We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #90 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed in 1 Bd suite on the 9th floor for 3 nites, average hotel with the rooms needing to be freshed up( ie the lounge/with the pull out bed was old and very uncomportable to in). Great location, which is very central to the CBD. They also have serve a nice full buffet breakfast for just $16.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market. We are pleased that you found the location of the hotel convenient and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    545
    214
    79
    41
See reviews for
213
351
82
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked an appartment as part of a Grand Prix package and it looked sleek and fantastic from the website.
It's in a great location and I have to say the huge bed was incredible. Hard to get out of in the morning. The room was modern and adequate - it wasn't an appartment, more a room with a kitchen.
So, it's a shame they do everything on the cheap. It's not a budget hotel, but it felt like everything had been stripped back to save money. There were meagre supplies of dreadful tea and coffee. No mini-bar, no ironing board and absolutely no hotel information in the room. The towels are old and scratchy and the paintwork in the bathroom was patchy. Also the wi-fi is pricey but you can't use it in the rooms - only the lobby. It was all a bit disappointing and we found the staff perfunctory and pretty unhelpful.
We were looking forward to using the spa facilities but the jacuzzi was cold (seriously!). The pool is pretty good - big enough for laps. And warmer than the spa!
By and large the place is fine, but if you are looking for something special, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your recent comments on your stay at Oaks on Market. We are sorry to read that there were elements of your stay that you were not satisfied with. We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable beds and hope we can welcome you back again next year for the Grand Prix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel recently. Decided to have a shower after a full day of meetings before dinner. Run the bath and the water looked like it had bee dragged out of the Yarra. Emptied it out thinking maybe no one has had a bath for a while. Second bath exactly the same. Complained to the front desk. House staff came and had a look at bath took a photo and left.
No phone call back no explanation no apology and charged price at checkout.
Found out later water had been off for a couple of hours.
It would have been nice for them to have responded to my complaint and provide an explanation but no such luck.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for commenting on your stay at Oaks on Market. We apologise that our staff did not follow through with an explanation as to your shower but we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The first thing that struck me when I walked into my room was how large it was, being self catered apartments you expect a bit bigger room but this one was really spacious. The bed was a king so plenty of room to spread out, the fittings were good without being great. The bathroom was clean and modern, the only issue here was that the lighting in the bathroom was not as bright as it could be but this was not a great hassle as there was a large mirror in the main room as well.
This establishment was in a good location right in the middle of the CBD a short walk to the Southbank area and to Swanston street and the restaurants around there, certainly my meetings in the city were literally just around the corner which was great.
All up I enjoyed the stay and would certainly stay here next time I am in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to provide a positive review Oaks on Market. We are delighted to read of you satisfaction and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a lovely stay at Oaks. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms were roomy and the kitchen had pretty much what we needed. The spa is a bit on the cold side though which was disappointing after a day in the surf the boys were looking forward to a good hot soak but none of us wanted to sit down, and the pool area is a bit gloomy. Daily room service was a nice surprise as a lot of hotels don't bother anymore. Overall a very nice stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jac T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Oaks on Market Street. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise that you were not satisfied with the temperature of the spa but we do hope you consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Oaks on Market is a great place to stay in Melbourne, right in the centre of the city, only a few minutes´walk to Federation Square. The hotel has got a good swimming pool, sauna and fitness centre. Rooms are big and comfortable. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mthereza89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our Oaks on Market Street. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to accommodating you at one of our Oaks Hotels & Resorts soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We recently had the "stay from hell" at this hotel. The rooms are adequate but have no desk lamps or in-room safes. If you have a car make VERY sure you enquire specifically about discount parking - we were not told about it until I overheard a conversation at the Reception counter on our last afternoon and the result was very costly. Forget the hotel breakfast buffet, food quality is poor and it is very expensive. There are excellent cafes nearby. Watch out for housekeeping - public areas on our floor were never really clean during our stay and one room was not serviced on the Saturday. DO NOT under any circumstances use the bag laundry service. The cost of this beat by a factor of two the most expensive laundry service we have ever encounted, handsomely beating the pervious record in Tokyo, Check your bill VERY carefully when paying. The hotel attempted to charge us for one room twice ! Reception staff had great difficulty understanding that the hotel was overcharging us. Overall, the location is fine and the rooms are fair but everything else is overpriced. Staff are friendly but very poorly trained. There are far, far better hotels available for the price in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your comments on our Oaks on Market Street. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us and have passed your comments on to the Hotel Manager for review.

We would like the opportunity to discuss this further. Please contact our Customer Feedback Representative on customerservice@theoaksgroup.com.au at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#130 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#78 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing