We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful experience”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A truly wonderful experience”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

From the moment we entered the foyer I knew it was something special. We were only in Melbourne for one night. We were warmly greeted by reception and while our room was being finalised we were allowed us access to the spa and steam rooms. The views from the pool deck are second to none and the room we had was of great size. Again the view from the room was great and the bathroom just stunning.
Between the staff, the hotel and the location it provided us with the perfect preparation for our night out.
The next morning we had the buffet breakfast which rounded the stay out perfectly. A beautiful blend of warm and cold options, healthy choices as well as barista coffees and teas.
My fiancé is a travel agent and I've done nothing but talk her ear off about how fantastic this experience was and told her she should recommend nothing else but the Langham in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,047
    924
    293
    83
    69
See reviews for
843
2,685
286
913
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Spent a wonderful weekend in Melbourne at The Langham, it is is a great location with stunning views of the river and City skyline, right in the hub of restaurants and entertainment, close to public transport and Melbourne's fantastic shopping.
You feel spoilt from the moment you arrive and you can tell there are many regulars staying there.
The big beds are so comfy and all the amenities are first class.
The only thing I did not like was saying goodbye.

Room Tip: The river view rooms have great views. if you can afford a Club room you will be treated like royalt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Just returned from our second stay at the Langham Hotel, nothing to complain about, enjoyed
everything about our time there. They are getting it right with everything they do. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie_041961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

This is our first time back to this hotel after many years and they still get all the little things right. We had a early check in which was no problem. The location was perfect. We had a swim and a spa over looking the Melbourne skyline before heading out to a concert which was a relaxing way to start off the day. When we got back from our concert there wasn't many food options left along our walk so we ordered room service which was a bit pricey but you get what you pay for. I had to eat my ice cream with a fork but if that's all you got to complain about life is good. They also turned back our bed and left complimentary water beside our bed and one for the road in our car on departure. We will defiantly be returning to the Langham hotel, hopefully sooner this time :)

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed at the Langham in Melbourne for three nights in January. This is the second time we have enjoyed this hotel and its facilities. The buffet breakfast and dinner offer a wide choice and the quality is excellent. Remember to book a table for any dinners you wish to have here when you arrive (or even before at busy times of year) as the tables fill up very fast. We had not booked a room overlooking the Yarra River, but decided that we wanted to have that wonderful view, and that was arranged swiftly, efficiently and for only slightly more per night. It was well worth it!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a fantastic view of the Yarra River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed as the first part of a trip to Australia and NZ . Well situated beautiful hotel with that special touch. River view rooms have stunning views and are very spacious. Blissful beds you don't want to leave . Staff very helpful and efficient ,checking I had everything I needed. Housekeeping excellent. Restaurant food to die for choices never ending food well prepared , beautifully presented and totally delicious

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Langham hotel is the best. Centrally located near the Yarra River. Great restaurants and bars nearby. walking distance to great shopping on Collins st. the service is great. everyone is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was the best. Fresh fruit and tons of choices. you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottydawg1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,263 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 159 in Melbourne
2,605 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,127 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
991 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing