We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THe Langham Melbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THe Langham Melbourne”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Langham Melbourne usually offers 24 hours room service, so we can eat anytime.
They are offering teleconferencing facilities or translation service for international

the researcher of Langham group recognised that they normally offer a teleconferencing meeting every 2 months for especially international

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seolae l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,906
    900
    289
    82
    69
See reviews for
815
2,615
275
885
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I spent 4 nights in this splendid hotel. Situated in Southbank in the heart of Melbourne CBD it is within walking distance of theatres restaurants etc. Our room was large and extremely well appointed ( very impressive stationery ) with spectacular views over the Yarra river and city.We joined the Club which gave us access to the gym with sauna and steam as well as the Club lounge on the 24th. floor which serves complimentary canapes and drinks in the afternoon. You can take your breakfast here if you wish. Food excellent especially seafood in the Buffet. Staff very professional yet natural, happy and pleased to serve you. A formal hotel with a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed here on business and was surprised at the luxury room, incredible bed, and well appointed bathroom. Location was great and it was nice to eat breakfast looking across the river at central Melbourne. I recommend getting a rate with breakfast included since the buffet is incredibly extensive with lots of fresh fruit and breads.

My only complaint has to do with the hotel's WiFi. The daily charge is steep -- $24.95/day -- and unconscionable in my opinion. Budget hotels can offer free WiFi but higher priced ones have to continue the gouge by hitting up their guests with a "fee" to use something that should be included in the price. I almost expected them to charge me per amount of water I used too. Shameful but not surprising.

If you can get past the WiFi charge, the hotel is a great value and great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
I am delighted that you enjoyed our enchanting hospitality during your stay. We have a range of wifi options and we do provide free short-term access in the business centre. Alternatively all Club rooms include wifi or book our best value package which includes breakfast and wifi. We look forward to welcoming you back.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This hotel has that exquisite luxurious feel about it, from the moment the staff open the door of the taxi and exude a very warm welcome to the hotel. The warmth and friendliness of the staff (obviously very well-trained), the attention to detail in the decorations, furnishings, toiletries, beautiful stationery in our room elevates this 5 star hotel above most other 5 star hotels. The breakfast buffet is not huge in variety like some other hotels, but the food is absolutely delicious. The taste in decorations and furnishings was just beautiful and more elegant than many other 5 star hotels we've stayed at, including Hilton, Sheraton and Marriott properties internationally.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Great hotel but would be great if the included the breKfast rather than charging an extra $40

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acadaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. We offer a range of packages which include breakfast or other services. Please check our website for our best value offers.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My partner surprised me with this weekend getaway and The Langham was perfectly positioned for all things Melbourne. It is situated on Southbank, right next to the Yarra River and all its fine dining. It is also only a few blocks away from the theatre district. The staff, especially the Concierge and doorman, were all extremely courteous and went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. We only had a basic room but it did not feel cramped and we even ordered room service after coming back very late from the theatre. We're not normally huge fans of room service food, but this was fast, delicious and (more to the point!) still very hot! I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a central point from which to explore Melbourne. We will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Keep an eye out on the Wotif website as The Langham offers some good weekend specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereKhan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed 3 nights with a friend for a bit of retail therapy. Service was wonderful, rooms are very nicely decked out with lots of little helpful things to make your stay a great one. The bed in particular was the best hotel bed I've ever slept in. Check out their High Tea in the Aria Lounge, scrumptious!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
2,170 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,460 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
1,046 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
3,651 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing