We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed at the langham with 3 friends for a 60th Birthday surprise. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Upgraded rooms so we could have single beds. (4 ladies) Room was fantastic very spacious with excellent amenities. Views from 2 sides. Beds are so soft like sleeping on a cloud. Only negative we had dinner at the buffet. Staff too fast in clearing tables and removed plates and glasses before we had finished. There was a large function on so the ladies bathroom was left with paper towels and toilet rolls on the floor. some cubicles had no toilet rolls. Gives a very bad impression. Reported to the desk who did action it and got it fixed quickly. My comment is that cleaning staff should check this on a more regular basis when large functions are at he hotel. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as there is 2 view points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripper4908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,762 - 4,768 of 5,827 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Very elegant hotel in a perfect location, right in the heart of Southbank. Rooms were great, an old world feel but again very new and modern.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smbsstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Beautiful Hotel - rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable. Location was fantastic - within a few meters from the Yarra river and close to Flinders Street station. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AwA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My favourite place to stay in Melbourne - it's simply perfect! Staff are brilliant, service amazing and nothing is too much effort. The Chuan Spa hits all the right notes. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting the best of everything.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Federation Square have a great view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The Langham gets everything right - there can not be a better place to stay in Melbourne! The location is ideal - a pedestrian bridge right in front of the hotel leads to the CBD side of the Yarra and directly to Flinders Station. There is a major tram stop nearby at Federation Square that serves many inner suburb neighborhoods. The hotel itself is lovely and the staff very friendly and attentive. We had breakfast included, which was a great value. I have never seen so much food at a breakfast buffet, and not just on Sundays. It took some serious restraint! I can't think of anything that could be improved and I would 100% recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADSGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stay in hotels regularly for business and fun.
I have a complaint to other hotels - why don't you send your staff to the Langham Hotel to see how to do it properly?!
It's not that difficult to smile, say hello, act kindly and overall - just be nice to me!
The Langham staff always treat me like a returning friend, we can share a smile or a joke. If I need anything they are knocking at my room with whatever I want within minutes.
At reception I get asked if I would like the newspaper, use of an iPad or a late checkout whilst at the pool they ask if I would like another towel - thank you for asking!
When checking-in I prefer the decor of the Grand style hotel rooms - the rooms are comfortable and they have a classic feel due to the decor. Even the mini-bar prices are reasonable compared to a city bar. The complimentary bottled water with bed turn-down is another appreciated touch - thank you!
Best of all - eat breakfast at Melbas! There is so much choice and the view overlooking the river is very relaxing. It isn't cheap but you probably won't need lunch that day!
I recommend staying at the Langham because the rooms are comfortable, it is close to the Melbourne CBD, trains & trams, Casino and restaurants of Southbank plus Arts Centre & sports stadiums are a relaxing walk from the hotel. All of the Melbourne hotels can be so much better if only they would allow their staff to learn about quality service from the Langham Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExoticKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We spent 5 nights here and I can only think of positive things to say about the experience. The hotel is in a fantastic central location, staff are wonderful, lovely rooms - everything was top class. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,426 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,846 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,136 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,481 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £143 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing