We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #11 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is very clean, comfortable and in a great position in Melbourne's CBD. Easy safe walking distance to everything in central Melbourne. Very close to Southern Cross Station and the Skybus to Tullamarine airport. It was also very affordable. We would happily stay here again when next we stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCATT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    542
    72
    20
    3
See reviews for
302
610
134
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

If you want a clean ,convenient, friendly hotel with helpful staff then this is the place for you. Room was small but adequate and as quiet as you get in a major city. Certainly no noise that would keep you from sleeping. The room had a handy area for storing 2 suitcases. Beds very comfortable and warm. Bathroom very clean with a big shower. Basic toiletries provided. Very minor repair work needed with the silicone beading along the shower outside. It is a green hotel so the water pressure from the shower head is less than we were used to. No big deal. We opted for breakfast and it was fresh and tasty with plenty to choose from even if you just wanted to use the buffet. Walking to the skybus to get to the airport was simple and quick as was the short walk to Etihad stadium for the football. There is a tram a few metres along from the hotel and this takes you down to the big shopping malls in a few minutes. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Alto on Bourke is a fairly small hotel directly opposite the train line and on the bus routes as well. The rooms are lovely and the staff are tremendous, but the small touches are what make this different - free wifi, apples, tea and a coffee machine for guests to use at any time, a restaurant that seats only 25 with a fantastic chef and waitstaff who produce beautiful meals at a reasonable price, a lounge area at the end of the restaurant where you can sit with a glass of wine next to the fire and have your meal, recycling across every room including the restaurant. Just wonderful, couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

In Melbourne for work Thu and Fri. Office is next door. Room 204 is a studio, fully equipped for catering and decent sized room with a study desk and sofa. Comfortable bed and helpful staff. You can hear the trams bell, but its part and parcel of melbourne's charm. bathroom is sizeable with a good shower - hot water comes quickly. found the sink too low - also the design was such that if you were wearing say going out clothes and brushed your teeth, the splash back and splatter goes all over. I had breakfast ($24 + room charge even though I ate in the breakfast hall) the first morning but decided to buy my own muesli and yoghurt for the following day since the room is fully equipped with cutlery. very close to southern cross station so very handy to get around including the airport. the only drawback - is that this part of town is very quiet on the weekends and is not close to food places. However the proximity to southern cross station is more of a positive than a negative.

Room Tip: a room that's not along the stairwell that is... anything but room no. 1. the wooden stairwell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpr2exs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Our location near Southern Cross and the airport express shuttle is a benefit to many of our guests. Having your office next door is a bonus.

On check of room account there is a $24 charge for the Big Breakfast & Continental Buffet ordered. Our waiters note on the service docket that the charge is to be added to the room account by adding "Room Charge" to differentiate service dockets for guests who have stayed on a package rate that includes breakfast. There is no additional charge on the account.

Our bathroom sinks are a conical design as this is the most efficient shape to provide depth of water in a basin without using a large volume of water to fill it (in keeping with our sustainability program). We were not aware of issues with splash back but will assess and consider for the next renovation.

There are 10 restaurants within 1 block of the hotel plus additional fast food options. However they are relatively scattered and not directly next to each other. Our guest service team have put together a little map showing those close by options. We provide this information in the printed services directory in the room which is also shown on our digital concierge accessible on in room TV's. The food precincts of Hardware Lane, South Wharf and Casino / Southbank are approx 8-10 walk.

Gary Stickland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth,WESTERN AUSTRALIA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The convenience of stepping onto the Sky Bus and the very short walk to the hotel is fantastic! Then again it's so easy to catch trams from just across the hotel. The staff are great,friendly and very helpfull!Breakfasts are great and having that warm lounge room to come back to is fantastic..Meals at night are great and there are also good places to eat close by.. All in all we will always stay there when we come to Melbourne!,

Room Tip: We had a studio room-fine for us!Maybe a suite might suit others who want a bit more room if they sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I would happily stay here again. It was really easy to get to from Tullamarine Airport: I just caught the skybus from the airport to the city, then walked a very short distance to the hotel (Im not good on distances, but it only took 5 minutes). The staff were all lovely, and very helpful, and the room was nicely decorated and very clean. They don't have a gym, but give you a free pass to a very large, modern gym just up the street. My only dislike was a very soft bed, which most people would probably like. The staff told me that they can remove the pillow top from the mattress next time I stay. Oh, I also liked that the hotel was very environmentally friendly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stillinmyprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,868 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing