We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puffy pink and overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for just one night with a couples package complete with massages, breakfast, parking and ofcourse the room. The entrance to the hotel is beautiful very grand and very 5 star, checking in was slow and we were finally handed our keys to head up to our room. The room was ok however while they have attempted to furnish it with antique classics i believe there is a difference between antique classic and terribly maintained furniture. It looked very outdated simply because it hadnt been maintained well enough. When going for my massage I was informed there would be a male and female therapist i assumed that he would get the male, i was wrong and amazed that i was given no warning. The massage was fine however nothing to write home about then later that night at around 9:30 there was a knock disturbing us from house keeping to give us water bottles... if these are free i dont understand why we had to be disturbed and why these couldnt have been left in the room before checking in.... the next morning we went down for breakfast... this was by far the worst breakfast buffet i have ever seen in a 5 star extablishment i have seen better from some 3 star hotels. The staff were rude and unwelcoming and the selection was pathetic. For a hotel with such high ratings it was a huge disapointment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank courtney w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for offering us your valuable feedback following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. I am pleased that you found the entrance and Lobby with our classical elegant décor inviting. Upgrade of facilities in the hotel is a continuous process; we have recently completed refurbishment of our guestrooms. We pride ourselves in the hotel’s decor of classical elegance; our rooms have been updated in Langham's classic elegant and luxurious style. It is our intention that they are timeless with yesterday's charm but today's amenities. The hotel evening turndown service which is delivered in all Langham Hotels consists of servicing the room, turning back the bed, slippers and turndown mats, as well as Langham bottled water. If you inform us you do not require turndown service we will make arrangements that you will not be disturbed. I will pass on your comments regarding the Spa and your massages as well as your breakfast dining experience to both our Spa Director and Melba Manager for their review and to share with their teams. We do hope you would consider staying again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,141 - 3,147 of 5,693 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

What more could you ask for. Friendly staff, the most comfortable beds and pillows, beautiful food and great views of Melbourne and the Yarra River. I don't usually sleep very well when away from home, but having stayed now in couple of Langham Hotels, I have slept so well and actually don't want to get out of the bed. The staff are all very polite and greet you when passing and nothing is too much trouble when asked.Unlike other hotels I have stayed in where you are just a number to them. Not the Langham Melbourne, its like home away from home (only better)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulesWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Made a booking not knowing what I was getting into. Arrived at the Langham and from the moment I pulled up in the driveway it was First Class all the way. Service was great but not excessive. Opted for the Executive upgrade with access to the Lounge for evening drinks, canapés and breakfast - a good choice. Room was spacious and beautifully presented. Canapes and breakfast great. Executive Lounge quiet and relaxing but not a place for kids with more of a library feel. Very convenient to the city and great views over the Yarra. Happy to recommend this place and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the Executive upgrade to get a better room and access to the Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank three_reds3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to post your lovely comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your Club Guestroom with the sweeping views of the Yarra River as well as the City and our Club Lounge with all this relaxing haven has to offer. Thank you for your recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This place was the grandest I have ever stayed in and for two nights it was a beautiful experience. We stayed in a Grand Balcony King Room which the view was divine looking right at Flinders St station and other grand buildings. I could only hope to stay again!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chrissym1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your kind note on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your two nights at the Hotel in one of our new Grand Balcony Guestrooms complete with it's own private balcony overlooking the City and Yarra River. We will look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne in the future for another pleasant stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I spent two nights in a club room at the Langham in Melbourne as a treat for myself. The location is superb right on the Yarra River. Close to transport and walking distance to the city. The room was very clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The Langham is well known for the staff's friendliness and warmth. However on this occasion I was largely unacknowledged by the staff as i went in and out/around the hotel over these two days. The staff appear to pay more attention to the older and perhaps more well heeled crowd. Service at the Club room was also patchy and a bit absent minded. However in all it was a great experience and I will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. I am pleased you found our location situated within the vibrant Southbank precinct with the close proximity to the CBD to your liking. We are happy that you enjoyed your Club Room with sweeping views of the Yarra and City and found our Langham Blissful Bed comfortable. I am dispappointed to hear you felt your were not acknowledged on this occasion and found the service in the Club Lounge inconsistent as I can assure you this is not our custom. I will pass on your comments to our Department Managers so they may share with their colleagues. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We chose to stay for 3 nights in this hotel on the basis of the TripAdvisor rating and were disappointed . Our club spa suite was comfortable but dated . With the exception of the housekeeping which was very good the service levels are not those of a 5 star property and the hotel has no personality . In a city justifiably renowned for its dining , the food quality was poor and more in line with a chain convention hotel than a luxury property and the service in the bar and club was pleasant but very slow .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GXWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. We are pleased that we met your service level expectations in Housekeeping and you found your Spa Suite comfortable, however I am disappointed that you felt we did not in other areas. Please accept my apologies that you found our service in the Club Lounge and Aria not as prompt as you expected. Your comments will be shared with the Club Manager and Aria Manager for their review. We pride ourselves in the hotel’s decor of classical elegance; our rooms have been updated in Langham's classic elegant and luxurious style. It is our intention that they are timeless with yesterday's charm but today's amenities. It is what differentiates us from most other hotels. We do hope you will consider staying with us again and at other Langham Hotels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

4 nights at this gem on the Yarra. The thing I remember most was the excellent customer service. Staff were amazing at every turn, making our stay so pleasurable. For a business trip, this was the best refuge to keep us fed, watered and pampered and ready to work. All good. Will be back for business and pleasure!

Room Tip: Wi fi expensive. Use your phone hotspot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your kind note on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that enjoyed your 4 nights with us. I am very pleased to hear your praise of our service and colleagues, I will be certain to pass on your comments to our Human Resources Department so they may be shared with all colleagues.We will look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne, whether it be for business, pleasure or both in the future for another pleasant stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,392 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,116 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,263 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 162 in Melbourne
3,918 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £151 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing