We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #56 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in the 1 bed apartment. Value for money it was very good. The hotel was pleasant and enjoyable stay with my family was had. We would definitely stay there again. All the amenities you need. and the heated pool in the middle of winter was a huge hit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here with our toddler for one night so my husband could go to the footy at Etihad.
On a busy Friday night we were able to request a marina-view room which was great to see the water & boats with our small child. Check-in was reasonably easy, with a kind staff member offering to take up some of luggage as we had a portacot etc and there is no lift - only stairs - from the carpark.

Upon entering the carpark our remote access did not work so we had to run back to reception to get a staff member to manually open the door it for us. Once we made it to our allocated park there was another vehicle parked in our spot so just parked anywhere. Apparently The Sebel has shared parking with permanent residents... anyway - a tad annoying but we mentioned it to the staff and it was fine.

Now this is where we found this place a bit strange - once we entered the hotel via the flight of stairs from the carpark, we could not for the life of us figure out how to find the rooms. There were conference rooms, lovely lounges with open fires etc. But NO signage as to how to find the hotel rooms!! So lugging a toddler, plus luggage up and down stairs and finally giving up and going back to reception to walk an even further distance to finally make it to our room!
On our way ran into a mother with two small children coming back from the pool who said the same thing - The hotel floor plan is bizarre and very confusing when you are trying to find your way to your room for the first time. Maybe not for all rooms but for ours it was a nightmare!

Breakfast at Cargo was great and very good value for the package we booked.
No highchairs but there are booths and we managed fine.

Overall great new accomadation at a good price. Just prepare yourself for a maze if you are parking in the carpark!

Room Tip: marina view rooms are the pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe, with a two yr old. Apartments are large, beautifully furnished with full kitchen, foxtel and dvd. Reception staff were fantastic, got a room ready for us early and had no issue with a later checkout. Pool and spa area is nice, pool slightly cold! Would highly recommend the Sebel, esp for those who like a little extra room but still at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BamBam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Docklands isn't a central location in Melbourne as yet with many bars and restaurants still being closed, but nevertheless a quick tram ride and you're in the heart of the CBD.

The hotel was very new with very modern styling, modern room furnishings and new appliances. It was a small room which made travelling with a young baby a bit tricky, but nevertheless the room was very comfortable and pleasant to stay in. One negative was that the car park access to our room was a bit clunky with a few stairs and quite a long walk to our room so with lots of luggage this can be a bit of a mission. The checkout staff were also a bit 'flat' and the man simply handed me my receipt without any thank you or 'come again' etc. I was the one who had to complete the transaction and confirm everything was done and thank him for his help. Oh and lastly, if you love purple this place is for you! We were quite surprised to see the corridors were painted completely purple with mirrored elevators and windows everywhere so the styling is definitely....err.....unique!

Overall we were happy though and we'd stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Magdalena Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Roberts-1, Front Office Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Magdalena Q,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we sincerely appreciate your feedback. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is great to know that everything went well.

I note your feedback on the staff, and will certainly ensure everyone is back on form and offering our normal enthusiastic and friendly service straight away. Everyone in the team has a very clear understanding of the level of service required at The Sebel & Grand Mercure Docklands.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to show you our true level of hospitality on your next visit.

Many thanks,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Enjoyed 3 nights here. Nice surroundings, handy to Etihad Stadium, easy 25min walk to the centre of Melbourne. Good pub nearby. Rooms are new, inclusions are excellent, TV huge with all the pay channels.
Really easy and quick to get to with the new freeways around Melbourne. 100km/h to within 5km of Sebel, Docklands.
Not much in the way of cafes nearby if you want a quick good coffee.

Room Tip: We faced west, which had some noise in the morning due to surrounding buildings putting out garbage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Roberts-1, Front Office Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Mckenry,

Many thanks for your review of your recent visit - I do appreciate you passing on your thoughts. Thank you for the kind feedback on your enjoyable stay - it was our absolute pleasure to look after you. Thank you for your thoughts once again - and we hope to see you back with us soon.

Kind regards,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Sebel Docklands apartments are very new and furnished in a very swanky modern style - when you enter the apartment this style complements the theme established in the reception and the impressive 6-storey atrium adjacent to the swimming pool. The kitchens are very well equipped - ideal for a longer stay - with quality appliances including a gas cooktop and draw dishwasher, the bathrooms feature a large walk-in shower, and there is also an internal laundry in each apartment. Most importantly, the beds are very comfortable (without being TOO soft), with quality linen and plump, soft pillows. The location, in the heart of the Docklands New Quay precinct means an abundance of restaurants at your door, and trams (including the free city circle) just outside to connect with the rest of the city.

Having stayed here several times now, I find I am warmly welcomed back each time and am particularly pleased that management really listen to feedback - for instance in my latest stay I noticed the compendiums had indeed been placed in the rooms now, which are a very helpful guide to the local amenities. In fact this helped me select a local restaurant - and I was not disappointed. I had provided feedback on a booking issue after my first stay, and the manager personally contacted me and resolved the issue.

I really cannot think of any major negatives - they could improve the WIFI though by 1) making it free for guests and/or 2) remembering your device as it became a little annoying having to keep re-entering the login code throughout the stay.

Room Tip: Most, but not all rooms have balconies - ask if you particularly want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydneysider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Roberts-1, Front Office Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Sydneysider01,

Many thanks for your recent review of your stay with us, we appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your thoughts. I was delighted to see that you rated your stay with us so highly - I will certainly pass this on to our team who will be equally as grateful for the feedback. Once again thank you for your review, and I do hope we get to welcome you back very soon.

Regards,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very chic up market motel close to all amenities. Rooms decorated well, beds and pillows comfy as. Pool a bit cool, but spa great. Negatives- no information in the room on services at motel, ie where is the pool, lounge, how to access services such as reception. Lots of card swiping security required for everything!
Had a great breakfast at Cargo as part of the deal, food was fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie93b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Bonnie93b,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Sebel Melbourne Docklands.
I am please to read that you found the apartments comfortable and well-appointed. I have also taken your feedback on board regarding the temperature of the pool and will be speaking to the building manager regarding this matter. We have just completed the placement of compendiums in all of the apartments.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sebel Melbourne Docklands in the future.

Best Regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Docklands
#22 of 162 in Melbourne
677 reviews
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#29 of 162 in Melbourne
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Docklands
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Docklands

Address: 18 Aquitania Way | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £100 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Melbourne Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE SEBEL Spacious and elegantly decorated apartments offer guests privacy and headspace as well as kitchen facilities and a dining area, allowing for tailor made self sufficiency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing