We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Couldnt ask for a better location in Melbourne. Walking distance to everything. Our hosts were fantastic , really helpful (given they had only been in Melbourne for 3 weeks). Thanks again for organising our transport back to the airport. Rooms are adequate. Its not luxury, but it does the job. Be sure to ask for a room on the courtyard side, the laneway is a little noisy. China Town is a fantastic location when staying in the city, a very safe location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123,288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear 123288,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
The team at the property will be delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Punthill Little Bourke
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a week at Punthill Apartment in Little Bourke Street,what can I say it was the best accommodation we have stayed in Melbourne over the last 6 years..You would think it would be noisy in China town but did not hear a thing.Room was spotless,bed comfy and everything you need to have a great stay.Walking distance to CBD and we felt safe walking around day or night.The staff are very helpful without being invasive.Thanks to all !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Raills,
Thank you for your review.
The team at Punthill Little Bourke will be thrilled to know that the apartments, location and service exceeded all your expectations. Thanks for your lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at the Punthill apartments over the Christmas holidays for seven nights as part of our Ashes tour. The apartment was clean, well equipped comfortable and good value for money. We liked the location, the restaurants were excellent and good value for money. We felt safe in the neighbourhood and enjoyed the bustling atmosphere, an interesting area and central for Federation square, the MCG and shopping areas. Thank you to Milo and staff for their friendly assistance in recommending places and giving guidance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Joe C,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are extremely pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent location in Chinatown, accessed from Little Bourke or Lonsdale.
The room was spacious, clean and good little kitchen corner with m’wave, small fridge, 2 element cooker, small washing up sink and some basic cooking, serving and eating equipment. Liked they had both wine glasses(smallish ones) and champagne flutes. Liked also that we could watch telly in bed.
Dislikes were: Room view, tiny balcony which looked (on the right side) over to other apartments. This balcony houses the air compressor for air con and overlooks an alleyway where the neighbourhood big bins reside. The upside is if you stay during the weekend, these are not emptied hence a quieter stay. The close proximity to other apartments means you can overhear some choice arguments – the couple in the opposing apartment were having a blazing row. She did a lot of yelling using four letter words. Glad it didn’t last long. The room could do with a bit more storage. In our studio room, the bed looked like a double (not queen) – just as well we are both small people, wouldn’t do if you’re on the larger side. If you're after big soft fluffy pillows - this is not the place for you ether.
You had to be a bit of a contortionist to twist over to reach the loo roll mounted on the side of the washing machine cabinet. The floor can get very wet near the bath area when you are showering as the shower glass on the side is quite narrow. There is a foldable wire clothes airer hung on the back of the bathroom door which means your hand gets caught up in it when reaching for the door handle, not to mention it swings around a bit when you open/shut the door. Plenty of room on the wall behind the door to mount the hanging hooks for it on.

Quite alot of nice looking places on Little Burke, I might check out next time.You can DIY a continental breakfast for $9.50. wireless internet is $3.00 per hour or $!8 for $24

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Han_yinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear meguin,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
Next time you stay, if you are disturbed in any way at all during your stay, please do not hesitate to advise reception and we will immediately attend to the problem. The same applies to the pillows; just ask for softer ones and we will gladly comply.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I have just spent an excellent week's stay at the Punthill, Little Bourke. The accommodation (a 1 bedroom apartment) was spacious, clean and everything we could have wished for. The apartment was also surprisingly quiet, bearing in mind you are in the centre of China Town. We were on the 5th floor and had some city views. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful, in fact they made it more like a home from home, so we would like to thank them for that. Our deal included free wifi and breakfast. The breakfast was adequate but we probably would not have had it if it wasn't included in the deal as we could have easily made a similar breakfast in the apartment as the kitchen facilities were excellent. We had a couple of problems with wifi and light bulbs in the bathroom but these were dealt with immediately by Stewart. We would highly recommend the Punthill, Little Bourke. There was nothing we could fault about the standard of accommodation and service. We will be back in Melbourne again so it's nice to know that there is a place that fits our needs perfectly. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: A higher floor would be recommended to make the most of the views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Biljul,
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Little Bourke.
The team will be delighted to know that you had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Melbourne, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Set in China town Mel, a great spot for getting around. Very good standard accommodation, so clean and comfortable, staff excellent and most helpful when arranging trips and giving advice. Suite provided with the basics, tea, coffee, nice china etc, could not fault them, would stay again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank elizjoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear elizjoca,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
The team at this city apartment hotel will be delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had not been sure what to expect as the Punthill is not a hotel but serviced apartments. We had booked a 1-bedroom spa apartment and it suited our needs perfectly. Very similar in layout to an executive hotel room, it was semi open plan with sliding doors which could be used to separate the "bedroom" area from the lounge and kitchenette areas.

The small balcony was a very pleasant bonus and we used it in the late afternoon to sit out and have a drink while recovering from a day spent sightseeing. Another plus point - and quite unexpected - was the washing machine/drier tucked away in the spacious spa bathroom. We hadn't planned on using it, but at the end of the week it was nice to be able to put on a wash and take home clean clothes instead of a pile of dirty washing!

Housekeeping was to a high standard and our room felt light and bright and airy. It was always a pleasure to come back to it at the end of a busy day. One day we got back mid afternoon and were disappointed to find our room had not yet been serviced, but apparently it had been a particularly busy day with a lot of people checking out.

Another small niggle was that the first time we used the spa bath it was extremely disconcerting to see a lot of dark brown scum when the bath had emptied. The 2nd time we used the spa the same thing happened but to a lesser degree.

The location was good, being on the edge of China Town and only a 5 minute walk from the trams. We were there over the Chinese New Year period and really enjoyed the celebrations.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: We had been undecided as to whether to go for a Studio Apartment or a 1-Bedroom Apartment. Decided t...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Elizabeth W,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your wonderful comments.
We have been advised that the reason for the brown residue is fake tan. We would appreciate a call (on 1300 731 299 or 03 9916 8888) as we would be interested to know whether you were using a tanning product.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,274 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,097 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £72 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing