We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception Staff are Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Am a frequent business traveller. I had some small problems that don't normally get addressed in larger hotels. I get used to hearing 'sorry but we can't do anything about that'. Reception staff at Punthill Little Bourke went out of their way to address all of them, changed my room allocation and made my stay excellent. Thanks!

Room Tip: As usual in a city ...higher = less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Norman B,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill Little Bourke.
Our team at the property take great pride in ensuring that all our guests needs are met, and we are so pleased to know that your concerns during your recent stay were dealt with in a timely and professional manner.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Located at the top end if Chinatown, you can walk to pretty much everywhere or in a very short distance catch a tram or bus. The staff are wonderful and very obliging. Our initial room, 613, had two king single beds pushed together, not uncommon, but they are so old I reckon the last King slept on them! They are so hollow / collapsed that they made my back ache and I virtually couldn't sleep. The kind manager inspected the bed and told me that they put in a request for a new one but the owner won't pay for one. Other aspects like broken bathroom fixtures, loose floor tiles every where, even in the room we moved to, and carpet stains in the lifts and hallways tell a story about lack of maintenance funds. Shower is over the bath and awkward to use. Wifi is not free. Breakfast fare is basic but accordingly priced at $9.50. By the way, the bed in 501 was OK but only a queen. Oh yeh, forget about the gym. Not even one walking machine or cross trainer. A few weights and two big bounce balls. The staff did always go out of their way to help - even loaned me a MYKI card for the tram which saved me having to buy one.

Room Tip: Check out the bed first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear KeithJ23,
We are extremely disappointed to read that you had a less than satisfactory stay.
It is common practice for hotels to use split king beds. We are not sure how you received the impression that "the owner won't pay". Our full time manager and our operations manager have in fact inspected the beds and advise that they are of good quality. Beds that are not of a high standard are immediately replaced.
We have thoroughly inspected the bathroom and there are a few small cracks surrounding the taps.
All passages are being refurbished and re-carpeted, and contractors will have fully completed this work by the end of October; work commences shortly.
It is not common practice in Australia for wifi to be free in hotels, but this will probably be the case in the not too distant future.
We do not advertise that we have a gym. The humidity from the pool makes it impractical to have treadmills etc. The fitness room does have free weights, weighted balls and some other small equipment.
We are pleased that the staff took care of you.
We should emphasise that we offer an outstanding location and a beautifully presented property. The property recently underwent a soft refurbishment and all furniture is of a very high standard. Rates are moderate for such a central city location.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were recomended this hotel by our travel agent who said it was in a great location, modern, clean and quiet. I seemed to be too good to be true, well it was everything the agent said and more. The location was fantastic with everything within walking distance. First impressions when arriving into Chinatown was 'what have we done' but this was put to rest when we walked into the foyer to see a modern city hotel with friendly staff greeting us. Rooms were clean, spacious and had up todate decor. We had booked a 2 bedroom appartment but this was unavailable and were give two speparate rooms at then end of a corridor with adjoining doors. This was fantastic as we were traveling with 2 teenage children and they could come and go as they please leaving us to quality adult time together. Kitchenette has plenty of plates, bowls glasses and cutlery for when eating in. Only downside we found was the pillows were not that comfortable, extra blanket on bed would have been good. Front office member Stuart was always very helpfull and delivered extra blankets to room for next night. 7-11's and bottle shops near buy for forgotten items. MCG tour and museum is a must for sports buffs. Would stay again and recomend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Greg B,
Thank you for your complimentary review of Punthill Little Bourke.
The team at the property will be thrilled to know that you had such an enjoyable stay, and found that the apartments, service and location of this city apartment hotel met all your expectations, and that you will happily recommend Punthill too!
We do have extra blankets in each apartment, but our guests are always welcome to contact reception if they need more and we can happily provide extras, as was done during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Excellent location for sightseeing in Melbourne. Almost opposite the Chinese Museum and close to free tram and shuttle bus stops. Federation Square a 10-15 min walk away. Front desk very helpful and friendly.

Rooms, spacious and well equipped. We requested a quiet room and that we got, the cost was being opposite the air conditioning units but I guess nowhere in this block has a view so would prefer the quiet. The rooms were ergonomically peculiar, no wardrobe in the bedroom alcove, next to kitchen area. Bathroom large spa bath, wc squashed into corner with loo roll holder jutting into side and washing line cutting across wc to opposite wall.......odd! The sink was v small and no dishwasher but plates, etc all provided and microwave. The downside, and a bugbear of mine, no free wifi but a public computer provided. Everything very clean.

I would stay again and hope by then they had seen the way to provide free wifi for all!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear FromGB,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the apartments, service and location of this apartment hotel in Melbourne CBD.
Hotels in Australia do still generally charge for wifi, but we are sure it will become common place in the near future to provide this service free.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I spent 1 night at this hotel on a quick trip to Melbourne.
It is well positioned in the Chinatown area and very close walking distance to the central CBD of Melbourne.
Our welcome at reception was friendly, helpful and quick.
Our initial thoughts were of concern as the passageway..carpet and walls were looking a bit tired...however, we were very pleasantly pleased on entering our room on the 6th floor.
It was a really good size, modern, clean with excellent amenities.
There was a cooktop, microwave, fridge and washing machine available.
Other than the fridge, we did not require any of these but it was great to know they are there if we were staying again for a few days.
The room was very quiet, except early the next morning when rubbish was being collected in the laneway below. This is a problem in any big city where there is a daily collection from the city laneways and not something anyone has much control over I am afraid.
Reception allowed us to store baggage for a couple of hours after checkout which was very much appreciated and we could have used toilet or change facilities if required at that time.
The Airport bus provided a free drop off and pickup which was excellent.
Would certainly stay here again and recommend as a good value option in central Melbourne, certainly if you want to be in the Chinatown area or close to theatres and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear ushy,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent overnight stay and are happy to recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have been staying in this serviced apartment since openly more than 6 years ago.
The apartment location is in the heart of Melbourne Chinatown and central to all locations.
Most importantly, the apartment is very clean and the staffs are well mannered and helpful.
The apartment room rate is attractive and I would consider the rate is best for the money. The Greek, Italian and Vietnamese food are stone throw around besides the Chinese.
I would say the apartment cleanliness is equal to any 4-5 Stars hotel. I would strongly recommend this serviced apartment to anyone going to Melbourne.

Room Tip: rooms facing the front of apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adstone888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear adstone888,
As a return guest to Punthill, we thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to know that your expectations are always met on each return visit, and Punthill is your choice for accommodation when visiting Melbourne.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fantastic location and amazing staff! We went to Melbourne to watch an NRL game and not being familiar with Melbourne, just picked a hotel randomly and we were so glad we chose Punthill Little Burke. Amazing restaurants at the doorstep, so easy to walk to great destinations within the CBD. The staff could not have been more friendly and the room was great! A bit shout out to the New Zealand lady at reception (sorry I didn't get your name) who was really helpful and always greeted you with a smile :) Have recommended the place to family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear emntone,
Thanks so much for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Little Bourke.
The team at the property will be thrilled to know that you had such an enjoyable stay, and are happy to recommend Punthill to others too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
833 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#42 of 161 in Melbourne
3,623 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#93 of 161 in Melbourne
400 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £78 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing