We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the recovery which counts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“It's the recovery which counts”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our second stay at Alto, and I feel compelled to write another review.

Early in my professional career I learned the "truth" that all businesses make mistakes, and it's not the mistake which counts, but how they recover from it. In our case it was a small mistake, but an inconvenience all the same. We accidentally left a parcel in luggage storage - we should have noticed it had not been returned to us, but the hotel should have not let it happen in the first place. When we discovered the oversight we were on the phone - and with minimum of fuss Gary (the boss?) had tracked it down and has arranged for it to be posted to us in Western Australia. Easy, friendly, no hassle.

Which describes the Alto - easy, friendly, no hassle. The Alto is brilliantly located, the staff are very friendly and well skilled in their roles, and at the same time respectful, the rooms are pleasant and comfortable, and the place is good value for money. I can't fault it. I've travelled a lot to Melbourne over the years for both business and pleasure, and as long as the Alto maintains these standards it will clearly be my hotel of choice in that city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    536
    72
    20
    3
See reviews for
288
603
128
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I cannot fault the Alto Hotel on Bourke St. The hotel was centrally located, close to the train and Skybus station and 10 minutes walk to the Bourke St shopping mall. The room I had was small but well furnished and well set out. The shower was surprisingly large for such a small bathroom and everything was spotlessly clean. I had a room at the rear of the building on the first floor and had no noise issues at all.
The restaurant is small and cozy but the food was outstanding. I had a pulled pork salad for dinner which was delicious and breakfast the following morning was tasty with good variety.
The service both at the front desk and in the restaurant is excellent. I asked for some options of things to do in the city for the day, and the staff at the front desk gave me maps, directions and lots of suggestions.
I will definitely stay here again when in Melbourne. This hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaB623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were very satisfied with an overnight stay at the Alto and will certainly be returning next time we’re in Melbourne. A stone's throw to Skybus station; the hotel is central with clean, well appointed rooms and friendly professional staff. I particularly value the Alto's genuine efforts to reduce their (or rather, our) footprint while still maintaining high hotel standards.

We stayed in a Petite which was fine for one night and great value but if planning to stay longer than a night or two I'd definitely request a larger room. Breakfast options are great so no danger of getting bored with the choices over a much longer stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My stay at the Alto was faultless. The staff were helpful and friendly but respected your privacy. Our 2 bedroom place had everything we needed for our 3 night stay. It was clean, quiet and a 30second walk from the Skybus stop - perfect. Special mention must got to Andrew at Concierge who was an absolute delight, nothing was too much trouble and all done with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was my second, yearly, stay at this Hotel. I just wanted to reiterate that if you are looking for immaculately clean, perfectly situated, friendly informative service look no further. This time I was with my husband and he saw why I insisted on Alto Hotel on Bourke.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlatoutFlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Alto has very Lovely staff. Central location. Very easy access to Skybus. Good breakfast. Comfortable rooms but could do with thicker walls at times. I have stayed a couple of times now and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happysusie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Alto Hotel is very conveniently situated near Southern Cross station. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a nicer room when we arrived. It was very clean and comfortable with a king bed, fridge, tea/coffee and biscuits. Had a very nice breakfast with buffet for cold items and hot items by order. We had to leave very early one morning for a tour and the hotel provided us with a continental breakfast delivered to our room the night before. The front desk staff were very helpful with the many questions we had regarding travel around Melbourne. The only thing I didn't like much was shampoo, conditioner and soap in large containers rather than small, individual portions. However, the benefits of this hotel far outweighed this small complaint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Our team are pleased to read another review from our guests and to see that they enjoyed the service received and our facilities.

Our environmental initiatives are wide ranging from use of electricity from renewable sources only and having our own beehives on the rooftop. Waste minimisation is one of the initiatives. We use the same quality ingredients as used in the "standard" small bottles, in our case they are dispensed from stylish wall mounted dispensers (see image on the Green Star [page of our website). Therefore we have zero landfill waste for our soap. shampoo etc as we are able to recycle delivery containers and packaging.

Why have we chosen this approach?
If every hotel in Melbourne had a similar approx we could avoid approximately 17,000 litres of used shampoo / chemicals entering our landfill waste each year for just one city. (Melbourne has about 28,000 hotel rooms and average 84% occupancy, assume average stay is 2 night, assume only 1 bottle of part used 40ml shampoo, conditioner etc is left by guest which hotel staff then replace and dispose of part used bottle. Most bottles are also placed in landfill instead of recycling adding to the waste)






Gary Stickland
General Manager
Alto hotel on Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,345 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing