We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #88 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Pros:
Close to tram
In a good location
modern
helpful staff

Cons:
Pool is in an annoying place, takes too long to get to basement
left waiting since staff lock pool lift so they can use it
had to wait 2 hours for our room to be cleaned
gave us tissues instead of toilet paper??? uhmm wth
view of buildings
two bedroom was quite suishy

Room Tip: High the better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I picked this for the location near a workshop I was running.

Roadworks outside and steps into the building with luggage made access difficult.

No real strong points or weaknesses, Could have been any mid range hotel in any city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed here for a week and I love how modern and clean the hotel is. Great food from their restaurant, although it's so hard to get through to their room service every time I call.

Grumpy receptionists, i have talked to about 4 of them to ask a question and they hardly smile and does not seem proactive in helping customers.


Room service staff do not smile either, maybe they have a rule against smiling??

Housekeeping does an amazing job in cleaning. Every time i come back from a long day meeting with clients my room is always spic and span and they even fold my clothes which is just GREAT!


Close to the buzz of the city so love the location!

Will definitely stay again once receptionists are friendlier!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJojoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market.

We apologise for the disappointment you felt at the standard of service you received. We continually strive to provide the very highest levels of service in all our hotels and it is disappointing to know that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured your concerns will be raised with the staff and the General Manager of Learning & Development.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this place. Nice clean hotel apartment and a very good location in the CBD area as well. Enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The hotel is in a good location, but the rooms and showers particluarly in the rooms i have stayed are very tired.
Paul

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Leanne_M1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market. We are pleased that you find the location of our hotel convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon next time you are on business in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending a conference on Collins Street. The location was great (close to trams/major train stations and right in the centre of the CBD) and the room was very spacious. I found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable and suited my needs for the short term. However it is just another generic hotel in the heart of one the most vibrant cities in the world so don't expect it to 'make' your holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_8Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent business trip to Oaks on Market. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed in 1 Bd suite on the 9th floor for 3 nites, average hotel with the rooms needing to be freshed up( ie the lounge/with the pull out bed was old and very uncomportable to in). Great location, which is very central to the CBD. They also have serve a nice full buffet breakfast for just $16.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kel521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on Market. We are pleased that you found the location of the hotel convenient and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,318 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,508 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#44 of 161 in Melbourne
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £87 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing