We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem of a place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Centre Budget Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Centre Budget Hotel
Ranked #111 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real gem of a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

I stayed in this little hotel for around 3 weeks in Feb/March 2011 and the experience i had here was fantastic. Excellent value for money when compared to the local hostels (a couple of which i also stayed at for a day or so at the beginning of my trip). Quiet, relaxing, friendly and with very helpful staff, i really couldn't fault it at all. It even had a decent sized fridge in the rooms so a trip to the excellent victoria market (~15 mins easy walk) could sustain you for days! Showers and toilets were shared but for the price that is perhaps to be expected. The roof garden was an enjoyable place to read but the hotel is also within 5 mins walk from the gardens by the parliament building, so that is a double bonus if you're out for a touch of peace and quiet.

Highly recommended for the more mature traveller who does not wish for the bustle of a hostel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blanche78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    99
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
55
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel in February and are absolutely impressed with the politeness of the reception, their friendly manner and wish to do all their best that you enjoy staying there. Internet was also very good, high speed and easy access system. We highly recommend it for those who keeps their budget low and still wants something nice right in the city centre!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostOstrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

My friends and I booked a room here last weekend, as we were attending a 21st and had decided to stay locally.
The man on the phone knew nothing about taking bookings, as he accepted our reservation without asking for a name OR contact number, which we supplied him anyway. We repeated many times what we were after, a room for four, and the reservation was made. We arrived at the hotel only to have the night managers refuse us the room that they had promised us, because of their own miscommunication. A discussion ensued where we tried to get them to rectify their mistake and provide us with lodgings, as agreed, we would even pay cash in advance, but they called the police on us. We asked to speak to the actual manager, but he refused saying we should come back in the morning to speak to him. We were left with no alternative but to troll the streets looking for other accommodation, which at 3am in the morning is no easy feat.
Oh and I'll also mention... While we were waiting for the police to arrive, a patron of the "hotel" came down to tell the managers that his room hadn't been cleaned from the previous occupants, whereby the manager said "Oh, I meant to do that" and disappeared upstairs.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dromac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

This hotel delivers exactly what you expect, and they do it well.

Clean shared bathrooms, ample hot water, a kettle in your room - everything was fantastic. The beds were very comfy.

The city is a noisy place to be, and as a result of that I kept getting woken up by noisy happenings on the street - road works and garbage trucks and so forth. But I think that's par for the course in a big city, and have certainly experienced that in private residences there too.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzmuso7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

I reckon they mistakenly left out the 's' when naming this 'hotel'. Paid for a single but got a twin, complete with a fridge, a kettle, and two cups. What, no spoon!?! The shared bathrooms were clean, but hostel like. The reception was friendly, and very hostel like. THe entrance is disguised as a car park (I walked by it), and yes, very hostel like.

The rooms away from the street all seem to face each other, so my view was my neighbour 3 meters across the court yard. Luckily I could choose to hide in the bed by the wall, otherwise it's curtains drawn for privacy.

The wifi was hit-or-miss, but there's a lovely coffee shop across the street (Cafe Excello?).

Great location, near the great free tram line, and minutes from the shopping and nightlife areas. Good value for the centre of a big city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurfMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We arrived into Melbourne at the start of the Melbourne open and were only able to stay one night otherwise we would of def stayed longer. It was spotlessly clean and v comfortable and v good value for money. The 2 chaps at reception (sorry I didn't get your names if you are reading this) was extremely helpful and went out of his way to assist us. This is a fantastic place to stay and we can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiestar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

This is a great place to stay, if you go in expecting a budget hotel experience.

The staff are friendly, the rooms and bathrooms are clean, the location is great. But it is a budget hotel, nothing flash or fancy about it.

A nice and comfy place to stay, just be ware that the walls are pretty thin, so remember to pack those ear plugs!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kallalouSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#130 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#146 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#128 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Property: City Centre Budget Hotel
Address: 22 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing