We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to spend more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Ranked #146 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for a weekend with four other girlfriends. A criteria was that we all had separate beds. This was the only place we could find that met that need at a reasonable price. The apartment had three bedrooms, two bathrooms a little lounge/dining room and kitchen. The place was clean and tidy when we arrived. Even though we were street side none of us experienced any noise issues. Staff were friendly and vey helpful.On the downside, whilst it says that it is serviced only two of the beds got remade, and there was absolutely no soap in either of the bathrooms. The location is great as there is a tram stop right outside the front door and only a five minute walk to the train station. Good location for the Victoria Markets and whilst it is a reasonable walk to the CBD there are plenty of taxis to get you home as well as the free trams. If we were going again with that number of people I would definitely stay there again because of the number of beds, but if it were just my husband and I going to Melbourne then I think I would stay somewhere a lot nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights recently and we found the hotel more than met all our needs. I have to say we didn't expect much based on reading the previous reviews, however we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, the location was great with a tram stop right outside the front door, 2 min walk to a coles supermarket, large shopping complex and southern cross station. Also an easy walk down to docklands. The room was well laid out for our family. The décor is pretty run down and needs a really good going over but it wasn't enough to detract from our overall stay. I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freespirit774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Needed a room for the night due to plane being cancelled. One night is about all you would want. Cramped room, dated décor, basic, no view. This is a 3* hotel/serviced apartments at best. The only plus point was that it was at least clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed 4 nights and not much sleep with trams/train and building being demolished next door + new building work across the road. My husband and I kept thinking a tram was coming thru our room, as that is how loud the noise was. We travel to Melbourne at least 3 times a year to see our sons and have stayed a different hotels - this is by far the loudest.
Yes location good (so expect noise), no harbour view? I wasn't disappointed as knew the location would not provide one. Really loved the fact that we could walk to Docklands and up La Trobe St. passed beautiful gardens and historic buildings.
Room had a very odd layout, lots of room in the kitchen but main bedroom had a half wall which made it difficult to get around. 2 seater couch had seen much better days as springs in the middle had worn out and the fabric. I paid extra for a superior room so expect a little more than this.

Room Tip: Our room was 507, would not recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

stayed 2 nights here on last week for a quick taste of Melbourne;
didn't expect much based on the previous reviews from here but turned out it was quite satisfied; booked a one-bed room for 3 and were given a family room with main bedroom plus single room;
parking included which was very convenient as it's expensive to get one in the middle of the city;
furniture looks cheap; room are bit dated but clean enough;
free tram right in front of the apartment & all major attractions within walking distance;
will definitely consider to stay again next time in Melbourne.

Room Tip: try get a room not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was a good size for the price, with comfy beds and good size bathroom, living and kitchen areas. The hotel is in a good location right on the tram line down to the casino (within walking distance and all downhill) and a stones throw from Etihad.
However I wonder who actually has a harbour view from this hotel. If any rooms do they would have to be right on the top and with the remand centre on one corner and a new police building under construction across the road, don't bank on seeing any harbour. The standard of cleanliness left a lot to be desired - not filthy but the walls needed a good clean, the bathroom wasn't the cleanest and the architraves in the toilet were stained. If they can lift their game as far as cleaning goes it would be a very good spot from which to explore Melbourne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmagpie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Always love returning to Harbour View Apartments right in the middle of all the activity close to the tram close to the station close to the supermarket. Room was clean and comfortable yes maybe a bit older and worn but comfortable and all you need plus you pay for what you get and it's reasonable. Wished we could check in before 2pm, it's no good for all those early flights from New Zealand.found the staff friendly and obliging on all occasions.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#92 of 161 in Melbourne
1,956 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
1,237 reviews
Arrow On Swanston
#138 of 161 in Melbourne
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#131 of 161 in Melbourne
1,412 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Address: 585 La Trobe St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £55 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrow on Spencer (also known as HarbourView Apartment) offers convenient and value for money accommodation from hotel rooms, studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments with individual decor. Perfectly Located at the west end of Melbourne CBD, on the corner of Spencer and La Trobe streets. Southern Cross station and Etihad Stadium are nearby with FREE TRAM STOPS at our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing