan out complimentary umbrellas to all our guests.

Hopefully we’ll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. The room was large, good furniture, excellent bathroom, lots of light (the bathroom was a full window room rather than a dark cupboard). The location on the south bank is spot on...would have preferred waterfront, but guess you pay more at the sister hotel for that. The service from the staff was impeccable...always polite and helpful. The breakfast was too good, in that I struggled not to fill my plate every morning. My only gripe was the wifi which was a bit patchy but I think that was because there were so many convention attendees. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting the city, especially if they are going to the convention center which is a short walk through the mall or casino. Don't know how much it cost as the company paid, but I would feel anything under $300 would be good value as probably one of my best stays in recent months.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Hove_Windsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you are attending a meeting at the Melbourne conference center on the South Bank of the Yara river, this hotel is very good and possibly more friendly than the others of the same group in the vicinity. Not too big, not too glamour but very efficiently located, staffed and organized. Rooms are very friendly (if you can afford, the studios at the end of the wings offer incredible space, view and are well furnished. What I enjoyed the most perhaps is the 25 meter+ pool indor pool linked to its jacuzzi. The best deal for quick dinners are in the vicinity with the many restaurants tied to the Casino on the other side of the street. But there are also very good (not cheap) restaurants as well in the same block. And it will take you no more than 5-10 minutes to be either at the Conference Centre, the city centre or to take the tramway.

Room Tip: Look for ates of the studios, they are very nice for a longer stay, located at then end of each corr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Crown Promenade Melbourne.

We appreciate the positive feedback and will be sure to share it with the team. The hotel is conveniently located on Southbank and only a short walk to MECC or the CBD with numerous transport options close by. Our studios rooms have great views with all of them facing the Yarra, it’s a good option for guests who need a little more space. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our heated infinity pool, it’s equipped with a very warm spa and is a good place to unwind. Should you feel like a sauna, we have those conveniently located in the male and female change-rooms too.

Thank you again for the encouraging feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Nice rooms, quiet.
Great breakfast buffet.

But, $ 30 per night for Internet ??? And that being slow , very slow !!!
And you can only receive 100 emails for that ?

RIDICULOUS, sorry.
Internet should be INCLUDED in rates, just like a shower or a wc, lights, tv etc.

Front desk is all about money.
Very expensive or no late check out.
Everything at extra charge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zebra48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Crown Promenade Melbourne.

Whilst it was good to read of your room and breakfast experience, it was disappointing to read that you found the internet slow. We have technical support available 24/7 and I sincerely hope someone was able to assist you. We also have complimentary WIFI available which is good for general browsing and checking emails. With regards to the late check-out, we always endeavour to meet our guest needs however depending on the time requested, charges may apply.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
4,070 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,506 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#83 of 161 in Melbourne
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,052 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
949 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#22 of 161 in Melbourne
3,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £132 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing