We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #5 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here on many occasions and have never been disappointed. Our room was gorgeous and spacious with great River views.
The concierge staff were professional and outstanding. The buffet breakfast scrumptious. However just go there on an empty stomach as there is an abundance of choices to keep you going.
Just love this place. Highly recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for posting your lovely review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you have stayed with us on other occasions and we continue to meet your expectations. I am happy that you found your guestroom comfortable, appreciated the sweeping views of the Yarra River from the room and enjoyed your breakfast in Melba, our signature restaurant. Thank you for your recommendation, we certainly appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne for another pleasant stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,925
    902
    288
    83
    69
See reviews for
819
2,626
275
889
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

When you pass the pink Langham London style taxi on your way into the forecourt you know you are in for a treat, You are welcomed with a smile as you enter the foyer which is tastefully decorated. When checking in we were offered to join the Langham loyalty card for free, this gives you the opportunity for a 1-2pm late check out which was excellent.
Our room had views over the Yarra river to Flinders street station and federation square and across to the MCG. The Bedrooms were immaculate, King sized bed with slippers laid at the sides of the bed was a nice touch. The complimentary toiletries and accessories were well presented and to a high quality. The Full buffet breakfast was as expected to a very high standard and quality. Express check-out was an excellent idea just dropping off your pre-delivered invoice with the key cards.I have stayed in many hotels in Melbourne and the Langham is up there with the best, it is not cheap, but it is money well spent. When collecting our car they had placed a bottle of Langham water in the console a lovely end to our stay, the only disappointment was that we tried to book another nights stay, but they were booked out.

Room Tip: Book a room with a river view. Sign up to the Langham membership for free for a late check -out &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback of the Hotel on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. It is a pleasure to read such a lovely review. We are pleased you were greeted warmly on your arrival, found your guestroom comfortable and enjoyed our personalized turndown service, complete with curtains closed, soft music playing and Langham bottled water next to your bed. I am happy you enjoyed breakfast in our signature restaurant Melba with the interactive kitchens and vast array of delicious food offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne for another pleasant visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well appointed fine hotel.
Great location on Southbank .Easy access to city,Yarra River,restaurants and trams and trains.
5 day stay.
Staff knowledgable and generally helpful.Concierge and Reception and Bell Hop particularly so.
We would return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review of The Langham Melbourne on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our colleagues knowledgable and accomodating. I will pass on your comments to Reception, Porters and Concierge, I know they all will be thrilled to hear them. We look forward to you returning for another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

No surprises here, the Langham on Southbank demonstrates its 5 star rating from the get go. Upon arrival at the hotel on a wet and windy Tuesday, we were greeted by a warm lobby and even warmer smile from the porter, who whisked our cases away and guided us to check in. The staff could not be more helpful and had us in our room with minimum fuss.
The small things for me really make a hotel stand out, such as the well stocked bathroom, turn down service each night with slippers waiting for you on return to the room etc etc. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, although the external noise (from adjacent office fans??) was slightly annoying.
The breakfast experience was something to behold, including fresh smoothies, wide ranging egg station and lovely breads (sourdough toasted with smoked salmon on top, yes please).
The location was great, with a short walk across the adjacent foot bridge into the CBD.
I enjoyed the stay and if the price was right, I would use again.

Room Tip: Higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel and while my stay of four nights in June was work related it was extremely comfortable. The room was very spacious and the desk very practical for both my iPad and lap top with well placed power points at desk level. The room service menu was extensive and prompt and made me feel ever so slightly indulgent. Breakfast in the dining area was vast with just about everything available one could want, miso, cheeses, even marshmallow and chocolate pancakes if that takes your fancy. While the hotel is well placed in Southbank it is a bit of hike to the central shopping area - Bourke street mall - David Jones etc especially if one has collected parcels on the return journey. It is nicely situated for a walk along the Southbank area with a multitude of very nice restaurants from which to choose and close to Flinders street station, the National Gallery and Federation Square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for posting your lovely review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. I am pleased to read your positive comments of the Hotel and our service. I am happy that you appreciated our location situated within the vibrant Southbank Precinct along the Yarra River and close to the National Gallery of Victoria and Federation Square to your liking .We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for 10 days over the Xmas/NY Break and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The Langham is top class with a 5 star atmosphere. They had a huge decorated Xmas tree to create such a festive time of year and fond memories.

We enjoyed our room with a Yarra river view - which was worth paying for. We found the bed to be comfy once we asked for topper to be removed - as we like it firm! The room furnishings and décor were all elegant and made our stay all the more enjoyable. We had the room serviced daily if we wanted and enjoyed complimentary daily waters.

We really enjoyed the buffet at the hotel restaurant melba and tried the breakfast, lunch and dinner once at least whilst we were there for 10 days.....it has to be the best buffet we have ever experienced.

We made good use of the full gym almost every morning to help balance out the excess calorie intake during the day. I also had a massage which was terrible but I do like a firm massage.

We used pool and spa once, which we did enjoy and would have used it more but just couldn't get enough of Melbourne City itself!!

On NYE we enjoyed some complementary drinks on the roof top terrace to bring in the NY and watch the fireworks over Melbourne CBD.

We really enjoyed the location as it was just minutes to walk to so many places in the CBD and along the Yarra

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Check in was not the best, very disorganized. but the room and bed made up for it, great bed and pillows. Best nights sleep for a long time. Stayed on high floor so the view was great. especially at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlwAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback following your recent stay. I am pleased you found your guestroom and our Langham Blissful Bed comfortable and enjoyed the views of the Yarra River and City from your room. Please accept our apologies the arrival experience did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with our Front Office Manager for her review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing