We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud and inconsiderate” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spencer Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Spencer Backpackers
Ranked #105 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loud and inconsiderate”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was just looking for a place to crash before a morning flight and was kept up till 5am by people yelling and talking on right outside my door. When I told them to stop at 4am I was ridiculed for not saying the right time (I said it was 3am instead of 4?!?). Non-present staff unable to help.

Room Tip: Request to be away from staircase and reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    11
    14
    9
See reviews for
1
16
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a great time here. Our room was basic, but clean and comfortable. Same with the bathrooms. The other guests seemed very friendly and it seemed the whole hostel would gravitate to the rooftop balcony outside the kitchen for evening drinks. Felt very homely.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the quieter the rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenmore Park, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Anyone coming to a backpackers and expecting top quality is setting themselves up for failure. I visited with a few mates on an interstate trip and it was perfect for us. It's extremely cheap, in a great location for anyone wanting to experience Melbourne on foot and the management is laid back. As a group of 19/20yo students we didn't have anything to say about the loud partying and creaky floors that other reviewers have brought up, we were protected in our drunker slumber.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeRoboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Awful place. Inconsiderate guests. Condom wrappers under the bed. Dirty carpets. Staff don't really care if you have a problem. Fortunately Melbourne is such a lovely place we didn't feel the need to stay in the room much. It's just a shame that when we wanted to sleep we couldn't.

The bed was just plain weird... a bunk bed kind of thing that felt more like a prison. The shower was pretty poor too. We didn't stay anywhere else in Melbourne so have nothing to compare to but I can guarantee we will never stay there again, ever.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyfarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Creaky floors and inconsiderate guests. Grotty. Would never stay here again. Even for the price. I didn't sleep all night as people were walking up and down the ridiculously creaky hallway constantly and outside making a heck of a racket. Pre-arranged check in was a hassle, had to call the night manager to let us in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keef23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights on this place and it wasnt horrible but it wasnt awesome too. We stayed on the room 31, next to the kitchen. Unfortunatly, the kitchen is really noisy because of the speakers and the music. If you want to sleep before 11pm, don't come in this room. If you're sensitive to cold, don't come in this room too. The window, a huge window, cant be close and there is no heater. To finish for the room, the bathroom is located in your room, but the shower is really bad, you can be burn during 1sec and be frost the second after! Good point for this hostel : The LOCATION! Close to the Victoria Market (10min by foot), close to the Southern Cross Station (10min by foot) and close to the CDB (10min by foot too), you will be able to enjoy Melbourne witout gotta pay a Bus Pass. This hostel is clean, except 2 or 3 roach, because of dirty guest, this place is clean! Good points for this hostel too, free coffee, tea and milk (for coffee), really friendly staff and free WIFI with a really good and working network!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed in the private room for about a week and a half and had to change rooms, due to lical residents partying on the balcony in front of our room till late hours.
kitchen is dominated by locals too ( french mostly. so if youre from France youd fit in) . Otherwise they make you feel very unwelcome.

the hostel should really put fans in their rooms. it was so hot one night and the only option was to open our window for breeze and be faced with drunk backpackers peeking in. not fun.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keitysja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#99 of 126 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#46 of 126 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#98 of 126 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 126 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#28 of 126 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Backpackers

Property: The Spencer Backpackers
Address: 475 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer Backpackers is a small, friendly hostel that caters to all budget travellers. We have a fully eqipped, self catering kitchen for those on a budget and a great bar with fantastic food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Spencer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing