We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$157
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$97
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$85
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$324
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
25
114
109
43
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
114
109
43
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern cross stationcoles supermarketnice kitchencooking utensilsmain bedroomminute walksecond bedroomfree tramsmall balconyapartment was cleanspencer st stationsky busbourke streetkitchenetteskybusetihadfoyer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked to stay 7 nights at this Hotel but after arriving decided that it was certainly not what we were expecting We discussed this with the receptionist who was very helpful and but could not do much as he did not have the power to make decisions. He suggested that if we found somewhere else they would refund our money. This we did but and Harbour View refunded 5 nights. The hotel was tired and in need of a upgrade and the only plus is that the linen was clean. It could have made the difference to our holiday which was the first in 5 years. My adivse is to read reviews before booking as you don't get what they say.

Room Tip: There are not good rooms when you have a block wall facing your window
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Raewyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Everything is great until the part where you try to sleep at night. Near impossible when the walls are made of paper and the glasses might as well not be there. Hearing every car go over the tram tracks every 5 seconds and every old rusty tram roll past is not a good way to spend the night.

You are definitely better off finding accomodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have spent 5 nights in this hotel. Based on the review, we were worried about the services and facilities of the hotel. However, upon check-in and entering the room, we were happy with everything where our requests for a higher and quiet room were fulfilled by the management. I do agreed that the hotel needs to upgrade its carpet flooring and a better washroom/toilet, but other that than, everything is clean and acceptable for a 3 star hotel/apartment. What we loved about the hotel room is that it has basic cooking facilities with plates, glasses, pans, pots, knife, cutting board etc. We can cook almost everything except bake cake or cookies of course. The Southern Cross Station is just 8 minutes walking distance and supermarket Coles just like 5 minutes away. Free tram No. 35 stop just in front of the hotel and Queen Victory Market just 10 minutes walk. The only downside is that there is no free wifi/internet connection for the hotel guest.

Room Tip: Request for quiet room that not faced main road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddyTbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed here many times since 2005. The location is perfect with the Coles supermarket, Spencer Outlet Centre (old DFO) and Spencer Street Station walking distance. Trams at the door. Have stayed on most sides of the building and most levels. This time we stayed on level 8 on the west side of the building with a balcony. Less tram noise than lower down and less than on the Spencer Street side.
This was a two bedroom apartment with a full kitchen. The kitchen was good with enough tools and things to get us through a week of basic meals. They give you one hour free Wifi with the charges after that being quite reasonable, although the hour went very quick as it was a very, very slow connection on a tablet. The double bed had hard lumps in it (singles fine), shower over bath had mould around the edges, water faucet in the kitchen flopped around and came almost unbolted, one lounge couch had a big dip in the centre. The room itself has was average in fitments and this is what I have experienced since 2005 with some make-overs.
My main issue with this property is that the 8th level smelled of cigarette smoke as did the room - very old smoke, stale. It appeared to me that the property lacks good cleaning....a get on the floor and really see the dirt and not just flick a wand over it and expect the scum to be gone. That sort of in-ground dirt that you can feel when you touch any surface that makes your skin crawl. To walk into a room that you can actually smell a hint of disinfectant or bleach to kill the mould around the shower or even toilet cleaner would be the ideal scenario. This property could get the full marks that it really deserves if the staff did the job properly. The reception staff were fast at looking at the maintenance issues after we told them which was good. Perfect location, excellent views on the Spencer Street and Lygon Street sides.
The room rate was not too steep as it is so hard to find a property in Melbourne CBD that has a full kitchen and in such a great location with the room and bed configuration for the price.
Well worth a if you get some gloves a rag and some spray disinfectant clean everything before you use it.
Yes. I will stay again and will probably moan about it all over again.
Be downstairs by 6am to get a free newspaper!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above level 6. Nice views on Spencer Street side although there will be tram noise and there is a building site directly opposite. Lygon Street side has some good views and not so many trams. The alleyway side is the best for less tram noise. Remember the trams are not full on 24hrs a day. Take ear plugs and be happy !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patmacnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the HarbourView Apartments. The location was fantastic. Very close to Southern Cross Station and trams and buses ran straight passed the hotel. It is a short walk to the markets. There is a bit of noise from the street, but if you close the doors, windows and blinds the noise is minimal. This is not a fault of the hotel, it is something you would have to bear anywhere in Melbourne that is close to the central CBD. The people at the check-in and check-out counter were very friendly and helpful. We arrived a bit early and were able to leave our luggage there until the room was ready. They even telephoned us when the room was ready, which is great customer service. The rooms are a bit tired, but the furnishings, plates etc and appliances were ample. Lots of tea and coffee which was a great bonus. The beds were very comfortable and even with the noise outside there was no trouble in sleeping. A great place to stay if you need to be central to Melbourne CBD. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews