We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic Hotel - Well Located”
Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arrow On Swanston
Ranked #131 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Here is a recommendation, when you read review here see where the reviewers are from and their age group, this will give you an idea about the compatibility of their opinion to yours. (Example-is an AC standard, or nice surprise)
If you come from North America and are used/compare to N. American standards you will find this hotel to be 3/5 as best, probably 2.5/5. Rooms are very basic, in almost any aspect. The hotel has no central facilities including no Wi-Fi, not even in the lobby.
In Australian standards the pricing is very reasonable, (in North American, they are high for what you get)
Still the hotel is well located, walking distance from downtown,
Also as a side note, the Korean restaurant just attached to the lobby entrance was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChuckLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Hotel was good but nothing amazing. I felt that we were in a freak show by the way that we were stared at as we entered the hotel. The room itself is more of a studio apartment and we had an awful view - backing onto a construction site of a neighboring apartment block. Reasonable distance from most things.
A good experience because of the distance and location.

Room Tip: Good if you aren't planning on spending too much time in the actual room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buglettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Not sure why some people are being so negative about this place. For the price paid, we had a great stay! The room was a great size and the a/c was a great bonus for us to cool down after walking around the city all day!
The staff who greeted us were friendly and knowledgeable and happy to help us with any queries we had. The bedrooms were a perfect size, and the little 'living area' was comfy and great to chill out in and watch bad movies on the many channels on the TV. The cooking area was clean and convenient and everything we could have needed (including a sponge and soap) were provided for us.
Another huge plus point was the free access to the pool, gym and sauna. Though the pool was freezing cold (it was an open-air pool) it was a great length and served its purpose. The gym was compact, but included everything one could need (including a CD player and CDs to play whilst working out). I never normally use a sauna, but thought I'd treat myself. Though waiting for it to heat up is a bit of a pain, it's definitely worth the wait and a great addition to a great hotel.
Overall I would highly recommend Arrow on Swanston to people who maybe have a little extra cash or are looking for something on the nice side of accommodation in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Trams are right on the hotels door step. We stayed 1 night. Rooms are tiny and I would not suggest this hotel for a long stay or if you are traveling with family. During the early hours of the morning the air con decided to drip water - with out the air con on the room was too stuffy so I had to endure a form of Chinese water torture - a lovely sound of water slowly dripping. The hotel had a great little coffee shop that served good coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouAndBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Room was pretty basic but good enough for a short stay like mine. (2 nights to be exact)
Location was great, walking distance to the main shopping area and Victoria Market.
However my room window faces the classroom in RMIT building next door, which means the blind has to be constantly drawn.
Gave a little claustrophobic feeling.
The biggest disappointment though was the lack of Wifi.
At this day and age, wired (and chargeable) Internet is passe.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zaamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#158 of 161 in Melbourne
31 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
#146 of 161 in Melbourne
333 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#113 of 161 in Melbourne
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £58 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing