We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel in a great city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Langham for 4 nights at the start of our month long trip to Australia and certainly feel we made the correct choice of hotel. We arrived at 3am and from the first minute we were impressed with the personal service we received. Our room overlooked the Yarra river and city and was beautifully appointed with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom amenities were excellent with lots of little extras, everything you could need. The front desk and concierge staff were all helpful and polite and although we didn't eat in the Langham we did enjoy a drink or two in the bar where again the service was impeccable. The location is perfect with the bars and restaurants of the Southbank just outside the door and the city a short walk across the footbridge. Our first visit to Melbourne was made extra special by our stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,400 - 3,406 of 5,693 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Langham during the Aust.Open. Second time at the Langham - Great location, excellent service - Peter - Chief Concierge can help you with any requests - food was fabulous - breakfast staff very welcoming- overall fantastic short holiday - have already booked again for next year - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustOpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Langham Melbourne last Friday night for a one night stay. We stayed in a King Club room with access to the 24th floor Club Lounge. On check in the staff were very friendly and our room was also very adequate. Comfy King bed and very clean room helped make for a good night sleep. The afternoon tea was a great way to start the afternoon off with a broad selection of cakes, coffees and teas. The evening canapés and drinks were great. I highly recommend upgrading to a club access room to enjoy this experience. Not only was the food and drinks great but the view looking towards the Yarra river and city was breathtaking. All in all The Langham comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: If possible get a room with city views. The others are obstructed by some taller buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Centrally located and on the riverfront, the Langham is a good place to hang your hat for a brief stay. While the rooms are small, they are comfortable and the bathrooms are updated. The club level access is also quite nice for a quick lite breakfast or afternoon cocktail and canape. What was truly different was the level of service from the front desk and housekeeping - so eager to please and prompt to respond to your needs. While I was there with my family on a one night layover, this seems like a great place to stay if you are on a work trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryKay519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Not a huge fan of old style hotels, but this one blew my mind. Every details is taken care of and you feel like a king inside your own castle. Be sure to ask for a river side view room on upper floor to enjoy a Melbourne skyline. Breakfast is amazing, with large range of Asian/Western foods.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights. The service was outstanding and the breakfast was very good. The pool was nice and location was excellent. For our tastes it's a little old fashioned in terms of decoration and style. Good quality but a kind of 'classic' chain hotel style. But good overall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edcomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Langham is a very posh hotel in a grand classic style, perfectly located on the south bank of the river. Excellent service starts the moment you arrive, and we felt well taken care of throughout our stay. Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived late morning, so we went up to the lounge and had a bite to eat. Within half an hour, we got a text that it was ready and meanwhile our luggage had already been taken up to the room.

We booked a grand river corner king room and had a lovely view of the river and downtown skyline from the 12th floor. The room had just about every amenity you could think of, including bubble bath and loads of hangers of various sorts - wood, padded, and skirt/trouser clips. In addition to the usual shampoo and lotion, there was a box of toiletries to provide anything you might have forgotten, such as a comb, razor, toothbrush, etc. The bed was extremely comfortable, and it was quiet - no noise from neighboring rooms or outside. There was plenty of closet and drawer space and counter space in the bathroom. Overall, very comfortable and luxurious.

Internet service was typical for this part of the world, i.e. not as freely available as we're used to in the US or Europe, but by joining their loyalty program you are able to get the minimum level of in-room service for free (on one device).

We also enjoyed the pool and spa area, which is indoors but with large glass doors that they open up on sunny days to the adjoining patio area for sunbathing. There's a large gym as well.

The Southside neighborhood is a fun area to stay, with lots of restaurants and the Eureka tower nearby, and a short walk across the river to the heart of downtown, the city circle tram, and various attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,393 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,116 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,265 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 162 in Melbourne
3,919 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £151 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing