We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #57 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here only 1 night, from word go of seeing the room it was not what I asked for, I was told it had a restaurant it does not it is across the road. To top thing off 8 day later they are still holding the bond and no one wants to help with any answers getting it back. Accor should be worried that this hotel group is in there chain. Docklands has many other place to stay around the area look at them not the sebel, I will go back to the area to visit

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    220
    85
    27
    21
See reviews for
145
244
25
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at the Sebel Docklands at the end of March in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit. The location is convenient with the free tram line just across the road. It was quiet and it was new & clean. There were a few small issues, there was only 1 hair dryer and when asked for another for the 2nd bathroom the staff member was surprised that 1 was insufficient. The same bathroom didn't have a rubbish bin. The dishwasher detergent wasn't replenished & there were no operating instructions for the washing machine. The 1.5 percent credit card surcharge was also extremely galling. However overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at the Sebel Docklands in October 2013 about 2 weeks after it opened, at that stage it still was not complete in the reception and entrance area, however the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating and our one bedroom apartment over looking the water was beautiful at quiet. The apartment had everything we needed to make it a great home away from home. I would highly recommend this property if you wanted to be close to the city (the free tram stop is right outside) but not right in the city centre. There are some great restaurants and shopping at Harbour Town within a couple of minutes walk of the Sebel. We ate at a couple of the restaurants along the waterfront near the hotel and found that if you told them where you were staying they were more than happy to offer a discount off the final bill.

Room Tip: Worth the extra, book a room on the upper floors overlooking the marina and the city, stunning at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frei44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Sebel is a new property in the Docklands area in Melbourne. Its location is a short walk from the CBD, Docklands stadium, and South Bank. Accessibility to outer suburbs is easy with tram lines nearby including the free city circle tram. There are plenty of cafes and bars nearby, and a small supermarket is also close.
First impressions were excellent after a very warm greeting following a long and tiring flight. We arrived very early and the hotel was quick to help us get access to a room to rest and freshen up. The attention to detail from the manager was appreciated.

The room (1 bedroom apartment) was spacious and neat. Plenty of room to lay our things out and relax. We had a small balcony and large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the curtains blocked out light.

Overall, the stay was lovely and made for a different experience away from the CBD. A quiet location, but one which is still close to the action.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HindleyHunter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights and loved the Sebel. We checked in at 2.00 pm on Friday afternoon, the reception staff were very efficient and helpful with directions. We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor. The room was lovely with a huge bathroom very comfy bed and two TV's. There were only two little things that could have improved the room in my opinion. The furniture in the living area was quiet large and seemed to crowd the room a little. The other improvement that could be done is that FOXTEL was only available on the living room TV and not the one in the bedroom. These were only minor issues as everything else was wonderful.
There is a small supermarket as well as a bottle shop only two blocks away which was very handy for all of the essentials. On the waterfront there are many restaurants to choose from or alternatively you can jump on a tram from docklands drive for a short trip into the CBD.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waddo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in the same building as the reception, 5th floor, could see the water.

The place is brand new, and very nicely furnished. We had a one bedroom apartment.

Service was fine, nothing too hard for them.

Location is great, right next to Docklands waterfront restaurants and harbour town.

Free tram or $10 taxi fare to town.

For the price of a cheap hotel room, this gave us a big room, in a nice location and a great weekend.

Thanks Sebel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Loved the interior design of the one bedroom apartment. Feel and luxury of hotel, convenience of an apartment. Great location without the noise of being right in the heart of Melbourne. Hop on a tram or enjoy the walk to the major highlights of Melbourne. Lovely pool area. Will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carowag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#22 of 159 in Melbourne
894 reviews
Quest Docklands
#21 of 159 in Melbourne
575 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Docklands

Property: The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
Address: 18 Aquitania Way | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Melbourne Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE SEBEL Spacious and elegantly decorated apartments offer guests privacy and headspace as well as kitchen facilities and a dining area, allowing for tailor made self sufficiency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing