We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good CBD bolt hole”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Centre Budget Hotel
Ranked #118 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Wondai, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good CBD bolt hole”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this little hotel. Very clean, comfortable and very economical. I paid $75 for a single room which contained a double bed. Close to trams, eateries and shopping. The Sheraton is directly across the road. I had a street room on the second floor but double glazing kept the road noise out. Other noisy guests returning late were the only real downside. I can recommend if you are staying a short time and just want somewhere to sleep.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    102
    54
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
56
56
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place has potential. Great location right next to a tram stop for the free tourist tram. Up the road is a great, cheap cafe for breakfast and lunch. About twenty minutes walk from Cbd. This place is like a step up from a hostel. TV, fridge and kettle in the bedroom. Needs new carpets,bathrooms, paint. Free wifi is good and two computers. It's up two big flights if stairs which is ok if you have small luggage but an elevator would really help. I also happened to break my foot while walking around the city while staying here. The receptionists were pretty unhelpful and uncaring, never asked about me and wouldn't move me to the first floor when we asked to switch floors. I'm sure someone would have traded rooms if asked to switch with the girl on crutches. Otherwise fine, I would stay here again for the price and location.

Room Tip: Ask for the newest room possible or for a room that's pictured on the website as they don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGal8927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you're looking for affordable budget accommodation in the heart of the city, with lots of cafes nearby and a stone's throw away from the MRT - this is it.

Surrounded by bigger, luxury hotels, this hidden jem is certainly well-placed for travellers to explore the surroundings on foot.

If you're travelling with a group of friends, it's recommended to book the Studio Suite with ensuite bathroom - it's more worth it (economies of scale) and you have privacy when using the bathroom.

Not that there is anything wrong with the shared bathroom. On the contrary, the bathrooms are clean, spacious and during our time there, we hardly see more than 2 souls using the bathroom at the same time as us.

Only downside is that the lane where the hotel is situated tend to see groups of youngsters congregating at night, partying and laughing.

Otherwise, negative feedback? None.

I am planning to stay here again with another group of friends in May 2014.

Book the studio suite early as it is always sold out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuschial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a good, cheap hotel in a good location. I had a very clean and well presented room with a comfortable bed for my one night stay. The window was double glazed and I had a good nights sleep. Consider this place if you're venturing into Melbourne for a short stay.

Room Tip: some rooms face onto a small courtyard in the centre of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chooka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

City Centre Budget is a good hotel to stay in if you are looking for cheap, central accommodation.

PROS:
- 100M to Parliament Station
- Cheap (we paid $79.00 per night for a double room)
- There is a rooftop terrace where you can get some fresh air or have a few drinks
- 100M to the top of Bourke Street
- Clean rooms
- Good comfy beds
- A cute little café right outside the front door that does great coffee

CONS:
- Shared showers/Toilet (alternatively there is ensuite rooms for a little extra but make sure you bring a pair of thongs if you use the shared showers)
- No aircon (we have stayed in summer and it is surprisingly not that bad!)
- The hotel building is right next to a car park, if you are on the left side of the building it can be a bit bright at night
- No elevator, so take the stairs, probably not that convenient for people with young children

Overall, you get what you pay for. I have stayed here about 5 or 6 times while visiting Melbourne. I would recommend to some people and I wouldn't recommend to some others. It is a personal decision to where you stay and on your budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieLee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Booked for three nights in a double room shared bathroom.

The hotel is in a good location on the Spring St end of Little Collins St. Rooms are well priced, look good, but no aircon - only a pedestal fan. Lucky for me, Melbourne was in a 'cool patch' and I didn't have to endure the room in 40 deg days.

My room was number 33 and located on the western side of the building above a laneway. Down the laneway were a number of bars and cafes. During the night there were constantly glass bottles being emptied, people loudly leaving bars, and of course the next morning, garbage trucks emptying the bigger bins of the glasses. All up, the windowed needed to be open because of no aircon, and this meant a very broken nights sleep. It may be worthwhile for the rooms along that side of the hotel to seal the windows closed, and put in a aircon.

The shared bathrooms were fine. Clean and private enough. The noise from other rooms was none and the TV and mini bar fridge in the room were very good.

For those coming from the airport, you can get the SkyBus from Southern Cross Station to the Windsor Hotel which is around the corner and a short walk.

Overall, a hotel with a very good location, good rates and clean. Only, but major, downside was the noise. Its a shame that its coming from their neighbours, but such is inner city locales and they should modify their rooms to minimise the noise.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms numbered 32 to 36 for the noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrissieTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I came over here from Perth where I had been staying in a range of 2-3 star hotels which were all were very good and much cheaper than this place. To say I was shocked with the standard would be an understatement. This establishment is really a cross between a hotel and a hostel so be warned.

Firstly having no en-suite bathroom when you are paying a 3 figure sum per night is unbelieveable and unacceptable. The room I booked was not ready or had been given away so I ended up in a "family room" which was very small. The room did not get cleaned once in 3 days. There was a perpetual smell of mould and age that just didn't go away. There was no aircon unit in the room even though the temperature was 44 degrees and the fan on the floor was basically useless in that kind of heat. When I did use the shared bathroom there was old underwear and used towels strewn around on the floor. There was no complimentary tea or coffee or any toiletry of any kind. Does that sound as if it's worth $100 a night?


The only real positives were the city center location and the free wifi but frankly that would not persuade me to stay here again under any circumstances.

Cannot recommend this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 981Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,157 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#108 of 160 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#139 of 160 in Melbourne
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#148 of 160 in Melbourne
603 reviews
Chinatown
The Exford Hotel
The Exford Hotel
#141 of 160 in Melbourne
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Property: City Centre Budget Hotel
Address: 22 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing