We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like being in prison” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arrow On Swanston
Ranked #125 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like being in prison”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week whilst on holiday in Melbourne, and I have to say that it was one of the nastiest hotels that we have ever had the misfortune of inhabiting. The room was tiny, the heater didn't work, both the bed and pillows were hard as stone and there was no water pressure in the shower. The fridge made a loud humming noise all night, and if the mattress was not already torturing us this would have been loud enough to keep us awake.

Also, the toaster in the room had a frayed power cord which would probably have electrocuted us if I hadn't noticed the damage.

Don't stay here, there are far better choices available.

PS: When we checked in we were told that Skybus did not service the hotel. When we were leaving we asked about the best way to get to Southern Cross Station and the attendant said that we should have booked a Skybus hotel transfer, but it was now too late as it was full. Gah!

Room Tip: Book yourself into a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    98
    74
    26
    37
See reviews for
55
74
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My second stay here, for a week in May 2013. Rooms comfortable and clean, and well located to the city and a range of restaurants nearby. There's a cafe / restaurant in the basement that does OK dinners (though nothing fancy), and a small business hours cafe on the ground floor linking directly to reception. Plenty of other food places and an Aldi nearby plus a convenience store with basic supplies for stocking the fridge directly next door (though prices there are high - $5 for 2L of milk!)

My door scraped when opening it but this was fixed within 24 hours of reporting it to reception. I was at the northern end overlooking a laneway; unfortunately there was a rubbish truck that emptied bins left in that lane each morning around 5:45am and even though I was on the 4th floor it woke me up every morning. I would recommend trying to get a room facing the back of the hotel.

Room had a modern enough kitchen, shower, toilet, lounge and the basics you need. It was all quite satisfactory for what I needed without being over the top or pricey.
Overall it did what I wanted

Room Tip: Try to get something facing west, away from Swanston St and hopefully noisy laneways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

With a tramstop out the front and another just around the corner it is handy to everything. Vic Market is in walking distance as is the CBD. Clean, quiet rooms. I have stayed here a few times & will continue to do if I need to be in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bozlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed here for a total of 10 days for both work and leisure, and would definately stay here again when I next come to Melbourne!

Located just out of the CBD (but within walking distance) and with the tram line just outside the hotel, it is just a short walk from Lygon Street and the Queen Victoria Markets as well as the Exhibition Centre and Museum. Perfect location for shopping, eating and culture!

The room was more like a studio apartment wih a fridge and cooking facilities, a TV, couch and table, with the comfy queen bed in a small room which also held a wardrobe. The bathroom was tiny but functional.

From my room I could look into other people's apartments at the back of the building, but I didn't pick this hotel for the view! There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance to eat at, and there is a cafe downstairs in the lobby, as well as a convenience store a couple of doors down.

If you are looking for a great place to base yourself while in Melbourne and are out and about during the day and evening then this place is perfect in my opinion.

Travel Tip: If you take the bus from Tullamarine Airport that drops you at the bus station in town, you can get a free shuttle bus from the station to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XAGTKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Here is a recommendation, when you read review here see where the reviewers are from and their age group, this will give you an idea about the compatibility of their opinion to yours. (Example-is an AC standard, or nice surprise)
If you come from North America and are used/compare to N. American standards you will find this hotel to be 3/5 as best, probably 2.5/5. Rooms are very basic, in almost any aspect. The hotel has no central facilities including no Wi-Fi, not even in the lobby.
In Australian standards the pricing is very reasonable, (in North American, they are high for what you get)
Still the hotel is well located, walking distance from downtown,
Also as a side note, the Korean restaurant just attached to the lobby entrance was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChuckLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Hotel was good but nothing amazing. I felt that we were in a freak show by the way that we were stared at as we entered the hotel. The room itself is more of a studio apartment and we had an awful view - backing onto a construction site of a neighboring apartment block. Reasonable distance from most things.
A good experience because of the distance and location.

Room Tip: Good if you aren't planning on spending too much time in the actual room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buglettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#135 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#95 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Property: Arrow On Swanston
Address: 488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing