We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
Reviewed 6 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MelS377
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I recently booked two nights at the new Sebel Docklands. I booked a 1 bedroom executive apartment, the description of which stated "Harbourside apartments with MARINA VIEWS". After checking in to this tiny apartment, albeit nice and new, I opened the curtains from both the lounge and bedroom to see my "marina views" only to see the back of a dingy building in the street opposite. If I went out onto the balcony and craned my neck left I did get somewhat of a view of the boats. I took photos of my actual view and to reception. Only to be told I didnt pay for the next level up, which actually did have views? Hmmm, I tried over and over again to explain, what part of "MARINA VIEWS" the description written on their website did she not understand. A view is something that when you open your curtains you see, not by hanging your head off the balcony and craning your neck. I ended up only staying the one night. Very disappointing for the price poing. SEBEL, you need to update your website to reflect your rooms and IF they have views or not. I paid good money and I was deceived! Would love to hear back from the Manager, as this false advertising is not good.

Room Tip: You need to call the hotel to check if the stated view really does have a view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank berwickkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was an establishment we thought carefully about and the one overall plus in its favour (looking at all the Trip Advisor postings) was its location. In Melbourne for the Ashes Series at the MCG, location was of paramount importance and this really delivered - in bucketfuls. Two minutes' walk to the free city circle tram, we thought we would have to catch another tram to the MCG. But no need as another tram went past our apartments right to the MCG. As well, our apartment was well appointed - full kitchen, one separate bedroom and en suite, wonderfully clean with magnificent views over the harbour. New Year's Eve was spectacular viewing from our private balcony to say the least. A multitude of restaurants were at our door step. Reception on our arrival was second to none. The young man who checked us in was so helpful and even wheeled our suitcases (himself) to our unit and we can't speak highly enough of him. Condor building (Apart 1206, 12th floor) would be hard to beat. Should we ever be lucky enough to return to this lovely city, Docklands Grand Mercure Apartments will be our first choice for accommodation. Many thanks for making our holiday such a memorable one.

Room Tip: Apart 1206 - gorgeous sun in the afternoon and wonderful views of the harbour.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

When we looked at staying at the Grand Mercure Docklands, We thought what a beautiful hotel and didn't mind paying $247 per night, BUT what we saw on their web page was nothing like what we got when we arrived there. 1-The single room was tucked down the end of the building with a great view of a concrete pad outside our window NOT the harbour views we were told we would have. 2- The lounge suite was a 2 seater that came off the ark and was that uncomfortable that I had to roll off it and land on my knees on the floor because it was that low. 3- The rooms were serviced once every seven days. 4- NO toilet rolls were left and we had 2 to last us the 7 days we were there, So we had to buy our own. 5- NOT once did we see any member of the staff except for when we checked in. 6- We were greeted in the foyer of our complex with the worst smell of rubbish that it made use feel sick.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

On walking through the door we were welcomed with one of the most picture perfect scenes. On of those postcard ones where you can not believe they are real. The view only started our holiday as the room was just great and service was could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over New Year for a short getaway with my wife. We found the apartment which was upgraded from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom to be quite spacious and comfortable with full cooking facilities and the luxury of Foxtel. We had a balcony with a view looking over Docklands Drive, not the best view but this wasn't a major problem. We do however have a few criticisms. Firstly, the bed was uncomfortable (being a 4.5 star property we would have expected better), secondly the apartment wasn't the cleanest (scuff marks on walls, dust, some mould in bathroom and a dirty balcony) and lastly we felt the rooms were overpriced. We understand prices go up over peak periods etc but felt what we paid was a little excessive as well as paying for parking on top. Overall, we had a pleasant and relaxing stay and would stay here again but not at the same price we paid!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hubby83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Absolutely disappointed for the money that you pay.My wife and i regularly have weekends away and book online, being new years eve we thought it would be great to stay at docklands for the fireworks.
Upon entering our room we were greeted with a ghastly unknown odour. The room was dirty with stains on the carpet and walls even the bedside tables were covered with stains.The bed sheets were also dirty.Upon looking we found the odour came from where the washing machine and dryer were situated, opening these doors the smell was terrible causing me to dry reach. The bathroom basin and bathtub had hair and gunk in there and tiles were mouldy absolutely disgusting,that was enough for my wife and i to make the decision to request a full refund.
The photos shown on the website totally misrepresent the actual rooms ,they are outdated and in this case filthy and unkept, not the modern clean spacious rooms portrayed. Just be wary of booking online!
Only positive i have to say is the professionalism of Andrew who i believe was the manager . He was very apologetic who offered and gave us a full refund without hesitation . All in all a very unpleasant experience and definitely not worth the money they charge !!!!

Room Tip: maybe better option is to call and speak to someone and actually ask what the rooms are actually lik...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#56 of 160 in Melbourne
694 reviews
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Docklands
Accent Accommodation at Docklands
Docklands
Apartments at Docklands
Apartments at Docklands
#42 of 144 in Melbourne
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands

Address: 18 Aquitania Way | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Melbourne Docklands)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £96 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sebel Residences Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing