We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location with drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Little Bourke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have stayed here before, must have had a higher level room though, I arrived very late at night and was assisted to gain access remotely via the hotel comms located at the entrance, all good so far, we selected this hotel as we were undertaking several activities in close proximity to this hotel so it was an easy choice, the room was slightly smaller than I remembered, as I said it may have been a different level of room, the only real issue I had was the amount of street noise till the early hours, a room on floors above us may well have been a bit quieter

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank yabbie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear yabbie67,
We are so pleased that you chose to stay with Punthill again and thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
Whilst the benefit of staying centrally in a city is that you are in the thick of the action, some level of city noise is often an inevitable consequence of this location too.
We do have two other properties in the CBD - Punthill Flinders Lane @ 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne and Punthill Manhattan @ 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, which you may like to consider when you are next visiting Melbourne.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Comfortable and spacious and fully equipped generally very clean and well presented. Handy location with easy access to transport and surrounded buy food outlets (Asian mainly being in Chinatown). All staff were very efficient friendly and helpful overall this a good place to stay.
The Skybus shuttle picks up and drops off at this Hotel,

Some observations and minor concerns that have been mentioned in other reviews, the grouting above the bath was either mouldy or dirty needs bleaching, the "balconies" are a metal structure that really only seem to be there to house and allow maintenance the air conditioners. One of which started to make a very loud noise and vibration that disturbed our sleep (Staff investigated next day and reduced the noise considerably). Is near a number of Night Clubs so there is a chance of noise on Friday and weekend nights if you are on the lower floors. Have to agree with comments about free wifi, it was provided free in all Hotels during a trip to Vietnam 3 years ago (Third World Country!!) and most other places around the world, $3 an hour is ridiculous.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankPerth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear FrankPerth1,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the staff so friendly and helpful.
We are continuing with maintenance of grouting in some of the bathrooms; we are aware that there is some discoloration but please be assured that it is not mould or dirt.
We have one nightclub in the vicinity of the property which only opens on Saturday nights. Whilst the World Cup is on, there is one TAB lounge/bar which is operating extended hours due to the timings of the games in the middle of the night, and this has attracted a bit more patronage than normal, however there has been no excessive noise from this.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill when you next visit Melbourne.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a one night stay here and were very satisfied with the one bedroom spa apartment, the rooms were a good size with plenty of space to move in and all the modern con's you would expect, the staff at Reception were very welcoming and had us checked in and on our way with very little fuss in no time, the bed was extremely comfortable and after a great Chinese meal we were able to relax in the spa before a good nights sleep. The location allows you to be able to wonder around the city with no problems as you are right in the middle of the action. Well done and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so you get views over the city where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear ColinandBarb,
Thank you for your lovely review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent overnight stay, and only hope that on your next visit to Melbourne, you may be able to stay a bit longer!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Located in Cohen Place off Little Bourke St Punthill Apartment hotel offers a good sized self contained apartment ideal for a working stay or long weekend. Bedroom very comfortable and can be separated from sitting area via sliding doors.
Clean and well equipped kitchenette. Bathroom facilities a little old fashioned but functional.
Front load washing machine and dryer useful for longer stays.
Settee / Sofa bed in lounge room not very comfortable for sitting on, didn't try it for sleeping.
Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
Linked from foyer is one of Melbourne's best Chinese restaurants The Tea House. Dining will not disappoint.

Room Tip: We stayed in 613 with small balcony overlooking the square and Chinese Museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear SpeedTwin1961,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
Great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and found the staff so friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Punthill's location in the centre of Melbourne's Chinatown was perfect for me; staying for ten nights for the Melbourne International Jazz Festival. In addition, the location is ideally located for Asian dining. I found the room suited my needs very well; ample space and well-equipped. For a long stay it is great to have a washer and dryer and functional kitchen. It was possible to close off the bedroom with sliding panels and the darkness and silence created made for great sleeps in a king-sized bed. I slept undisturbed through two inner-city weekends which is a good test. The staff were all friendly, professional and obliging and the housekeeping of a high order and unobtrusive. I had a balcony overlooking Cohen Place. I stayed on an excellent deal making this a good value stay as well. I'd certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malleeboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Malleeboyz,
Thank you for your lovely review of Punthill Little Bourke.
The team will be thrilled to know that you had such a great stay and found the apartments comfortable, the staff so friendly, helpful and efficient, and the location ideal during your recent stay in Melbourne.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel.. So close to everything. Great restaurants and shopping nearby. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, so helpful. Rooms are very well equipped and comfortable. Shower is amazing! Will definitely be back. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Jann C,
Thank you for your lovely review of Punthill Little Bourke.
The team at the property will be delighted to hear that you found the service so helpful and friendly, the apartments so comfortable and the location so convenient during your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Central location, comfortable accommodation. Handy to many restaurants, shops and public transport. Good spacious room, would be keen to consider again on next trip to Melbourne. Not luxurious but certainly adequate and would depend upon deals available but this was a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Andrew K,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and you can definitely keep up to date with any special deals we have on offer by signing up for our e-newsletter on our website.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,465 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
217 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £68 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing