We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room looks better than photos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Ranked #146 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Firstly, I must say that the actual apartment looks way better than the photos on the website. They really should do a better job with the website!

Nonetheless, our stay there was pretty eventful. We came back one night to find that our power was shorted. So we called reception to have someone come and reset the power board.

The next morning, we realised that the power was shorted again. The guy at reception claimed he "wasnt an electrician", but he "googled it" and had us try unplugging all the devices, then reset the power board and plugging everything back in again. Wow, very helpful :P

We finally figured out that it was the fridge that was causing problems, so we called reception again and they agreed to replace the fridge for us. When they came to replace the fridge, we heard a single knock before they immediately barged into our room. Wow. What happened to waiting for the door to open?? Thankfully, we were all dressed, or it would have been awkward. Barging into rooms is a big NO NO for ANY hotel :(

Other than the small incident, the entire stay was pleasant. Location is accessible. 5 min walk to Southern cross station for the shuttle to the airport. 1min walk to the city circle tram station (Spencer & LaTrobe).

My only qualm is that they only provide 1 hour of free wifi for your entire stay :(

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Harbour View Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

I booked for only one night in January so we could take our boys to the cricket at Etihad. It was in easy walking distance, even for our 2-year-old.
The Apartment was lovely and clean with nice linen and towels. And plenty of space for the 5 of us. Coles and an Asian supermarket very close by if you want to cook.
It'll cost you $15 on top of your. If hits stay for parking, but it is secure so is great for peace of mind.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burdett1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked 3 rooms for our xmas holiday break. We had 2 apartments booked and 1 double room, 2 on level 5 and 1 on level 7. We were greeted with friendly helpful staff and the rooms were just perfect for all our needs. Perfect location, great for the shopper as trams stop out front trains just up the road. Very clean, our beds made everyday and clean towls which was fantastic. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in 6 apartments/ hotels in this trip. This is the only one that we dislike.

We were served by an unhelpful and unfriendly staff when we reached the hotel. She did not allow us to park our car in the premise just for a short while to unload our luggage. The staff also refused to help us book the skybus hotel transfer service, saying that the hotel was so near to the station and there was no need for the service. We tried to explain to her that we had two elderly who were in their eighties with us and it would be very difficult for them to walk that distance with their luggage. However, the staff was apathetic.
The room was old but quite clean and adequately equipped. It was difficult to sleep well at night. The sound from the trams was bad but the worse was the sound from the window blinds. When the air from the air con blew at the blinds, the blinds would hit against the walls. The sound produced was so unbearable that we had to roll up the blinds when we sleep.
The location of the hotel is good. The tram stop is just in front of it and southern cross station is nearby. It has a few very helpful and polite staff (two female Chinese receptionists and a male Chinese cleaner, probably from China) that made our stay more bearable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Xiaojiumu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked to stay 7 nights at this Hotel but after arriving decided that it was certainly not what we were expecting We discussed this with the receptionist who was very helpful and but could not do much as he did not have the power to make decisions. He suggested that if we found somewhere else they would refund our money. This we did but and Harbour View refunded 5 nights. The hotel was tired and in need of a upgrade and the only plus is that the linen was clean. It could have made the difference to our holiday which was the first in 5 years. My adivse is to read reviews before booking as you don't get what they say.

Room Tip: There are not good rooms when you have a block wall facing your window
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Raewyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Everything is great until the part where you try to sleep at night. Near impossible when the walls are made of paper and the glasses might as well not be there. Hearing every car go over the tram tracks every 5 seconds and every old rusty tram roll past is not a good way to spend the night.

You are definitely better off finding accomodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have spent 5 nights in this hotel. Based on the review, we were worried about the services and facilities of the hotel. However, upon check-in and entering the room, we were happy with everything where our requests for a higher and quiet room were fulfilled by the management. I do agreed that the hotel needs to upgrade its carpet flooring and a better washroom/toilet, but other that than, everything is clean and acceptable for a 3 star hotel/apartment. What we loved about the hotel room is that it has basic cooking facilities with plates, glasses, pans, pots, knife, cutting board etc. We can cook almost everything except bake cake or cookies of course. The Southern Cross Station is just 8 minutes walking distance and supermarket Coles just like 5 minutes away. Free tram No. 35 stop just in front of the hotel and Queen Victory Market just 10 minutes walk. The only downside is that there is no free wifi/internet connection for the hotel guest.

Room Tip: Request for quiet room that not faced main road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddyTbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#98 of 160 in Melbourne
1,865 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#148 of 160 in Melbourne
604 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#110 of 160 in Melbourne
444 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Address: 585 La Trobe St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £58 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrow on Spencer (also known as HarbourView Apartment) offers convenient and value for money accommodation from hotel rooms, studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments with individual decor. Perfectly Located at the west end of Melbourne CBD, on the corner of Spencer and La Trobe streets. Southern Cross station and Etihad Stadium are nearby with FREE TRAM STOPS at our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing