We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly learning experience”
Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arrow On Swanston
Ranked #129 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This over priced property was a relative disappointment. The service was adequate but scant. This is a virtual do it yourself experience. My first room had no water. The maintenance staff had gone home for the day. The next room they put me in was a twin bed arrangement; not what I paid for. This is a sad and somewhat bleak property with little character, and no appeal to speak of. I assess it has few attractive qualities and is expensive for what it offers. The hotel, be warned, takes and holds a $50 bond at time of signing in. They only repay this to your credit card within, they promise, five working days. Outrageous. It is close to the centre of town. That may be an advantage. I shan't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meath_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Arrow On Swanston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very average for the price we paid. We were given a room on the 2nd floor with a tiny balcony looking out to the car park. People from the car park can look straight into our room as well. Bathroom is adisabled facilitated. The staff could be more considerate and keep this for people needed it more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BYE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It was a pleasant stay at Arrow on Swanston. The rooms were impeccably clean and
quiet. The kitchenette was clean and well-equipped. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. But the reason why you should choose Arrow is for its location….very prime with trams plying right in front of the hotel. It is also close to Chinatown, Lygon Street and other tourist attractions. We took the Visitor’s shuttle to tour the city of Melbourne, which can be accessed easily from this location. We would definitely stay there a second time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MMDatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

First: the website representation and actuality do not match! Cleanliness; what cleanliness? And for service: it sucks; staff members got attitude!

We arrived at the apartment late Friday night, after work and a long flight. 11:30 at night, when we arrived at the reception, there were two staff members at the counter, but no "hello" or an eye contact to acknowledge our presence. Great start!

The person who checked us in had a "whatever" attitude and the other person, obviously busy counting the till, looked as if he was in a constant pain: with "I wish I didn't have to be here" expression.

Well, what else we need to start our trip? We walked in to the we room, we realized it was really tired. We opened the fridge, and found dirty ice-cream cups in the fridge; yuck!

And at check-out, we went to the reception. "You have charges for 2 breakfasts", we were told. One, we didn't go to the restaurant; two, our rate included breakfast. Not a problem, there was no fuss, they took care of it.

Morning reception crew, Kudos to you, night managers- you're in wrong profession!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Utkrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was quite dubious about staying here after reading previous reviews, but im glad I stuck with it. Being an interstate traveller with no knowledge the multiple staff I dealt with were friendly and very helpful with my multitudes of questions.
Location was great, apartment was spotless and had everything we needed during our stay. I found the mattress a little hard but im fussy about my bed. Overall for the price paid I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebekahA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Firstly , this hotel has rude staffs.second, the reception is close from 11 pm to 7 pm.what kind of hotels close receptions? What if people reached the hotel at 12 am ? Where they stay? By the road!?!? I rather find another hotel.but do you get a refund for that night? I dont know.third, the shower water is cold.i caught flu after bathing.luckily its only for a ninght after we complained.good job arrow on swanston! Keep this up and your hotel will be abandond

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsgdgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

this place is terrible i just can not recommend this place to any one .
rooms are small and stuffy you look out on to other appartments so can not let any light in .
The staff are rude and in no way helpfull i was staying because my mother was in hospital not sure how long i needed to stay they would not refund my money when my mother was discharged to another hospital closer to where i live i paid for car parking up front to they would not refund the two days that i was not using the car park .
just so bad they have no service skills be afraid be afraid of this place it is dirty mould in the shower and i went to get a spoon out of the draw that was put away dirty the sheets are that thin that you can see through them .
no manager on site the staff are hopeless i have owned and opperated accomm for thirty years so i know what i am talking about this place just terrible .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#105 of 160 in Melbourne
425 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#120 of 160 in Melbourne
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
1,182 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#143 of 160 in Melbourne
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing