We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new choice of place to stay in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #11 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My new choice of place to stay in Melbourne”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Alto in a two bedroom apartment. The staff are excellent, the rooms clean, the beds extremely comfortable, centrally located and very quiet. The addition of a kitchen is great.

There was a small problem with my kitchen having had a leak, that I didn't even notice, but the staff sent up a bottle of wine and chocolates for any inconvenience. The Alto will definitely be my hotel of choice when I stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    544
    72
    20
    3
See reviews for
302
615
135
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

There's not a fault I can find with this superb boutique hotel located just a short walk from Southern Cross Station and the Skytrain terminal. We were upgraded to a suite and the service, appointments, cleanliness and level of comfort could not have been better - so many little special touches to make us feel welcome and at home. The staff were most accommodating. Breakfast was excellent, with a comprehensive buffet and staff to cook whatever hot meal you desired. Our room faced out onto Bourke Street and had double glazing, so was quiet. The spa was awesome!

Room Tip: Suite 301 is bliss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

the rooms were bigger than we expected based on the previous reviews. we did not have any view(facing a brick wall) which granted us a very quiet night's sleep which was highly apreciated

the personel was extreamly nice and helpfull.

excellent value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel during our two day stay. Our room was very clean and comfortable. It had a small kitchen area, which gave us an extra sink that we found useful. Breakfast was of a high standard and reasonably priced. Guests choose some items from a buffet, but hot food is chosen from a menu and then cooked to order. We also had one evening meal, which we were also impressed with, although on Monday evening there was a very limited selection of desserts. The hotel’s kitchen also provided room service. In this hotel, we made use of the guest’s laundry facilities and the hotel’s car park. The hotel has some inexpensive spaces in a nearby car park, which need to be booked in advance of your arrival. The hotel is near a busy railway station. At night, the area was not one we wanted to walk around in, but we felt completely comfortable during the day. It took us about 25 minutes to walk to the main tourist areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We have an emphasis on comfort and cleanliness. I am glad that this has been evident. While hot buffets are great for quick self service we prefer to take a little extra time and cook each dish to order so it's just right. When in an unfamiliar city it does pay to be cautious, however the district around the hotel is equally pleasant and safe in day or night with many attractions within a 5-10 minute walk while others are a slightly longer but pleasant walk or short tram ride from the tram stop just outside the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a great 6 nights in Melbourne except for the poor performance the Dockers put up on the friday night.The room was nice and clean and serviced well. i like the idea of not changing the towels everyday and saving energy and water as towels can last a few days without changing them. Wonderfully quiet in the room with the double windows and the blackout rollerblinds to keep it dark for a morning sleepin. Great location right next to the tram stop and southern Cross Station.I will recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WPJMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Excellent location. About 200 m from Southern Cross Station. Sky Bus comes and goes from here every 20 min to Airport. $18 per adult passenger. Takes 20-30 min depending upon the traffic. Lot of restaurants in the vicinity. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Can not think of any negative points.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank njc2012mky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Convenient, relatively quiet, friendly staff, excellent service & WiFi at decent speed included.
Would recommend to anyone wanting somewhere in the heart of Melbourne, right near Southern Cross Station.

Room Tip: Breakfast is typical cold buffet, hot breakfast food below average, eat breakfast down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkWebbOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,550 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,013 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing