We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Armenian with a twist”
Review of Sezar

Sezar
Reserve with
Sezar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 4,029 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Armenian flavours incorporated into modern cooking methods and ingredients to create an innovative Melbourne restaurant serving New Armenian Cuisine. We cater for - corporate lunches - large groups - functions - special occasion dining - romantic dinners - casual meals - dietary requirements
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Armenian with a twist”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went with a group from work on the Banquets menu. AMAZING food. Everything from the entree to the dessert. the Lamb was amazing. I highly recommend the Pomegranate Chicken wings, they are amazing, couldn't get enough

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flicknewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    161
    35
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3,628 reviews
980 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 698 helpful votes
“A Good Restaurant With a Difference”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Sezar is an Armenian restaurant and provides as you might expect modern Armenian food with a Mediterranean influence. The food was excellent; very well -presented and tasty as you might expect from the sous Chef from Ezard Restaurant. Sezar provided small, medium and large plates however we stuck to the small and medium to get a broad range of tastes. Wine prices were reasonable and the range adequate. This has a taps menu and will become popular although it was quiet at lunch. An enjoyable place for a lunch with a difference.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing flavours”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was a fantastic, flavoursome meal, with so many winners on the menu.
Service was attentive, good wine list and we made informed meal choices, the waiter was very helpful and attentive.
I highly recommend Sezar, a great find, in a little tucked away corner of a laneway.
But, oh wow, the food....................fantastic!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Armenian food reinvented”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband's Armenian mother was a master of her cultural cuisine, so visiting this chic Armenian restaurant in Melbourne was in effect throwing down the culinary gauntlet. Michael's acid test is always, "is it as good as Mum's?" Well. There really is no way to compare the gastronomical delights of this restaurant with good ole home cooking. No disrespect to Mum, but each dish at Sezar was made with skill, technique and very good ingredients. We can happily recommend everything. We started with dips, which were delicious, but the real magic happens with the more adventurous dishes. For starters we had the borek (unbelievable!), bbq shiitake mushrooms with haloumi and grape leaves, and grain salad. For mains we had the melt-in-your-mouth pork ribs and (for our vegetarian daughter) the bbq eggplant. The waitress recommended the zucchini and dill fritters for a side and she was quite right, delicate and flavoursome. We topped it off with baklava like we've never seen, and waddled out of the restaurant feeling very contented. It was a really great experience. Sorry Mum.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OzCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sezar also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Sezar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing