We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, a bit noisy, spa was dubious”
Review of Glenferrie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenferrie Hotel
Ranked #123 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here for a few nights ... very convenient for Swinburne, not bad for Melbourne CBD since the train is only a few streets away (Its a 10 min ride in).

My room was right above the pub in the same building. It was loud but not intolerable - I have good earplugs.

Free wifi was a plus in principle but the signal was weak and it occasionally cut out. And that's only one floor up were the signal is supposed to be good. (C'mon guys adding new wifi access points is cheap!)

Breakfast was fairly basic ... meusli, toast etc.

I liked the idea of the spa bath (jacuzzi to N. Americans), but the first night it didnt work at all, and then when it did a bit of "scum" came out of the jets ... hmmmm.

I liked the room furnishings and size of the room was good.

Reception open limited hours so check-in/check-out a pain.

Room Tip: First floor for wifi but not facing street ...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-OWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Glenferrie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

Great local pub that has all the required facilities for well priced drinks and decent pub grub. The hotel itself has won awards for its quality and I would recommend this establishment for the former, based on my regular visits to the bar. Ahem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bezukhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

It's in a cool neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and cafes. The rooms have been refurbed within last few years. The beds are nice. The tv's are good sized flat screens. The rooms are spacious. Even though the refurb is newish it is still a bit rough around the edges and doesn't have the polished feel of a proper hotel. It is above a pub so some nights there is some noise. I was quite happy with it though as it suited my purpose well. I like being near a selection of cafes and restaurants and I want a decent room but it doesn't have to be perfect. Minimal service here too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pleasantjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Friday, 25th Feb. after reading the great reviews written on the outside of Glenferrie we decided to have lunch in the outdoor garden. The only good thing I can say is that the service was good. The area was shabby with no atmosphere, stacked chairs and unswept floors. The rare to medium rump was very charcoaled on the outside ruining the flavour. The music was loud and irritating. Maybe it more of a night place!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel while visiting our son at Swinburne University. Location is very convenient, campus is only a block or two away and the train station is the same distance. It is definitely an older hotel, but very well taken care of. They have done a major renovation of the downstairs pub and installed flat screen TVs in the guest rooms. The rooms are not fancy, but are clean and serve their purpose. The food in the pub is very good and reasonably priced. Everyone that works there is friendly and wanting to ensure a good visit. Wifi is free with strong signal in lobby, but cannot connect in 2nd floor rooms. No elevator so be prepared to carry bags up the stairs, but hotel staff is willing to help. Free parking is available at the back of the hotel. Although I had initial misgivings at check in, after staying for 4 days I would definitely recommend this hotel if you need lodging in this part of Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sba001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Room decent but had leaking toilet, breakfast was packet of cereal and toast - very ordinary.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrokeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2008

With my girlfriend and I living on opposite sides of the state, we decided to meet in Melbourne for a 2 day getaway to spend some time with each other. Both being Uni students, I booked the Glenferrie Hotel through wotif.com due to it looking like a decent, affordable place to stay in, and that's what it was. The room was EXCELLENT, i must emphasize that, King Size Bed, huge plasma tv, spa, 2 sofas, I'm used to staying at Novotel with my family, and this room was as good, if not better than that, being extremely spacious. The bloke working at the reception was really helpful and friendly. The hotel is very close to safeway and many restaurants if you need anything. The only downsides of the hotel was the fact you have to walk through the cafe to get to the reception, which is annoying if you just want to pick something up at safeway etc, as you have to walk past everyone dining. The hotels pub is real popular, and there was quite alot of noise coming from there at night even though we were on the top floor, though being students we're used to the noise and would usually be down there too. Also, the car park is extremely dodgy, probably the worst thing about the place, as its really just a few parking space painted on the ground beneath a building, its very open and the cars could be easily broken into. Other than that, I highly recommend the place, and I would most definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickKoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#120 of 160 in Melbourne
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
134 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#111 of 160 in Melbourne
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenferrie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenferrie Hotel

Address: 324 Burwood Road, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#102 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £79 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenferrie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenferrie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenferrie Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing