We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Bad Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Ranked #146 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Location but Bad Experience!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We spent 3 nights for a family holiday in a 2 bedroom apartment + 2 stay over rooms. The hotel is in a great location and I have stayed there once before. Close to the skybus, train station, supermarket and the city circle tram stops right at the door. The staff were very helpful and even though we arrived in the morning our room was ready an hour after arriving which was helpful travelling with 2 small children. The 2 bedroom apartment was perfect for a family with small children. The apartment had a full fridge, flat screen tv, microwave, hotplates, oven, had a large lounge dinning room and a 1/2 bathtub. The oven didn't work! There was also fraying carpet in the door way to the bathroom. The portacot had a metal bar sticking out of the middle of the cot so the baby had to sleep sideways. This could cause serious injury to a large child. One of the overnight rooms was fine and clean. The other room even though was well equip with a microwave and toaster the wall behind the bed had a layer of dust over it and the blinds at the window were covered in dust. It was very unfortunate that we had a room with a very noisy tenant that was living at the hotel. We complained to reception at 10.00pm and had great follow up. Things settled down until approx. 2.00am with there were loud talking outside on the balcony right next to our window and slamming doors constantly. We had to yell out that we were trying to sleep. I would like to thank management for upgrading us on the last night for a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 419 unless the current tenant has moved on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    109
    101
    42
    50
See reviews for
99
81
35
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Spent 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment (1Q, 2S) on the 8th floor at the Harbour View Apartment Hotel from 4-7 May. Had an apartment facing the city and the noise was minimal. So handy to the SkyBus terminal and Coles supermarket (open until midnight every night), Etihad Stadium. Public transport access is excellent - the free city tram stops outside the door, the No. 96 tram to St Kilda is across the road, lots of other trams going up Flinders Street and on to Bridge Road or the MCG. Caught the free tram to the outskirts of Carlton and had a short walk to Lygon Street. The paintwork was very poor in the toilet in particular - not an acceptable standard for any rented property. The size of the apartment was very comfortable. The furniture is a little dated. We were out and about most days but it was warm and cosy when we got home and we were able to self cater with the available kitchen facilities. The Queen Victoria markets are a very pleasant and comfortable walk - you can always catch a tram back if you make heavy purchases, especially from the produce and food stalls.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Spencer Street on high floors possibly have harbour views but the noise from traffic be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the third floor. This apartment sleeps three, with a tiny separate bedroom next to the main bed. Would be good for a child or a very close friend. Price was reasonable through Wotif. The room was long and narrow with a kitchen with basic crockery and cutlery, microwave, sink, hotplates. No oven and a mini fridge. Small two seater dining table, two seater Lounge and medium flat screen tv which could be moved around to also be watch while in bed. A small desk area with light. Queen bed was comfortable and thank goodness NO feather doona. Just a blanket. Air con worked fine.
The bathroom was roomy enough for one at a time with toilet and shower, basic soap and shampoos and good hairdrier.
Linen was clean and not bad quality.
Our room looked towards the city with very little view but not totally closed in. There was loud noise from the ally below which sounded like garbage removal early in the mornings. There was a tiny balcony on which you could stand and get some fresh air.
Staff were pleasant and helpful. Checkin was quick. Again, parking fees bumped the price up!
We ate at the restaurant on the ground floor for dinner and breakfast and both occasions were excellent.
Close by is Ethihad stadium for AFL footy matches, and shopping centre, Docklands and Harbourtown restaurants and shops, Queen Victoria markets are about 10-15 minute walk. Crown Casino is probably a 15-20 walk. If you are a walker then the location is great. Also just out the door you have tram stops and diagonally across the road the free city circle tram picks up passengers. Coles supermarket and a Michels coffee shop is also a couple of minutes walk.
We enjoyed our stay here and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and thought the room layout was excellent. There was a balcony leading into a lounge which was partitioned from a double bedroom and study. There was another single bedroom and then a kitchenette and bathroom by the entrance of the room. Staff were friendly and courteous, the room was cleaned to a high standard and we enjoyed the location (Close to Flagstaff Gardens)
It wasn't right in the middle of everything, but it was a close enough walk or a very short tram ride if you wanted it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

we stayed here for three nights It was perfect we could not fault it It was very clean with good towels plenty of hot water and an excelent bed.The position was great with a free tram service outside the front door.Parking was very reasonable as well

Room Tip: try and get a room on the east side of building the trams can be noisy up to 11.00pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gorbar34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port macdonnell
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here at the harbour view apartment hotel in march 2012. We booked a 3 bedroom apartment for 7 people we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a 4 bedroom at no extra cost which was great. The down side to this is the 4th bedroom is an upstairs open loft type of room and when your with a group of people you can't shut the door so it was noisey when trying to go to bed when everyone else is still up. The apartment was nice but the furnisings was dated and a few lights didn't work. The location was great on the corner of spencer and latrobe, and there was trams right out front that connected to most locations in the city casino, docklands, eidhad stadium, zoo, aquarium, market, train stations. Most were in walking distance too but if you don't want to walk trams are easy to catch and doesn't take long to learn which ones you need to get on. Overall good place to stay, has car parking at $15 per day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelsathebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for one night when passing through Melbourne. Our daughter is 7 months old and the hotel provided a portacot for us. There's a small room in the apartment with a single bed and just enough room for the portacot so we could get her to sleep then still enjoy the main room without disturbing her.
There is a bit of street noise but it didn't bother us and the room was clean and well equiped. We had room service from the restaurant downstairs and it was great too. Staff were friendly and we were able to get an early check in for no extra charge.
The location was fabulous as we came in on the train to Southern Cross Station, could walk to the hotel, walk to Docklands to meet friends then walk back to the station to get the skybus to the airport the next morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#99 of 160 in Melbourne
1,845 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#148 of 160 in Melbourne
604 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
426 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#136 of 160 in Melbourne
1,349 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Property: Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Address: 585 La Trobe St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrow on Spencer (also known as HarbourView Apartment) offers convenient and value for money accommodation from hotel rooms, studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments with individual decor. Perfectly Located at the west end of Melbourne CBD, on the corner of Spencer and La Trobe streets. Southern Cross station and Etihad Stadium are nearby with FREE TRAM STOPS at our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing