We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #4 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for a conference and it was a great place to stay. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location is great. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast plays to packed houses every morning. One of the best breakfasts I've seen anywhere. Great gym, nice pool. All in all, we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomaPHILE33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, thought your guestroom comfortable and that you found our location situated within the vibrant Southbank precinct with the close proximity to the city to your liking. We are happy you enjoyed breakfast in our signature restaurant Melba. We hope we will welcome you back to The Langham Melbourne soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,985
    914
    289
    83
    69
See reviews for
830
2,653
281
902
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had the perfect luxury girls weekend! We had luxury car pick up from the airport, our suite was fantastic - so tasteful and spacious! I had asked them to make a gift basket for my friend & they had done an amazing job and it was ready and waiting in our room when we checked in! We fell in love with the flamboyant 'Service Stylist' who surprised me with a gorgeous pink rose and Champagne voucher for being a valued past guest! We didn't leave the hotel the whole weekend - High Tea, Cocktails in the Aria bar, amazing dinner in the Melba Restaurant (Sushi heaven!!) and then half a day at Chuan Spa followed by a luxury transfer back to the airport! Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliJune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Always good to be back in the arms of the Langham Hotel in Melbourne, I wish I could say it's my second home, but sadly, just I am another very satisfied customer, who would love to stay more often. :) My husband had business documents he needed printed and then placed into an envelope, it was not problem at all with a simple call to the desk and voila, all done! Thanks to everyone who makes our stay memorable. We think you hotel is ridiculously gorgeous, and always feel spoilt when we stay. Thanks again. Pure class!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Langham in Melbourne is world class. We have travelled extensively for work and pleasure but live in Melbourne. We have stayed at the hotel on a number of special occasions and have always found the facilities first class. The staff are attentive, the rooms are clean, warm and comfortable and the location is superb offering a large variety of dinner and entertainment options. The breakfast buffet is as good as large hotels get. The Gluten Free options are a particular favourite of my wife’s as she often gets a choice between eggs or eggs.
D Harris.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melburniansx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. I am pleased to read your positive comments of the Hotel,your guestroom, our service and colleagues. I am happy that you enjoyed your breakfast in Melba, our signature restaurant with the interactive kitchens and beautiful views of the Yarra and City, and that your wife appreciates our Gluten Free options. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were shouted a night at The Langham by wife's family for her birthday. Although we live near Melbourne I had not heard of this hotel so we went there with no preconceived ideas.
Walking into the foyer after valet parking you enter a sensational stairway with fountains and an enormous arrangement of cut flowers which wafts a wonderful fresh aroma into the reception, bar. area and restaurant.
After 40 years of world wide travel I felt that The Langham had hit the spot in terms of ambience and absolute quality architecture.
The rooms are exquisitely and sumptuously appointed, a desk like QE2 gives her Xmas Address, TV and comms are top notch and the bathroom is impeccable, marble, brilliant lighting but an understated feeling of luxury.
The Melba restaurant featured a buffet, the likes of which I have never seen in terms of quality, presentation,variety and service. Many different genres of food temp you to return time and again. The meat selections including THE BEST pork belly ever is on offer.
Asian , Indian, vegetarian, gluten free etc and, for the chocolate devotees, the ice creams from heaven.
A thoughtful turn down service included complimentary water and the closing of the acoustic curtains.
Best nights sleep ever with choice of pillows.
Breakfast the following morning was just as sensational as lunch, endless varieties of every style of breakfast , and, yes, chocolate, if you must...
I noted to the bell captain that, for the first time in decades, I could honestly say that The Langham is THE BEST hotel I have ever stayed at , bar none.
If you were to die and go to heaven , it would be The Langham and I am a crusty, hard traveller used to the usual smoke and mirrors of world accomodation.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are a MUST
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit, we certainly appreciate your detailed and positive comments. I am pleased you were delighted with our traditional elegant decor with the floral centrepiece, our chandeliers, cascading fountain and grand staircase in the Lobby, your dining experiences in Melba and appreciated our evening turndown service. We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne in the future for another memorable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you're visiting Melbourne and want to be at the centre of city life, Langham Melbourne is for you.

We visited Melbourne for our wedding anniversary stayed in a corner room which boasted two large windows overlooking the city from different angles and couldn't have asked for more. We also slept with the curtains open to enjoy the city scape from the silence and comfort of our room.

The rooms are beautifully-decorated and feels like a home away from home. Too many hotels have the same tired, cold decor that's a decade outdated, but it's the classic feel decor we love about The Langham.

The beauty of Langham rooms is that you can escape the city and outdoors and really relax in the room, rather than feel like you're cooped up. Other hotels are only about $100 per night cheaper. If you have that extra bit spend, do so. It's worth it ten times over.

We also hit up the buffet breakfast (normally I hate buffets) for $40pp and felt comfortable with a quality chef spinning out fresh eggs how you like them and top quality food from fruit and muesli and smoked salmon, to proper fry-up. And as many cups of coffee or fresh juice as you like.

We'll definitely stay at Langham Melbourne the next time we're in town. It's perfectly-situated and has a genuine 5-star feel.

*Shortly after check-in we received a nice chocolate cake with well-wishes for our occasion and given an extended check-out. On a cold winter day in Melbourne this was great!

Room Tip: 1635 is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spent a fabulous anniversary night at the Langham, Southbank. Decided at the last minute and booked directly with the Langham and accepted a Club package. King bed, Club extras on Level 24 and so close to everything at Southbank. Food, service, cleanliness, parking, all as expected, TOP class. Breakfast standard is as good as ever. Congrats to floor team, great service. Note, if staying Club, ask service manager if any functions on the top floor. DJ base effect ripples right through top floor accommodation til after midnight. No satisfactory response from Management.

Room Tip: Old school luxury, no noise from adjoining rooms. The higher the floor the better the accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. I am pleased to hear that your found our Langham Blissful Bed comfortable, enjoyed your Club Room and the Club Lounge with the offerings of breakfast, afternoon tea as well as cocktails and canape's in the evening. I am disappointed to hear that your evening was not as enjoyable as you would have wished due to the function on the floor above and your expectations were not met. I have contacted you directly as well. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing