We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Cup trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Melbourne Cup trip”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just returned from a week in Melbourne. We originally had only booked for 5 nights, and at the last minute extended our stay for 2 nights. We were part of a group of 17 people, who were located on various floors. Our room was quite good, plenty of room, and a small kitchenette for those who want to cook, but why cook when Melbourne has soo many great places to eat, including heaps on the doorstep in China Town. My main complaint would be the noise at night from bins being emptied (not in the hotel, in China Town), but I am a light sleeper, and my husband heard nothing. The only day the room wasn't cleaned and towels refreshed was Melbourne Cup day, but we had a note the day before to let us know this would happen. All in all, a fantastic week with our friends, which the accommodation helped.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Jenniesue,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor.
The Spring Racing Carnival is a vibrant time in Melbourne, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay .
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    338
    86
    13
    12
See reviews for
136
319
46
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

$238 dollars for a one bedroom spa apartment. We checked in and checked out an hour later. The room 113 or 112, directly above the entrance smelt like smoke, musty and stale, The hand basin was burnt as some one had left a smoke in the basin and it had burnt into it. The sofa couch !! WELL, after pulling it out to make it up for the night, the underlay was stained with urine and blood and the mattress was well worn, no adult could sleep on it without feeling the spring base. Not what I expected for the price I paid, and the pics on the website for the room I had booked was nothing like what we walked into. So much for a romantic get away, we could not wait to get away from this hotel. We travel a fair bit, and stay at quite a lot of hotels, THIS was NOT a value for money apartment, and I would never recommend it to any one.

Room Tip: Here's my tip, for the price I payed, we could have and should have stayed at CROWN !!!! Can not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveharrison67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Owner at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Mr Harrison,

You booked a non-refundable rate. It is my understanding that you arrived at our property extremely upset that we would not accept a cancellation
of your reservation. On arrival, you were frustrated as you stated that you could not find the property and you were outraged at the parking charge of $19 ( The parking rate is a fairly moderate charge for the city centre.) Before checking in you stated that you would only stay for half an hour. Approximately 2 hours later you departed.

We are so sorry that you are upset about your experience, but feel that your extremely disappointing review is motivated by your anger. You arrived on your own and did not
reserve the sofa bed which was consequently made up for you. We are not sure why you needed to use it at all. In any event the sofabed is in fact a brand new one. It has been checked and
we are unable to the unpleasant stains you mention.

At Punthill we pride ourselves on giving good customer service and go out of our way to ensure each and every guest has a wonderful stay.

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redland Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a studio apartment for five nights. The room was a great size. We had everything we needed, great bed, cooking facilities if we wanted to look after ourselves, and a washing machine as well. We were impressed by the politeness, kindness and service by the staff, from the cleaners to the front of house. We enjoyed the locality as well. Just down the road were Myer and David Jones and we were surrounded by some of the best and well priced eateries we have ever found.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel where it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Jan R,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Little Bourke,
We are so pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic time in Melbourne during your stay at our property and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a one bedroom spa apartment. The apartment was really roomy for two sisters to enjoy a shopping trip to Melbourne. We stayed for 5 nights, arriving late after the staff had left for the evening. Easy to gain access through the phone by the front entrance that dials to the main office. We had a room on the 6th floor and it was super quiet. The sliding doors on the bedroom section locked out all the light and noise so we slept soundly. The apartment was really clean and well maintained. The staff on the front desk were so welcoming and helpful. Special mention to Anna who sweet talked us a spot at a hip Spanish Tapa's bar; Bomba, just re-opened around the corner on Lonsdale. Her recommendation led to a great evening. We would recommend these apartments as they are so centrally located, good size kitchenette, comfortable beds and super clean. The only thing that would have enhanced the experience would be foxtel on the telly for when you've shopped so hard you just need to put your feet up! Thanks Punthill Little Bourke for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the 6th floor and if you want super quiet, get a one room apartment with sliding doors to kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzcruize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear suzcruize,
Thanks so much for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Little Bourke.
Fantastic to hear that you had such a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom apartment for a girly weekend! The room we had was actually a 1 bedroom and studio apartment with a joining door, this gave us loads of room so it didn't feel like we were on top of each other. Although we were so central to the CBD it was so quiet and I heard no noise from the street in the early hours! Staff at check in/out were friendly and helpful, we had no issues. Plenty of parking in a nearby multi story which was $20 which is more than reasonable, have paid much more in similar apartment hotel chains in Melbourne. Everything in the CBD is in a reasonable walking distance. Overall would definitely stay again!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lucylincoln86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear lucylincoln86,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are delighted that you and your friends had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom spa apartment. The rooms are a reasonable size with a spacious bathroom and nice sized spa. The lighting in the bathroom could be better for applying make up but the bathroom is quite nice. There is a combination washer/dryer and also a clothes airer which is handy if you are staying for more than a couple of nights. There are no overhead lights in the bedroom but the lamps are quite bright. The cupboard doors in the bedroom are mirrored which is handy if you like a good, full length mirror. The only real negative was that our mattress was old and sagged in the middle - we slept on it the first two nights (I thought I may have imagined it the first night but it was definitely saggy). We mentioned the issue with the bed to reception and they changed our mattress over for one which was much more comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kavz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear kavz1,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. Having said that, we are sorry that you had any problems at all with the bedding, but are pleased that you found the replacement mattress more comfortable; providing comfortable and supportive bedding is of the utmost importance at Punthill, and our mattresses are checked and changed regularly by our Operations team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a 1 brm apartment. The location was great and the reception staff very friendly and helpful. The apartment was quite comfortable, although the bed was a bit soft and the furniture a bit tired. The outside bins are emptied in the middle of the night and can be a bit noisy, but we expected that and staying on a Saturday night in the middle of Chinatown you have to expect noise from the streets and the hotel has no control over that either.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Debbie D,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We do provide luxurious mattress toppers on our beds which most guests find very comfortable, but we can easily remove them if requested for a firmer mattress.
As you mentioned, staying in the heart of any city equates with a level of city noise that is inevitable, however we are pleased to know that the location of this apartment hotel was compensation for that, and that overall you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,838 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 159 in Melbourne
1,057 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
2,074 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 159 in Melbourne
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Property: Punthill Little Bourke
Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing