We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BOUTIQUE BLISS ON BOURKE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“BOUTIQUE BLISS ON BOURKE”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Always wanted to try this place and was not disappointed. We stayed in a studio room and it was excellent. A granite bench with large round sink, microwave etc was so convenient. The window opened which is always a nice touch. The bed was first class with all the usual bits and pieces next to the bed. I found the desk area good for work. The breakfast was oh so cute in the little lounge. The whole feel was quite euro where it was not about size but about ambience. We both loved it and we will be back. By the way the staff were so friendly and helpful. So handy to Skybus and Southern Cross. Excellent!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnm53376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    532
    71
    20
    3
See reviews for
287
597
128
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Really good stay at Alto. The room was small, but we liked it. Great location to explore the City. Very close to airport bus. Nice check in, even when we arrived after midnight! Great!!!! Nice coffee place around the corner....

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ooch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Rooms are small and dark but this didn't worry us. Free wifi. Great location. Jump on a tram to Bourke Street Mall....3 stops. 2 minute walk to the footy, trains. Very helpful staff. Great choice of breakfast packages. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you comment on our friendly staff, we strive to make everyone feel welcome and relaxed,. We thrive on feedback that indicates we have achieved this. Many of our guests like our central location that males most areas a short walk away or a little tram ride from the stop just outside of the hotel. Football fans appreciate being a 600 meter walk to Etihad Stadium or an even shorter walk to Southern Cross Station for a 4 station journey to the MCG.

Our Studio's are approximately 22-24 square meters. While they may be considered as being on the small side we have focused on quality, service and facilities. As is often said "bigger is not always better". Being a small building with larger ones nearby some rooms do have a short period of direct light with reflected light available throughout the remainder of day. Most rooms have direct light thorough out the day.

Gary Stickland
General Manger
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a very basic but clean and well located hotel. Staff is friendly and things like a guest laundry can be a big help on a business trip. Doesn't have the charm of a hotel in a cooler neighborhood but for location and price it's a good deal.

Room Tip: I opted for a back room -- no view but very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is very clean, comfortable and in a great position in Melbourne's CBD. Easy safe walking distance to everything in central Melbourne. Very close to Southern Cross Station and the Skybus to Tullamarine airport. It was also very affordable. We would happily stay here again when next we stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCATT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

If you want a clean ,convenient, friendly hotel with helpful staff then this is the place for you. Room was small but adequate and as quiet as you get in a major city. Certainly no noise that would keep you from sleeping. The room had a handy area for storing 2 suitcases. Beds very comfortable and warm. Bathroom very clean with a big shower. Basic toiletries provided. Very minor repair work needed with the silicone beading along the shower outside. It is a green hotel so the water pressure from the shower head is less than we were used to. No big deal. We opted for breakfast and it was fresh and tasty with plenty to choose from even if you just wanted to use the buffet. Walking to the skybus to get to the airport was simple and quick as was the short walk to Etihad stadium for the football. There is a tram a few metres along from the hotel and this takes you down to the big shopping malls in a few minutes. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Alto on Bourke is a fairly small hotel directly opposite the train line and on the bus routes as well. The rooms are lovely and the staff are tremendous, but the small touches are what make this different - free wifi, apples, tea and a coffee machine for guests to use at any time, a restaurant that seats only 25 with a fantastic chef and waitstaff who produce beautiful meals at a reasonable price, a lounge area at the end of the restaurant where you can sit with a glass of wine next to the fire and have your meal, recycling across every room including the restaurant. Just wonderful, couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,246 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
1,992 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Property: Alto Hotel on Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing