We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TINY HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
Ranked #146 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TINY HOTEL”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I went to Melbourne for work and I booked this hotel as the pictures online looked okay,
to my surprise the hotel rooms were TINY! a lot smaller than what was online.

We requested the room not to be serviced and it was serviced. The items left of the bed were missing and when we went down to the reception the answer we got was "sorry nothing we can do about it"

Terrible. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    187
    115
    73
    126
See reviews for
72
232
105
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was my first experience of Melbourne and I requested a refund after 1 night and finally checked out after the 2nd night. Here's why:

The bad:
=======

Internet access (and you pay for it) is terrible with a Speedtest coming in at 0.5mbps on the download and upload so keeping in touch with family via Skype is a no no.

The hotel advertises a gym and I enquired beforehand about this and there is no gym.

The breakfast consists of sloppy scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, breads, cereals and fruit. I guess it's adequate but the restaurants around in Melbourne are quite good so you don't want to limit yourself to filling up on crap.

The good:
=======

Cheap accommodation

The okay:
=======

Front desk aren't as absent as what other reviews make them out to be. If they're not around, you simply ring the bell and they come out.

Front desk aren't as knowledgeable and seems rather dazed like marijuana has just been legalized in Melbourne.

The location (despite what locales tell me) isn't as bad. The area isn't as seedy as what they make it out to be. In fact it's not seedy at all - perhaps Australians have very high standards.

The area is known to be in the vicinity of strip and night clubs so drunken laughter can be heard from time to time.

Room Tip: The area is known to be in the vicinity of strip and night clubs so drunken laughter can be heard fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rgdacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Slacks Creek, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Rooms are small but extremely well looked after. Very clean. Ideal for short holiday if out most of time. Close to all that Melbourne has to offer....transport, shops,parks. One problem ..reception slow to respond but staff have to multitask it seems. Need more staff. Enjoyable stay. Forget breakfast though!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed there for 5 nights, extremely poor service. Reception has no one all the time even if you ring the service bell. Housekeeper won't wash your cups, won't refill toiletries, if you ask for something, get down to the lobby to get it. Dim lighting, spoiled table lamp, I met 5 hotel employees and 4 of them are extremely rude.

Ensure that you ring the service bell until someone attends to you during check out, do not use the express check out where you just leave your room card in an envelope. I was charged an unknown fee after my trip.

Tourists like us didn't know that King Street is red district. Location is fine, hotel is terrible.

Room Tip: Terrible hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank koshpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed just one night with my sister. Good location not too far from town and within walking distance of sky bus terminal. Comfy bed, good heating. Had free breakfast the next day which was also good. Wouldn't recommend anymore than a weekend stay, rooms are quite small. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlishaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Lousiest place to live. Nobody at reception ever.pathetic rooms.bathrooms,lousy,u can hardly stand there.breakfast service,the lousiest ever seen,managed by an old,arrogant woman.
Overall,a depressing experience.
STAY AWAY from this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Shahbaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! The boss is a rude arrogant PIG. The majority of the staff are slow and stupid. Rooms are a disgrace. Worst hotel I have been to. And I've travelled 42 countries. Stay clear of this S$&@ hole. Stay on the street instead. It will be cleaner and more pleasant

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Aggotts2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#137 of 159 in Melbourne
237 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
1,149 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#101 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#133 of 159 in Melbourne
584 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#116 of 159 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 159 in Melbourne
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Property: Hotel Sophia
Address: 277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing