We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and space out of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne
Ranked #145 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

My husband, in-laws and baby daughter stayed here overnight in a 2 bd apartment but would have comfortably stayed a week or more. It was roomy, clean and comfortable. I stayed in the front room against the street and did find the traffic quite noisy but it did not bother my husband or my baby. We had everything we needed, although I would have liked a heater in the bedroom as it was quite cold but there is ac in the living room.
Overall, I would stay again as it was comfortable and easy to catch a tram from directly in front of the apartment to the city, and also a very short walk to cafes for a meal. It was also very family friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed at Apartments on Lygon for a month this year whilst doing a work related residency. I had a fantastic time and the apartment was ideal and I made it my home for the duration of my stay. In short....... a great location, very easy access to the city on the tram or walking. Helpful management and staff who were happy to help with extra requests such as printing etc and the rooms were serviced daily and kept clean and supplied with fresh towels .

As a female alone I found the apartments ideal, I felt safe in the area in the day and late at night. The Kent Hotel near by did great food and also the 169 cafe does the best brunch! Clothes shops and boutiques also really great in this area. I would wholeheartedly reconmend it!
Jess

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Was very surprised after recommending these apartments to a friend that she told me she had bad reviews on TA. I don't know where these people stayed but it was certainly not at the apartments I was in. On the city edge with easy access by car or public transport, these are exceedingly good value for money. As a party of four we had well presented rooms with lovely linens, a fully equipped kitchen, full-size bath & shower, dining table & flat screen TV. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, there was plenty of info about city attractions & out of town tours and always someone on hand to help with bookings or directions. I would thoroughly recommend Apartments on Lygon and do!

Room Tip: Lygon St side is sunny & peaceful views of Melbourne Cemetery (well worth a look around!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Very impressed!!

Me and my partner recently stayed here and had a wonderful time. The staff from the place were great right from handling the booking all the way through to the over and above service that they offered during our stay.

On a first time visit to Melbourne this hotel was perfectly located, the tram on the doorstep took us anywhere we needed to go and was very close to all the things we wanted to see.

I will definitely being staying here again and would recommend to all that i know for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This Hotel is extremely dirty. Dirty Linen , Hair in the bed , Dirty Bathrooms, We had booked our staff to stay at this hotel. They checked out the same night as they would not sleep in such dirty rooms. Terrible how a business can still be in business ??? We were told they would not refund the room cost as the bed was turned down. Well Yes after a pubic hair was found in it - I would not expect my staff to re make the bed. I have 8 photos of this room ! Horrid

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Very average accomodation. Only redeeming feature was the updated bathroom which was clean and modern. Bed was terrible and hard, I never have a problem sleeping but woke up constantly during my stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful but the room is ugly and uninviting. Luckily the location on Lygon street is a short stroll to cafes, which is just as well because you wouldn't want to stay in the room too long!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattlx m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed for one night
... the good - location and free parking. Friendly staff on check in. good maps and local information in the rooms. Room was well priced ($139) and could sleep 4.
... the bad - an unlocked courtyard door which I only discovered when settling to bed after being out for a while. Unflushed toilet paper upon my arrival and no UHT milk in fridge, although teabags etc provided.
... the ugly - a long, black hair resting in between the sheets when I turned the covers back. Carpet is worn and well past it's prime.

Would I stay again ... probably not as there's lots of other accommodation options close by

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank KerryandTheGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#157 of 161 in Melbourne
87 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#117 of 161 in Melbourne
140 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Arrow On Swanston
#131 of 161 in Melbourne
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne

Address: 700 Lygon St, Melbourne, Victoria 3054, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £62 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments on Lygon has 22 apartments that all include fully equipped Kitchens for self-catering, and they're spacious enough for you to feel very comfortable during your stay. Appointed with modern furnishings and a touch of the local culture, you have the choice of 1 or 2 bedrooms and most of the apartments have a private balcony or courtyard. Unlike many other Melbourne accommodation places, car parking is on-site and included in the tariff - there is even enough space to park a mini bus if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Apartments On Lygon - Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Residence Apartments On Lygon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing