We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights last week on business and had a fantastically, comfortable stay. On arrival I was fortunately upgraded to a corner room that has amazing views of the Yarra river and a beautiful cityscape of Melbourne's tall skyscrapers. The overall decor and ambience is both classy and tasteful and the staff are very helpful and willing to go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The hotel also had an all pervading yet subtle fragrant aroma that presumably is piped in through the air con system? When you step back into the hotel it is really pleasant and triggers a positive reaction. I am sure many top hotels are using fragrance now in a similar way to engender subconscious feelings. Weird I know....but strangely effective! Overall, a fantastic stay and look forward to returning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,100
    932
    294
    84
    70
See reviews for
858
2,717
287
922
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Recently stayed at the Langham to celebrate my 60th - had a top 3day stay - Top lunch at Melbas - they went out of there way to make it a special day
the staff, the hotel ,the entire experience is first class
highly recommend this hotel for an in city, close to the yarra, Melbourne experience - to enjoy southbank and its closeness to station and restaurants
many thanks Langham we'll be back

Room Tip: get a river view its worth the extra and if you can go for a Club room do it - the club is first ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnKay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay here. Had two corner rooms with a view, both fabulous rooms with high attention to detail.

As with other reviewers On here, only room for improvement is the lack of free wifi and when purchased, the issue with actually being able to use it effectively. Come on Langham, get yourself recognised on all fronts for the impeccable service and facilities on offer.

Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CJW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great hotel . As from our arrival we were greeted in a most pleasant and helpful way .

My requests made at the time of the booking were entirely met and I had a lovely surprise to be assigned a room with some view of the river ( having booked for the room with the lowest price).

The room size was just right and very comfortable with a desk and 2 comfortable chairs. The bathroom was just right with a good selection of amenities. The same for the coffee/tea beverages.

The general ambience of the hotel is of contained elegance. The location is superb, close to the south bank and at walking distance to the main city attractions and transport and yet tranquil .

The only flaw was the internet connection that did not work and required some time to be resolved by the staff who were very kind and helpful. I think that an hotel of this level should provide for the clients free Wi Fi connections in the rooms , as most worldwide hotels of the same caliber of the Langham do.

I will certainly return to this hotel .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mada4046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

From the moment we walked in we were treated special. Everything about the Langham was perfect. And the location is wonderful, and easy and pretty walk across the bridge to the CBD, and plenty of things to do on its side of the river.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Having just arrived from England, we spent our first two nights at the Langham. An extremely comfortable place to get over jetlag which we had done by the next morning. Spotlessly clean and extremely friendly staff. We had booked a room with a view over the river to the city which was stunning especially at night . Certainly couldn't fault it except for the high charge for Wi-Fi but that seems to be an Aussie problem. Definitely will stay there next time in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Room view a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

You cannot beat the location of this hotel. Dead center in the middle of everywhere you would want to be, with immediate access to trams, busses and water tours.

Kudos also to management of the Langham for its superb staffing. In particular, I commend Peter Breatley, the chief concierge. He is the best concierge I have ever experienced. His recommendations were dead-on and his helpful advice enhanced our stay immensely.

The room was spotless and room service for meals was excellent.

My only complaint, and the reason this hotel does not (in my view) merit five stars, is its poor internet service. One would expect that a hotel of this caliber would provide free internet service. It does not. Rather, it charges a daily fee based on the number of devices you wish to register. Once I paid that fee, I found that the service itself was slow and spotty, at best. Come on, Langham -- it's 2014!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,656 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing