We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cult classics and a cat”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Astor Theatre

The Astor Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Astor is one of the last single screen movie palaces left in the world, showing movies continuously since being built in 1936, and transporting you to a time when going to the movies was an event.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,998 reviews
1,774 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,645 helpful votes
“Cult classics and a cat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

A great place to watch an cult classics in sumptuous art deco surroundings. There are often catered events and a decent bar upstairs, with a beautiful balcony so you can people watch below. The resident cat give the place a nice homely feel. If you have long legs, beware - the seats are quite cramped. It has old world charm but some parts are falling apart and in need of repair. It is quite a way from central Melbourne, nearest station is Windsor, out the station turn right and cross the busy road, you will see it ahead on the corner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    30
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great old time movie cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful old cinema, done in Art Deco style, one of the last big cinemas, one screen only, like we used to go to when we were kids,
They show an eclectic mix of movies, new, classics, pick up a calendar from outside the cinema.
Snack bar is great and I just love the choc tops! Only I always end up wearing the chocolate.
Last time I went Marzipan the cat was in residence, sadly he has since passed on. He would often find a friendly lap to curl up on.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nostalgic charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have been to the Astor a few times and always marvel at the decor. I love the snack bar with it's different options like slices of cake and fruit. The way the curtain opens at the beginning of the movie takes me back to my childhood. A must to be experienced

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EliseB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Cinema in Melbourne!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great classic movies. Don't expect IMAX but a great old school cinema. Check the movie guide in advance and enjoy some of the best movies ever.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pizza_Man258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best cinema in the country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

AMazing art deco cinema, that shows double bills for less than the average price for 1 film! Also has legendary choc tops which do not fail to deliver.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Astor Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Astor Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing