We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, Most Of The Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Ranked #144 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“OK, Most Of The Time”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times, not necessarily from choice but because of its situation and proximity to where I needed to be. What you see is what you get - it is on a very noisy corner (La Trobe and Spencer St) with trams from all directions stopping right outside. A mixed blessing. It's pretty bleak inside, the reception staff are variable, some good, friendly and efficient whilst others clearly do not want to be there and sometimes not too fussed about visitors being there either. There are lifts up to the rooms which generally work well. The rooms are usually clean. Rooms with a kitchenette are handy (there is a Coles supermarket a short walk down Spencer St), and reasonably well equipped. Most of the rooms are comfortable and the beds are usually comfortable - they have mostly been upgraded. Best to check when you book that you will be in an upgraded room. Some of the rooms have balconies, some do not. Be aware that if you have one of the more pleasant rooms with a verandah, you will be woken up early by the trams and street noise, but back rooms look out over dismal rooftops and high rise offices. There is a restaurant, but it had recently ceased providing breakfast on the premises and was not always open for evening meals. At my last visit, the restaurant was still showing on the website when in fact it was not available so best to ask. The Italian style meals were good, when it was open. It is very well placed for the City Circle tram, other trams, Spencer St factory outlet shops, Flagstaff Gardens and for events at Etihad Stadium.

Room Tip: Be very careful to ask exactly what you will have in your room, room/bed configuration. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daydreamer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    106
    93
    39
    50
See reviews for
94
80
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

To say the reception was cold and unfriendly would be incorrect.The reception was frosty and unpleasant. And that included the staff.
Had we known the heating in the room was not available, we would have stayed in reception, it was warmer.
The bed had wires and lumpy bits sticking out, and if you plan to sleep two people, then lay still or your partner will bounce into the frosty air.

Room service menu is available, just make sure you order by 9pm.

There is no cable TV and if you expect peace and quiet then this hotel may not be your best option as construction nearby was 24/7...

Unfriendly, cold, dirty and.. stay away....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel is well situated to Southern Cross Station. It is literally a 5 minute walk up hill. So if you are catching the train from Sydney very convenient. Etihad Stadium is also a 5 minute walk across the bridge as well. So if you are attending a AFL game great location. The free city tram and other paying trams do stop outside the front door. You can walk to the Queen Victoria Markets as well. Accomadation is average. Could do with a new paint job and update of some furniture. Shower was very small as well. But it did accomadate the 3 of us. There was building works and road works going on while we stayed so was very noisy, but the hotel did give us added bonuses for this. Having said this I would stay there again and if you look at a room in your home it could also do with a new paint job and furniture update, I think when we stay away we want 10 stars and only want to pay 2 or 3 stars. There is also a Coles across the road and a Hungry Jacks, Subway and Michaels Patissiere. There are also fast food outlets at the station. We were also able to walk to the city from the hotel, it is however a good walk. Harbourtown is located on the free tram ride that you catch just outside the door. Well worth a look. Rebel had runners reduced from $140 to $65, Royal Doulton also had great specials. Go to lounge and get your 5% discount card as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaytraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a nice, good sized 2 bedroom apartment, and the apartments are in an excellent position for Southern Cross station, coaches, Skybus and Docklands. The kitchen and bathroom were well presented and but the apartment smelt stale and unclean and the walls were knocked around and badly scuffed. The furniture in the lounge area was filthy and stained and very uncomfortable to sit on, but the beds were fresh and quite comfortable.
We were on the 7th floor, even with earplugs i found the traffic noise is quite bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lhux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I live in Tasmania and when travelling on an International Flight from Melbourne always fly to the mainland the day before. We then stay in Melbourne the night before our flight.
This hotel was conveniently close to Spencer Street Station where the Sky Bus leaves for the airport, a 5 to 10 minute walk. Be warned this hotel is not served by the free hotel bus transfer service linked to Sky Bus because of its close proximity to Spencer Street. The double room was very small but very clean and OK for a 1 night stay. I couldn't stay more than 1 night in such a small space.The balcony looked out on a brick wall. As Melbourne prices go it was good value for money, but not for the claustrophobic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Downing071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

First, it has no view, whether of a harbour or otherwise. So do not expect any sight of the river or dockland area.

Secondly, the room was shabby and the furniture a disgrace, covered in stains.

Thirdly, plainly no time is taken in room clean up; the balcony still had the 'wreckage' of previous guests; empty vodka bottles, bear bottles, etc.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliot_place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

A good quality hotel (not a 4 star rating) close to the markets and shopping area.
Good value and recommended for the short-stay traveller who wants to experience the city of Melbourne.
The free city circle tram is at the front door and the markets and major shops are within walking distances.
The kitchen is a bonus so duck down to the markets and cook up a storm!
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie and Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#96 of 158 in Melbourne
1,782 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#133 of 158 in Melbourne
557 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#148 of 158 in Melbourne
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 158 in Melbourne
1,300 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Arrow On Swanston
#131 of 158 in Melbourne
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Property: Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Address: 585 La Trobe St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrow on Spencer (also known as HarbourView Apartment) offers convenient and value for money accommodation from hotel rooms, studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments with individual decor. Perfectly Located at the west end of Melbourne CBD, on the corner of Spencer and La Trobe streets. Southern Cross station and Etihad Stadium are nearby with FREE TRAM STOPS at our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing