We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arrow On Swanston
Ranked #131 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for a nearby function with quite a few family and friends staying in other rooms. The parking set up is pretty confusing with very little in the way of a clear explanation of the process from the staff. Check in was quick but again, very little information given by the front desk staff. Our room was ok, a little cramped and surfaces and furniture had seen better days. The shower could have benefitted from some Exit Mould and the balcony was pretty much useless, taken up by the air con unit. The air con was very good, the room was a comfortable temperature within minutes.
Friends and family were not as happy with their rooms with all of them complaining of bad smells (cooking-curry, sewerage, garbage). We were more fortunate, our room didn't smell but the hallway smelt strongly of cooking. The best thing about this hotel is the location,close to pretty much everything. Not too expensive either.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    100
    76
    27
    38
See reviews for
57
75
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Arrow on Swanston was great value for money. The room was a decent size for my husband & I, it was clean, & was styled simply with nice neutral colours. It is a modern hotel in a good location, just on the edge of the CBD & very close to Lygon Street restaurants. The staff were friendly & helpful. The only drawback we had was that the shower in the bathroom was open, it had no shower glass or curtain. This meant about 2/3's of the floor was wet after having a shower. Overall though, it offered everything we could ask for in a cheaper hotel category.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaluvspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I came here for a vacation with my family. I decided to choose this hotel for it's very close to city center. The location is okay with couple of restaurants to be found near the hotel.

You can take tram 8 or any tram going to Melbourne University. The staff is quite nice even so they could be more helpful actually. Some information of Melbourne are provided in the lobby and the room was quite okay.

The price for the room was quite cheap, standard for an apartment and the facility I got was adequate enough. The room was clean and safe as well although it wasn't big enough but okay for three people. Air conditioner and television with cable channel is for you. Sofa and small table. The bathroom might not be large but it's not five stars hotel so it's fine. You will get a kitchen and the kitchenette as well so it will be helpful for you should you want to cook something.

Nice feature for the room is a balcony where you can enjoy nice breeze of Melbourne's air and that's it, nothing special in particular.

Basic accommodation for cheap price hotel in Melbourne but you might get better hotel with the same price.

Room Tip: Pick upper lever rooms for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Pros
-great location
-clean room

Cons (oh so many)
-Didnt have keys ready although we called ahead, sat there waiting for 20 minutes
-Charged me extra 30 dollars because I'd selected 2 people in a single room on the website, then they rang and told me I couldn't do this and they had to charge me 30 dollars extra to upsize me. Their website shouldn't allow this if it isn't possible. I wouldn't have bought a room there for that much had I known.
-Fridge dodgy and not very cold
-Terrible shower, takes ages to warm up and low pressure. I went for a walk while my partner showered and she messaged me asking 'does the shower ever warm up? I've been here 5 minutes'
-Internet costs money, and is only Ethernet, no WiFi. It's 2014, cmon.
-Tried to charge me for parking on check in and check out after I had already paid on the internet.

If it isn't obvious from the above, DONT STAY HERE, the staff are incompetent, don't care about the guests, and don't deserve your money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a cheap, clean, safe place to stay in the city - this is it. Amazingly small but functional rooms - twin share has two seperate bedrooms. No frills, all you need, kitchen, bathroom, little balcony, free wi-fi. Perfect for a low cost stay in the city for some shopping and a show. Walk to city centre Queen Vic markets or tram stop out the front.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cathngiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very very basic accomodation, located next to RMIT University.
I suspect the hotel was once back packers or student accomodation for the uni and they have turned it into a "hotel'. The kitchen and toilet/shower areas are extremely small and just enough room to move around. There would be better hotels in this price range. If you are after the most basic of accomodations, this is for you. Unfortunatley I wont be staying here again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here due to the very reasonable price that happened to be available for my last minute booking. I was surprised to see upon arrival that they offer housekeeping daily - unusual for apartment hotels in Melbourne. The apartments are very clean as a result, with a very functional kitchen.
The hotel is located just north of the CBD on Swanston St, with the tram at your doorstep allowing for easy access to both the city and the plethora of Italian restaurants on Lygon St in Carlton. Unfortunately this does create a bit of noise.
Balconies are non-functional as there is no access to them from the rooms, though the building also contains residents who seem to have functional balconies.
There is no restaurant contained within the hotel, however there are quite a few options nearby and of course, you can always cook for yourself too.
Overall, an average place to stay at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment that doesn't have windows facing Swanston St if you want a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mslexxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
1,121 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 158 in Melbourne
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
376 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#110 of 158 in Melbourne
571 reviews
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#137 of 158 in Melbourne
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Property: Arrow On Swanston
Address: 488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing