We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enthusiastic staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #5 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enthusiastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Read quite a few reviews re Langham and settled on it for our anniversary weekend. Good choice had a river front corner room a bit more expensive but worth it although we didn't spend much time in the room... Shopping called.
The highlight must be the staff service. Everybody was really friendly right down to the room cleaner who greeted us with a smile and a hello as passed her down the corridor. Stand out was peter the concierge. Genuinely helpful and a mine of information. Pointed us to some off the beaten track places which made the trip a little different.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaidetraveller543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,846
    890
    281
    82
    68
See reviews for
806
2,577
272
868
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Warm friendly place where all staff made us feel like VIPs and in particular the Club Lounge personnel who delivered service not only with a smile but a genuine desire to please guests. Sumati Kamonmit, the service stylist, helped us with a late checkout that made our stay so much more fun as we could enjoy all the lovely services of the hotel. The Langham is situated in a plum position of the CBD giving quick access to the many sought after venues in Melbourne. This is a hotel which excels in good guest relations and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Go for higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 21hana20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review following your stay on Trip Advisor. We certainly enjoy reading your positive comments of the Hotel, our service and your visit. I am pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of the Hotel, especially your Club Lounge experience. I will be certain to pass on your praise to Sumati, I know he will be thrilled. I am delighted to hear you plan on returning and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here on many occasions and have never been disappointed. Our room was gorgeous and spacious with great River views.
The concierge staff were professional and outstanding. The buffet breakfast scrumptious. However just go there on an empty stomach as there is an abundance of choices to keep you going.
Just love this place. Highly recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for posting your lovely review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you have stayed with us on other occasions and we continue to meet your expectations. I am happy that you found your guestroom comfortable, appreciated the sweeping views of the Yarra River from the room and enjoyed your breakfast in Melba, our signature restaurant. Thank you for your recommendation, we certainly appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne for another pleasant stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

When you pass the pink Langham London style taxi on your way into the forecourt you know you are in for a treat, You are welcomed with a smile as you enter the foyer which is tastefully decorated. When checking in we were offered to join the Langham loyalty card for free, this gives you the opportunity for a 1-2pm late check out which was excellent.
Our room had views over the Yarra river to Flinders street station and federation square and across to the MCG. The Bedrooms were immaculate, King sized bed with slippers laid at the sides of the bed was a nice touch. The complimentary toiletries and accessories were well presented and to a high quality. The Full buffet breakfast was as expected to a very high standard and quality. Express check-out was an excellent idea just dropping off your pre-delivered invoice with the key cards.I have stayed in many hotels in Melbourne and the Langham is up there with the best, it is not cheap, but it is money well spent. When collecting our car they had placed a bottle of Langham water in the console a lovely end to our stay, the only disappointment was that we tried to book another nights stay, but they were booked out.

Room Tip: Book a room with a river view. Sign up to the Langham membership for free for a late check -out &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback of the Hotel on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. It is a pleasure to read such a lovely review. We are pleased you were greeted warmly on your arrival, found your guestroom comfortable and enjoyed our personalized turndown service, complete with curtains closed, soft music playing and Langham bottled water next to your bed. I am happy you enjoyed breakfast in our signature restaurant Melba with the interactive kitchens and vast array of delicious food offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne for another pleasant visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well appointed fine hotel.
Great location on Southbank .Easy access to city,Yarra River,restaurants and trams and trains.
5 day stay.
Staff knowledgable and generally helpful.Concierge and Reception and Bell Hop particularly so.
We would return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review of The Langham Melbourne on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our colleagues knowledgable and accomodating. I will pass on your comments to Reception, Porters and Concierge, I know they all will be thrilled to hear them. We look forward to you returning for another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

No surprises here, the Langham on Southbank demonstrates its 5 star rating from the get go. Upon arrival at the hotel on a wet and windy Tuesday, we were greeted by a warm lobby and even warmer smile from the porter, who whisked our cases away and guided us to check in. The staff could not be more helpful and had us in our room with minimum fuss.
The small things for me really make a hotel stand out, such as the well stocked bathroom, turn down service each night with slippers waiting for you on return to the room etc etc. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, although the external noise (from adjacent office fans??) was slightly annoying.
The breakfast experience was something to behold, including fresh smoothies, wide ranging egg station and lovely breads (sourdough toasted with smoked salmon on top, yes please).
The location was great, with a short walk across the adjacent foot bridge into the CBD.
I enjoyed the stay and if the price was right, I would use again.

Room Tip: Higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel and while my stay of four nights in June was work related it was extremely comfortable. The room was very spacious and the desk very practical for both my iPad and lap top with well placed power points at desk level. The room service menu was extensive and prompt and made me feel ever so slightly indulgent. Breakfast in the dining area was vast with just about everything available one could want, miso, cheeses, even marshmallow and chocolate pancakes if that takes your fancy. While the hotel is well placed in Southbank it is a bit of hike to the central shopping area - Bourke street mall - David Jones etc especially if one has collected parcels on the return journey. It is nicely situated for a walk along the Southbank area with a multitude of very nice restaurants from which to choose and close to Flinders street station, the National Gallery and Federation Square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for posting your lovely review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. I am pleased to read your positive comments of the Hotel and our service. I am happy that you appreciated our location situated within the vibrant Southbank Precinct along the Yarra River and close to the National Gallery of Victoria and Federation Square to your liking .We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,601 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing