We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #31 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was my third visit to Melbourne (stayed at Central Apartments and Mercure on my last visits) I picked up a good deal on Hotelclub for this hotel and was a little worried to stay here due to it being a little further away from Bourke Street as we planned on doing A LOT of shopping on this trip however my worries were not necessary, our 3 night stay was excellent.

The superior double room was spacious and very clean, the reception and staff members we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful and it was just an overall very good stay.

The location was good for us as we are the kind of travelers who like to be able to walk to most places we need to go and we could this from this location. It was 5-10 minute walk from everywhere we visited and it was on a quiet part of Little Collins.

We will definitely be back! Thank you Sheraton for a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kpirrello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal_Philp, General Manager at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Kpirrello,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are pleased to hear your recent 3 night stay was enjoyable. It’s wonderful to see you took advantage of our location and all of Melbourne’s great shopping spots. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and trust your stay will be as memorable as the last.
Warm Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    252
    57
    32
    12
See reviews for
133
295
60
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

New, well located, very convenient and comfortable strolling distance to almost everywhere in downtown Melbourne. Free city circle tram is 2 minutes' walk away. Chinatown is 3 minutes' walk away. Melbourne Central shops are 5 - 10 minutes' walk away.

Small unobtrusive (almost a little too unobtrusive) entrance and front. All staff very helpful and courteous. Well-appointed rooms, if not just a little smaller than expected (more like Asian hotel size rooms, eg Hong Kong). Nice bathrooms/showers, with a touch of resort to it (the full glass separating wall, so that if you feel like it, you can stare out the room window straight through from your bathtub!)

SPG and Starwood Privilege membership allowed us free wifi, which was reliable and fast enough for my wife to handle work internet calls.

Special mention must be made of the restaurant, where buffet breakfast is served. Not an overwhelming variety of foods, but what is there is fresh, hot, tasty, appetising (did I mention fresh?). The coffee is to die for - one of the BEST lattes I have ever tasted (and I drink lots of coffee, all round the world!)

My family and I will be quite happy to stay at the Melbourne Sheraton again the next time we visit Melbourne. Good work!

Room Tip: Away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlee2067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal_Philp, General Manager at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear dlee2067,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our great location on the Paris End of Little Collins Street. We are especially pleased to hear you enjoyed our signature restaurant Little Collins St Kitchen, your feedback has been passed on with great pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon and trust your stay will be as memorable as the last.
Warm Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very clean. Great location with easy walks to shops and cafés. Helpful welcoming staff. Great food. Will definitely stay again. Had complementary WiFi which was high speed. Good city views. Only criticism is that I would have wanted brighter lighting in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adedoyin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal_Philp, General Manager at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Adedoyin O,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay, from our welcoming staff to our convenient Melbourne CBD location. Your feedback regarding our lighting has been passed on to the Engineering Department for careful review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warn Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Overall, it was a delight to stay in a new hotel where nearly everything work well. It should have been a 5 star rating, but we were very disappointed by our king deluxe room. Firstly, it was opposed the lifts with "much pinging" during the night, Secondly, our view was awful with that of a black building less than 8 metres away. This meant that we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time. The bath had a ceiling to wall window with an external building in close proximity. What was the architect thinking off. Thirdly, we were supposed to have a separate toilet, which did not exist. The restaurant provided a very pleasant dinner, but unless you are on business expenses, $40 each for the buffet breakfast is somewhat steep for a party of three persons. The café on the corner gave you change out of $50!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meikant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal_Philp, General Manager at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear meikant,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are pleased to see your stay was enjoyable. We welcome all feedback and your comments have been passed on to the restaurant for careful review. We hope you do stay with us again to make up for your not so pleasant experience.
Warm Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Firstly the positives: brilliant location, helpful staff, stunning new rooms and a great breakfast. Perfect for walking to the shopping, and a number of great bars and restaurants.

The negatives: very few but if I had to pick up on one thing is that it lacks a decent 'all weather' bar. They have an outside bar but in the middle of Winter that was closed. And the Little Collins Street Kitchen isn't really design as a bar. And that buffet breakfast was $40 per person. Which is wildly expensive for how much you can actually eat, even though it was good.

Would we stay there again? Possibly. I just might find somewhere with a great hotel bar too next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal_Philp, General Manager at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Simon D,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and you were able to experience our signature restraint Little Collins St Kitchen. Your feedback on our breakfast prices has been passed on to the restaurant for careful review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warn Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabadell, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely new hotel. Everything in it feels new. Beds were amazing, probably the comfiest I have ever slept in. Cooked breakfast was very good, but they really need to work on their pastries, which fell well short of a 5 star hotel. Also, the swimming pool has been badly desinged and can only really fit 1 person in doing lenghts, which is a real shame, as it is a lovely pool. But otherwise this place was excellent.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal_Philp, General Manager at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear jo m,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are pleased your recent stay with us was restful and enjoyable thanks to our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds. Your feedback regarding our pastries has been passed on to the kitchen crew for careful review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Warm Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel was wonderful. The location is great, easy to walk around downtown. The room was clean, well appointed with a nice bath and shower. The internet was a bit pricey (A$5 for an hour, A$20 for a day) and not so fast, but otherwise I have no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlTravelerEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal_Philp, General Manager at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear IntlTravelerEG,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience Melbourne through our convenient CBD location. Your feedback regarding our internet connection has been passed on to our IT department for careful review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Warm Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 159 in Melbourne
1,938 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
1,484 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,605 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#7 of 159 in Melbourne
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Melbourne Hotel

Property: Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Address: 27 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Melbourne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to the Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, where you'll find everything you need for a memorable business trip or leisure stay. Our neighbourhood has it all. We're located at the Paris end of the Central Business District, offering easy access to dynamic shopping, nightlife, and sporting venues, including the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing