We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #5 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I will be returning to the Langham on my next trip to Melbourne. Great location and view from the Grand River room. The excellence starts with reception and continues with room amenities, cleanliness and facilities. Nothing is too much effort. Thanks for a great weekend of luxury.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for posting your lovely review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. I am happy to hear that from the time of your arrival you enjoyed the Hotel, our service and you enjoyed a weekend of luxury. We hope to welcome you back soon to The Langham Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,846
    890
    281
    82
    68
See reviews for
806
2,577
272
868
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed here on many occassions and every stay has been outstanding.

The location is perfect and most important the rooms are clean and well equipped.

The staff are always exceptionally helpful and friendly and can't do enough for you.

Great bar area and very nice breakfast.

I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraVitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Book overnight for our anniversary. I booked the Winter Haven special and ask for a free upgrade to a corner room and was given, so thanks! Staff asked if there is an occasion and say anniversary and they sent up a chocolate cake wishing us Happy Anniversary. Nice touch. Room as expected to be of a high standard. The views from the River Corner room is amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for different pillows if you don't like what's in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anothertraveller238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. I am pleased to read that you booked one of our excellant packages to celebrate your weeding anniversary. I am happy you enjoyed your guestroom and appreciated the sweeping views of the Yarra River and City. We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We returned to The Langham for a 'Winter Hideaway / Haven' last weekend.

I will say from the outset however, consistent with each of the three most recent reviews to the right of the screen, I would be lying if I said The Langham was without fault on this occasion.

The Langham has definitely slipped a bit. They were only minor issues but they happened. These included incorrect billing, receiving communications meant for another guest, incorrect and non current details of our memberships and entitlements, random newspaper deliveries x 2 and an absence of the 'can do' attitude we had been accustomed to.

We received what may only be described as very poor service at Melba restaurant: tables not cleared, coffee / tea not provided despite repeated requests, faulty salt / pepper shaker (new ones not provided) and staff who appeared to be going about their tasks in a very slow, laboured fashion.

None of these things spoilt our experience and would probably be considered commonplace anywhere else - not The Langham.

The venue's beautiful ambience shone and for whatever reason I appreciated the exquisite architecture of the interior more so than normal. The feeling of being somewhere beautiful and special as prevalent as ever.

I can't give The Langham less than five stars despite my critique. We had a wonderful time, and whilst it was not our wedding anniversary (my wife and I married there in 2012) we enjoyed a magical evening the Aria Bar reminiscing our wedding weekend.

The Langham holds a special place in our hearts and our lives. Maybe that's why I feel it necessary to be so blatant in my critique. The Langham needs to be perfect.

We had a wonderful time and have every intention of returning. If Hotel management read this, my suggestion is your staff need to redouble their efforts to ensure they don't make simple and repeated mistakes. Staff morale is very obviously at a low point; this needs to be fixed to restore the 'can do' attitude we've come to rather selfishly expect of The Langham.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor, your detailed comments are certainly appreciated. I am pleased to read that The Langham Melbourne holds a special place in your hearts and that you were married here. I am disappointed though that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and you felt our service standards have slipped. Please accept our apologies for the service issues you encountered on this visit. I have passed on your comments to the appropriated Department Managers so they may review and share with their teams. I thank you for your candid and constructive feedback and assure you the issues you experienced will be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne and providing you with the level of service you have come to expect over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This is my favourite home in Melbourne, so close to everything. Couple things missing or broken this time. I am a member of 1865 and rang the day before to link it to the booking. No amenities when I got to the room. So I mentioned it when I next left. They were there when I returned so that was good. Were offered more later that afternoon too. The door handle on the cupboard was broken and neither powerpoint in the bathroom worked. Was only there one night so reported the powerpoints when checking out. All staff were friendly and the bed is still devine.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hobartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.I am pleased you continue to find our colleagues friendly and our Langham Blissful Bed comfortable. Please accept our apologies for the service issues you encountered on this occasion. I have contacted you directly in order to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Four of us stayed here in connecting river view rooms for a one night 'staycation'.

Our rooms looked out over the Yarra and the city. I work on the 45th floor of a Melbourne skyscraper and even I thought the view here was gorgeous.

The worst bits: check in took forever as the receptionist seemed oddly flustered and asked me at least three times if I'd been to Melbourne before (I live here…); it is costly.

The best bits: the staff were smiley; the old-fashioned turn down service was a pure delight to come home to. We stumbled home around 3am to find our beds turned down, water bottles and slippers by the beds and a note from housekeeping. That's style.

There are certainly nicer hotels in Melbourne (Hyatt!) but it's hard to beat the Langham for old-hasioned charm and precisely what you'd expect from a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melbourne0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Langham Melbourne is a beautifully appointed, very luxurious hotel. The location at southbank is fantastic with many restaurants right on the door step and easy access to the city and Crown Casino. The service from such a high quality establishment was a bit disappointing with slow service at the bar and a bit of a wait to be seated for breakfast. Also watching TV was challenging with the icons on the remote control worn off! Whilst it is a lovely hotel I would probably look for better value next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubli8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback following your recent stay. I am pleased you appreciated the location of the Hotel situated along the Yarra River within Southagate and the close proximity to the City and that you found the Hotel elegant and luxurious. I am disappointed to hear you found our service lacking and will pass on your comments so they may reviewed, as well as shared with the colleagues. I will share your comments regarding the TV remote with our Executive Housekeeper for his follow up. We hope to welcome you back to The Langham Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,601 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Property: The Langham, Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing