We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passable for those on a budget, but you could do better for a little bit more.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Centre Budget Hotel
Ranked #116 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Passable for those on a budget, but you could do better for a little bit more.”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

There is one thing that is undeniably excellent about the City Centre Budget Hotel, and that is its location. It's just opposite the parliament building on Spring St, and thus also right around the corner from Parliament Station and the Fitzroy Gardens. You can even walk up to the cafes and restaurants in Lygon St in about twenty minutes, if that's your fancy, or take a tram to the other side of the city, or stroll on over to Flinders St. Station to take a train out to the suburbs. The place is in a wonderful location, therefore, if you are on a budget and want to stay in a place that is genuinely in the heart of the city without having to share a room.

The rooms themselves are pretty utilitarian. They usually have a bed, two chairs and a table, a fan, a refrigerator, and an ancient TV. Still, whenever I've checked in, they have been freshly cleaned and I have no problem with them from that aspect. They have free wireless internet, which had improved greatly in speed and reliability between my first and second visits. There are also two communal computers upstairs if you don't have a laptop with you. The two British guys who run the place are honest and genuinely helpful. They seem to have a found a nice little niche. They are also tough on people who party or are noisy in the establishment (a necessary step, as the walls are pretty thin).

Here are the drawbacks. There is no air conditioning. For me, that wasn't a problem, as the weather in Melbourne was hot but not humid, and I was there to escape the northern winter anyway. The biggest issue for most people will be the communal bathrooms. They do clean them every day, but the bathrooms themselves are very, very old and, while they work just fine, they are in need of renovation. During this second visit the showers were getting a bit of a face-lift. Still, it's never great having to share bathrooms, but you know that's how it is going to be up front. I'm also kind of bemused by their cleaning policy. They allow you to change towels only every four days. They will clean your room and change the linen only every seven days. Especially when there's no air-conditioning, that could get rather ripe!

Whether or not you stay here is really a matter of what you're willing to trade off for a low price. Do the excellent location, low rates, and free internet make up for the run-down, communal bathrooms, utilitarian rooms, and self-service cleaning policy? That's really a matter of individual taste and resources. I have stayed here twice and found it tolerable both times, but I don't think I'd do it again. For about only thirty dollars a night more, I can find deals on other places in downtown Melbourne that are far more luxurious and comfortable. Still, that cost gap does add up quickly, and none of the alternatives have free wifi...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vernaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    99
    52
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
55
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We arrived in Melbourne and unfortaunatley couldn't stay here because it was fully booked so stay somewhere else and moved here on the second day. Its a brilliant hotel for the price and i couldn't find better. The price was better than alot of the hostels and so much nicer than staying in a hostel. Rooms are small but everything you need in it plus room to move. Plently of showers so never have to wait and they were always clean. The bloke on reception is really helpful and friendly and the location is fab. Defo stay here, oh and it has free internet which is great!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

The name of the hotel says it all. You will enjoy staying here if:

(1) You're expectations are reasonable (ie, you're not expecting the Ritz);
(2) You're prepared for a communal bathroom;
(3) You're traveling on a budget.

I shared a double room with my partner for three nights this month. Here are my thoughts. I'll start with the positives:

(1) The front desk staff (I dealt with two different men, both from the UK) were extremely friendly and helpful;
(2) The room was clean and the bed was comfortable;
(3) The location couldn't be more central, on Little Collins Street;
(4) On the rooftop, there's a kitchenette with laundry facilities, microwave, stovetop, and cutlery;
(5) Free internet (you might have to stand in line, but hey, patience never killed anyone!)

Here are what could be classified as the "negatives". These need to be viewed in light of the low price (particularly given the central location). This hotel doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is, which I respect. But you need to be prepared for:

(1) Shared showering and toilet facilities;
(2) Flights of stairs (my partner and I are fit and healthy, so this didn't bother us);
(3) Rooms aren't cleaned daily. I believe it is done every four days;
(4) The rooms are very small. They're obviously meant for adventurous types who view their rooms as a "launching pad" rather than a "base of operations".

I'd like to thank the guys at Melbourne's City Centre Budget Hotel for a wonderful stay.

I would recommend this hotel for adventurous types, backpackers, or travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budafudawuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location - right beside a tram stop and walking distance from a selection of attractions. Fridge in the room which was very useful in the heat. Free internet - always good. Rooms are a reasonable size - no wardrobe but hooks on the back of the door for hanging your stuff on. Allowed us to leave our luggage there all day after we had checked out - and we were able to check in early. It was great!! Not that quiet because its near some restaurants so the bin lorries were noisy but I'd rather have clean streets!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Yes its a budget hotel aiming at backpackers and solo travelers and for that pupose it does the job, just about. My recent visit last month was for one night although we'd booked for 5. One was enough! The room was clean but small, had no airconditioning, so was very warm at night. It was clutterd with needless furniture, 2 tables and 2 chairs and a fridge!? but no wardrobe which would have been useful. The room looked out onto an enclosed courtyard and was pretty depressing all round.

The shared bathrooms are pretty grotty. Not very clean and very old and tired. There are seperate ones for men and women, but i used the women's which were marginally better than the men's.

The location is good and the staff were very nice and helpful but come on guys the place is a bit of a tip! Its pretty much full every night, how about spending some of that money on some aircon and updating those awful bathrooms? We stayed in the YHA in Brisbane which was a delight. Clean, modern and with aircon! SORT IT OUT! I wouldn't go back and i wouldn't recommend it, unless your desperate.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheInquisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Tasmania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Chose the hotel as it was one of very few in Melbourne that didn't raise prices through the roof over AFL Grand Final weekend. Great location, close proximity to CBD and trains/trams for journeys further out. Friendly and knowledgable staff.

Was exactly as expected, probably better. Well described on website. Basic but adequate rooms, great for solo traveller may have been a bit cramped with two people and two lots of luggage, although I believe there are larger rooms than the one i had. Internet provisions were handy. If you are looking for a social, meet and greet type, budget/backpackers maybe look elswhere as there was a lack of social area. Although during summer the rooftop area may be more lively.

Shared bathrooms were clean and plentiful enough that you didnt have to wait for showers. Rooftop kitchen was adequately equipped for basic meal preparation. Laundry facilities on roof also modern and adequate.

Overall, great budget option. If you're like me and dont spend too much time in your hotel room on trips then it is perfect. Bed, shower, kitchen, helpful staff, if that's all you need, book in!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tassaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were very friendly and easy going, although the rooms were quite small if you have a lot of luggage, ours was very comfortable with a tv, bar fridge and a gas heater which was more than adequate for the chilly nights. On the second floor there are two computers with internet also a plug in for people with their own laptops. There is sunroof where a very basic but very adequate kitchen and washing machine and dryer to use at a minimum price is also situated. We chose this hotel as it was very affordable and a central base to visit family and friends and also have a break away, and were very happy with our choice of accomodation. Everything is in walking distance with a free city circle tram just outside the door. My son and i felt like we were at home away from home and would like to congratulate the owners, office staff and cleaners for a top budget job. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
376 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
1,121 reviews
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#137 of 158 in Melbourne
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#148 of 158 in Melbourne
590 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#133 of 158 in Melbourne
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Property: City Centre Budget Hotel
Address: 22 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing