We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional with no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Functional with no frills”
Reviewed 9 April 2011

One of these "does what it says on the tin" but nothing else. Stayed for 12 days in March during F1 fever.
Great location for Chinatown CBD and shopping.
Basic 1 room apartment that works but only just. Don't expect any frills, there are none and the staff are not the happiest bunnies in town. Don't complain to them as you'll end up feeling as though you owe them a living.
These are classed as "serviced" apartments but it's best that you actually find out the meaning of this as it varies daily!
Reasonable

Room Tip: Don't expect too much and you'll be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    334
    86
    13
    11
See reviews for
133
314
45
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level Contributor
269 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Just returned from a stay in Punthill Little Bourke with partner. We go to Melbourne each year for the Melbourne Garden Show which takes place just up the road.
We were happy, good value for money, location fantastic for our event and generally, room clean, had everything we needed. Bed comfortable for me but my partner is choosy and was not as happy with the bed.

A bit of noise at night from the neighborhood but its par for the course considering the area the hotel is in. If you want absolute quite staying in Chinatown is probably not for you but if you want to be within a couple of hundred meters of theaters, lively bars and a huge range of food options this is great. This is a hotel to rest in and then get out and eat drink and be entertained don't come for the pool, the views, the room service come for the value, average facilities and above all to eat drink and be entertained.

If you want a slightly better standard of apartment hotel try the Mantra just up the road, bigger apartments, slightly better facilities, quieter, same location and slightly more expensive.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpannerPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2011

My husband, me and 2 children stayed in this hotel last week. The apartment unit is small and not well maintained. The toilet was really a disappointment as the whole bathroom got flooded after each shower due to blockage of the drainage system. You can get a better hotel with the same rate (as we also stayed in Melbourne city centre last year).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I just returned from 3 wonderful nights at PuntHill Little Bourke, and I would definitely stay here again.

We arrived to the hotel around lunchttime and our room was already awaiting for us. We had pre-purchased the one bedroom spa apartment, and it was lovely. A MASSIVE 3-4 person corner spa, a full kitchen, lounge room & tables, a balcony with an empty cigarette butt container in case we were smokers, and a queen sized bed that had sliding doors around it in case we wanted privacy if we were sharing the room with anyone else (we weren't).

The location was great. You felt safe of a nighttime walking through Chinatown and is in a great location for restaurants & local Chinese eateries. We also went to Gaylords Indian restaurant, just down the road in Tattersalls Lane.

As it wasn't facing a direct city street, you didn't hear any noises and we slept soundly throughout the night and morning.

Service was efficient when we called down twice over the couple of days asking for extra towels as there was only one adult sized towel when we got into the bathroom. No biggy. They were up to our room within 5 minutes with more towels.

The cable channels which it claimed the tv had we couldn't pick up, only the normal tv stations, but we weren't fussed as we weren't in Melbourne to watch tv.

Although we didn't have breakfast downstairs in their kitchen area, it was cheap ($9.50 or so), and if we had have been there for longer, we would have tried it out.

Overall, this is a great hidden little gem in a safe quiet location in town. I would definitely stay here again and plan to do so next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

just stayed in Punthill Little Bourke with girlfriends. Very happy, good value for money, location fantastic. room clean, had everything we needed. Bed comfortable. Abit of noise at night - from bar or nightclub nearby but overall very happy. Will definately stay there again. Make sure you also get a coffee from pellegrini's, a short walk away on Bourke Street. - A Melbourne institution, Pellegrini's has been serving its faithful customers great coffee and authentic Italian food for generations.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poohboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We loved the location of the hotel within Chinatown - so central, heaps of places to eat and lots of atmosphere - Little Bourke St lit up at night and lives up to it's reputation as a bustling hub. Free City circle trms just a block away which got us all around city. Plus we could walk easily to most places anyway. The hotel was also really good value. We had a one-bedroom apartment, with sliding doors to close off bedroom from lounge. Housekeeping every day was good. Room starting to look a lttle dated - but still ok for medium priced hotel. Not sure it lives up to it's 4 star rating though. We would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I'm afraid to say we were one of the few guests to say this hotel was a disappointment. For a start when we walked in, the man was arrogant and rude. We then headed to our room, very dark and rather small but we got a good deal so didn't stress too much. The worst part about this hotel is that it backs on to a dodgy alley which unfortunately our room backed on to. Loud people swearing all night, bottles being smashed and drug deals all night, no point in having the small balcony if your too scared to go out there. Obviously we drew the short straw as this hotel has great reviews but hopefully this warns people of the downside, wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngtravellor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Property: Punthill Little Bourke
Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing