We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra modern and very chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
Ranked #59 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights towards the end of June in a 1 bedroom apartment. The interior was very impressive being relatively new and modern with quality fittings in both kitchen and bathroom. The building interior and exterior to a lesser degree was very 'state of the art ' with its unique and amazing foyer and lift lobby and with its outside building colour a distinct landmark in itself .
We would of had stayed longer but the time of booking could only get these 3 days .
Location is ideal as one is out of the hub of the noisy city and it's only a few tram stops or a nice brisk walk back to the docklands area. The staff behind the front reception were always pleasant with any request we had . We will certainly come back for longer when next in Melbourne .

Room Tip: One needs to be on higher than level 5 as to not overlook the car park on adjacent building car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights with family in a 2 x 2 harbour view apartment. Modern fit out, compact but good clean bathrooms, no bath. TV in living area &1 bedroom. Combined washing machine & dryer closeted in living space - a bit noisy. Good kitchen set up with plenty of crockery & utensils. Drawer mounted dishwasher and a big fridge. Some maintenance issues - both bedroom sliding doors could not be closed but issue rectified by engineering during the day (A room service QA check should have picked this up). Location was quiet, city lights & marina view great - very relaxing. I'm thinking romantic weekend but sadly no beach!! Not much by way of good restaurants or Cafe's on offer locally but only about a 2km walk to the centre of Melbourne. Plenty of trams for the trip back. Excellent access to City Link freeway. Compares favourably with similar length stays at Quest on William and Medina Queen St. so will become our new serviced apartment destination for longer stays in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Harbour view apartments are worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in the 1 bed apartment. Value for money it was very good. The hotel was pleasant and enjoyable stay with my family was had. We would definitely stay there again. All the amenities you need. and the heated pool in the middle of winter was a huge hit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here with our toddler for one night so my husband could go to the footy at Etihad.
On a busy Friday night we were able to request a marina-view room which was great to see the water & boats with our small child. Check-in was reasonably easy, with a kind staff member offering to take up some of luggage as we had a portacot etc and there is no lift - only stairs - from the carpark.

Upon entering the carpark our remote access did not work so we had to run back to reception to get a staff member to manually open the door it for us. Once we made it to our allocated park there was another vehicle parked in our spot so just parked anywhere. Apparently The Sebel has shared parking with permanent residents... anyway - a tad annoying but we mentioned it to the staff and it was fine.

Now this is where we found this place a bit strange - once we entered the hotel via the flight of stairs from the carpark, we could not for the life of us figure out how to find the rooms. There were conference rooms, lovely lounges with open fires etc. But NO signage as to how to find the hotel rooms!! So lugging a toddler, plus luggage up and down stairs and finally giving up and going back to reception to walk an even further distance to finally make it to our room!
On our way ran into a mother with two small children coming back from the pool who said the same thing - The hotel floor plan is bizarre and very confusing when you are trying to find your way to your room for the first time. Maybe not for all rooms but for ours it was a nightmare!

Breakfast at Cargo was great and very good value for the package we booked.
No highchairs but there are booths and we managed fine.

Overall great new accomadation at a good price. Just prepare yourself for a maze if you are parking in the carpark!

Room Tip: marina view rooms are the pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe, with a two yr old. Apartments are large, beautifully furnished with full kitchen, foxtel and dvd. Reception staff were fantastic, got a room ready for us early and had no issue with a later checkout. Pool and spa area is nice, pool slightly cold! Would highly recommend the Sebel, esp for those who like a little extra room but still at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BamBam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Docklands isn't a central location in Melbourne as yet with many bars and restaurants still being closed, but nevertheless a quick tram ride and you're in the heart of the CBD.

The hotel was very new with very modern styling, modern room furnishings and new appliances. It was a small room which made travelling with a young baby a bit tricky, but nevertheless the room was very comfortable and pleasant to stay in. One negative was that the car park access to our room was a bit clunky with a few stairs and quite a long walk to our room so with lots of luggage this can be a bit of a mission. The checkout staff were also a bit 'flat' and the man simply handed me my receipt without any thank you or 'come again' etc. I was the one who had to complete the transaction and confirm everything was done and thank him for his help. Oh and lastly, if you love purple this place is for you! We were quite surprised to see the corridors were painted completely purple with mirrored elevators and windows everywhere so the styling is definitely....err.....unique!

Overall we were happy though and we'd stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Magdalena Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Roberts-1, Front Office Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Magdalena Q,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we sincerely appreciate your feedback. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is great to know that everything went well.

I note your feedback on the staff, and will certainly ensure everyone is back on form and offering our normal enthusiastic and friendly service straight away. Everyone in the team has a very clear understanding of the level of service required at The Sebel & Grand Mercure Docklands.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to show you our true level of hospitality on your next visit.

Many thanks,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Enjoyed 3 nights here. Nice surroundings, handy to Etihad Stadium, easy 25min walk to the centre of Melbourne. Good pub nearby. Rooms are new, inclusions are excellent, TV huge with all the pay channels.
Really easy and quick to get to with the new freeways around Melbourne. 100km/h to within 5km of Sebel, Docklands.
Not much in the way of cafes nearby if you want a quick good coffee.

Room Tip: We faced west, which had some noise in the morning due to surrounding buildings putting out garbage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty_Official
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony_Roberts-1, Front Office Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Mckenry,

Many thanks for your review of your recent visit - I do appreciate you passing on your thoughts. Thank you for the kind feedback on your enjoyable stay - it was our absolute pleasure to look after you. Thank you for your thoughts once again - and we hope to see you back with us soon.

Kind regards,
Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
1,137 reviews
Quest Docklands
#19 of 161 in Melbourne
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#45 of 161 in Melbourne
554 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Docklands

Address: 18 Aquitania Way | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £82 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Melbourne Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE SEBEL Spacious and elegantly decorated apartments offer guests privacy and headspace as well as kitchen facilities and a dining area, allowing for tailor made self sufficiency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing