We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Fabulous place, great service and quality. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Book a corner suite. Great views - MCG River etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d3gadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,099
    932
    294
    84
    70
See reviews for
858
2,716
287
922
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel's location, a pedestrian bridge across the Yarra from central Melbourne, is just great, and if you can afford a River View room, take it - the views a fantastic. The room (and the entire hotel) was beautifully appointed and service, from the door to reception (we checked into our room early, before midday!) to breakfast was genuine and attentive. I am picky about pillows but these are so good I'm thinking of buying some... And the sheets... And the bed was very comortable too.I thought I'd seen the most amazing breakfast buffet before, but The Langham has taken the cake (and the icecream and the omelette made while you watch and the pancakes with maple syrup and beautiful fruit...). Nonetheless, I was glad it was include in our special rate, as $40 is expensive for any brekky! However, if you want to save a few dollars, there are many breakfast places a few steps away on Southbank. The valet parking charge was also included in our package, as were two glasses of wine in the very pleasant Aria bar (maybe book, it was full the first time we went in on a Friday evening). I agree with other reviewers that the wireless Internet rates are extortionate - I was glad I wasn't an overseas tourist so I stuck with 3G; even if it's not free, it should be much more affordable. Nonetheless, I was extremely impressed with the other elements of the hotel - we rarely pick such an expensive package (AU$430 "Wish upon a star") and have nev stayed at The Langham before, but I was very glad we did.

Room Tip: Book a package that includes valet parking and breakfast, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I recently went to Melbourne for 4 days and stayed at the Langham Hotel. I have never encountered such amazing service and attention from the time I arrived till I left. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room was beautiful and the amenities fabulous.. My daughter was on business, had to get ready for a meeting and was immediately taken to a room to freshen up. I would give the hotel a 10+ rating and will most definitely stay there again. Jamila El Allam, the Service Stylist was one in a million and made our stay extra special and a bug thank you to all the staff in the Club Lounge for their warm and friendly service. We'll be back next time in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Facing the Yarra River
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgunsberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I've reviewed this hotel several times. SO this will be a mini review / update from a regular Melb traveller.
Each time it gets better.
Though each time in between I try somewhere else. Well I've committed myself to staying at the Langham.
Everything just seems to work. And it is consistent.
Book in advance and save $$ if you find it too expensive.
So I will not be going in to a full review. All I will say fo rthis review is "wonderful".
And if you can get to the 24th floor club lounge, they really look after you. Pre-dinner drinks and then morning breakfast. They just get the service right. The club lounge staff are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. The nibbles are just perfect, the view sensational.
I don't know what more to say.
I now select this hotel for business and when staying personally. Yes it may cost a few dollars more, but you know that at the end of your stay it just feels right.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dropandflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My daughter surprised me with two nights at this beautiful hotel as I had always admired it on our visits to Melbourne. My favourite hotel ever.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Federation Square and the Yarra River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sybilRockhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great hotel in a great location.Only a short walk to great restaurants on the bank of the Yarra, Federation square, Flinders street station and great shopping.The service is great from the doormen to the front desk.It has a truly intimate feel and the food is excellent.Would definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele176210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca, Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed at hotel 3 nights booked for 3 guests, escorted to our rooms which was lovely, but was told they didn't realize that the booking was for 3 people. Had to ask for extra towels, robe, slippers, glasses, cups. Having to ring housekeeping for extra milk, tea etc. (they had not replenished these each day. Valet parking was $50.00 per day, outrageous. If you wanted breakfast it was $40.00 per person. Very expensive. Jacuzzi and pool good. Would I go back no.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augusta522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Thank you for your review. We do apologise for not realising that your booking was for 3 people. Please see our website for packages that include valet parking and breakfast as they offer the best value. We look forward to welcoming you back.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,654 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing