We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 November 2012

One night stay in a Langham Club room, lovely view of the Melbourne skyline and river. Great bed and luxurious furnishing and linen add to the special feel of the Langham. So what made this hotel stand out from every other 5 star .... perhaps it was when I arrived into my room after a long working day to find special treats awaiting me, fresh fruit, sweet chocolate treats, cheese and biscuits - not just a few token pieces but quite a lushious supper to enjoy. My room was on the 16th floor and it was very quiet so a peaceful night sleep is promised. The rooms have been recently renovated so the hotel has a freshness about it which is welcoming, if you have the budget would reccomend a stay here.
Lovely, luxurious, charming hotel in my favourite city Melbourne.

Room Tip: Club rooms with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylvMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,314 - 4,320 of 5,692 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at the Langham over the Cox Plate week-end this year and had a wonderful stay.
The rooms were exquisite with lots of lovely toilettes in the bathroom and the best bed and pillows that I have ever slept in and very very clean (A pat on the back to your House Keeping Crew - well done).
We had access to the Club Room for evening drinks and the staff there could not have been more pleasant and helpful.
We had dinner in the Melba restaurant (we did not do the sefood buffet - even though it looked fantastic) but went with the a la carte menu which was good value and very tasteful.
Two thumbs up to the Langham you derserve to be my No.1 Trip Advisor hotel in Melbourne. Looking forward to a return trip. Keep up the great work. Cheers Jules

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_JulieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We are a group of health professionals in a mastermind group and we get together for a three day weekend of exchanging business ideas and socialization. We want excellent service and great on the ball care when we are in conference plus the facilities to kick back and enjoy ourselves when we break.

The Langham hit the spot on both counts... everything worked smoothly, conference facilities were excellent and the staff very helpful, the food and beverages were just right and the location great (for those that wanted to kick on!).

We'll be back... and our membersare a picky lot!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinnoGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I have stayed at this beautiful hotel 4 times now and I love it. This time however I was with a group of friends, one of whom has celiac disease. I can't believe a hotel of this standard has such little choice on their menu (bar & room service) for gluten free. the only reason for this appaling menu choice is a very lazy chef. many of the items on the menu are available as gluten free when we go to restaraunts and cafe's so why can't a 5 star hotel provide better choices?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 128Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for reviewing us – it’s good to hear that you love the hotel. We have been very conscious of gluten free food in our Food and Beverage outlets at the Langham Melbourne and we offer a wide variety of foods across our In Room Dining, Melba and Aria menus that are suitable for coeliacs. In addition, any of the sandwiches or breaded items in the menu can be made with gluten free bread and this is noted on the menu. Following your comments we have extended our gluten free items on our Aria menu as well. We look forward to welcoming you back.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights over the Melbourne cup in a non river view room. The service was excellent. The hotel has an amazing buffet on offer in the evenings. The hotel is located in a great position in that it is in walking distance of shopping, good restaurants and the station. During our stay the standard evening chocolates were in the shape of a horses head which was a really nice touch. On the morning of the cup guests were treated to champagne and a rose which really added to the atmosphere of the cup.
Our only gripe is that the soundproofing between the bathrooms was not very good. We knew exactly when our neighbors were using their bathroom and which facility was being used.
However all in all the hotel was great and we will stay here again but make sure we request a river view more than 4 months in advance.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garygarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I am currently travelling to Melbourne frequently for work, and am staying at this hotel. It is an absolute pleasure and delight to stay there. From the moment you enter the main entrance and see the magnificent waterfall between the stair case, your experience is consistently excellent. Staff are fantastic, rooms are beautifully decorated. Room service food is very good and served on a fully layed table with an underneath oven. Breakfast in Melba is amazing...make sure you allow plenty of time to enjoy it and get the value from it. Rooms are just lovely, beds are very very comfy. Housekeeping is immaculate...I cannot speak too highly of thie hotel after staying over 30 nights this year. Location is superb, with all the Southbank amenities at your feet.

Room Tip: ask for a riverfront room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickandNadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Langham Melbourne is a beautiful hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights in a river view room. Hotel staff / housekeeping are very friendly and always willing to help. Hotel lobby is tastefully decorated and the Melba restaurant serves a wonderful buffet. and some cocktails and nibbles at Aria are worth a try! It is located in the midst of the entertainment and dining precint and close proximity to shopping, casino and art gallery.

Room Tip: River view room on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,392 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,116 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,257 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 162 in Melbourne
3,916 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £150 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing