We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks on Market

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oaks on Market
Ranked #91 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms for 4 nights, very comfortable and the rooms are awesome and very well maintained. The hotel offers heaps of services such as gym, bar area, and swimming pool. Located in the heart of the city, close walk to everything. Love it!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to review our property; we are glad to read that you loved your stay and our awesome and very well maintained rooms.

thank you again; and we look forward to welcome you back in 2014!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    526
    204
    76
    36
See reviews for
197
333
79
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel is located almost on the corner of Market street and Collins street and we stayed here 4 nights in Dec 2013 in a 2 bedroom apartment and found the apartment to be spacious, clean and modern with a 2 TVs (one in the master bedroom and one in the lounge area) and a fully equipped kitchen. The location was wonderful, with literally just a 2 minute walk from Flinders Street. There is a tram stop just outside the hotel, but just walking down to Flinders you have a better selection of trams plying, including the free city circle tram. (This is the Market street stop). The facilities were very good and the only area I thought required improvement was that we had to request for housekeeping once or twice (it had not happened during the day), and we found some of the cooking utensils to be inadequate. But all sorted with just one call to housekeeping. The service was excellent. There are several restaurants just across collins street and of course the full range of restaurants, shops and supermarkets on Flinders. The Flinders street station is also not too far away. The hotel is not close to the harbour area but easily accessible through the city circle tram (free), which takes you around 15 minutes to get there. All in all a great stay and no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chulendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay; and our spacious, clean and modern apartments.

Thank you again for your positive comments and for recommending our property to others.

Regards and Happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Its my first day of stay. Just checked in. The hotel is asking for a credit card to hold a $150 deposit. I asked if i could deposit money. They are only accepting aud amounting to $250. I cant get the point why they could not take Sgd for a deposit? Im working in a hotel too and we ate accepting other currency. The most I didnt like is the word 'or else we have to cancel your booking' wow! After a long flight. My accomodation is fully paid and just because I want to deposit sgd no choice but to cancel the booking. Is this hiw to treat a guest?

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liveworktravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback; although we appreciate your comments; we were disappointed to read that these comments were from a hospitality professional like yourself.

As you know every Hotel has terms and conditions in place, the same are in place to protect the business a most importantly the guest, not accepting foreign currency as preauthorisation or payment is one of our conditions.

In order to comply with our terms and conditions (note that the same terms and conditions are displayed on the Orbitz website), we believe in giving our guests every option available, cancelling your booking and offering a full refund was one of the many options given to you upon your arrival.

Dear Guest, we sincerely regret that we were not able to meet your expectations; and that the above issue has marred what we would have hoped to be a pleasant stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

We spent four nights at this hotel and would definitely stay again, fabulous location within walking distance to everything! Our room on the 19th floor was spacious and clean and we had a great view, the staff were polite and welcoming, happy to help out with requests and enquiries. We utilised the gym, pool and spa (don't know what other reviewers were complaining about; spa temperature was fine) but unfortunately ran out of time to use the sauna. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant one morning which was lovely. All in all, great experience and spanext time we're in town we'll be staying here again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we were happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect of our property, including our spacious and clean rooms and the great views from it.

Thank you again; and we can’t wait to welcome you back for another fantastic stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed in a twin room with a friend. We had a room 2013, not much of a view as it overlooked the old Suncorp building, but it wasn't like we came to Melbourne to sit and look out the window! The bathroom was huge, with good water pressure in the shower. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and I slept really well. Overall, a great stay and would stay again. My only complaint was no room service breakfast, which is the whole point of travelling for work!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneHoneyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad that you and your friend enjoyed our rooms and comfy beds.

We will take onboard your comments in regards to the room service breakfast; and will discuss the same during our next Head of Departments meeting.

Thanks again; and we look forward to welcome you back for another great stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I wen to a Medical Meeting and stayed 5 nights at OAKS on Market.I took Sky Bus from the Airport.It was a great service.
My stay at this property was great. My room was a one bedroom apartment with all the facilities I could need: air cond.,hairdryer,TV at bedroom and living room,kittchenet, refrigerator, ironing facilities, good towels.There are washing machines and dryers at basement.Three dollars each wash and 3 for dryer also.
My mattress was not very comfortable but I slept anyway. I would need stronger lights to read at night( hope you understand my English!) and at bathroom. Make up must be done at the living room ,which has a big window with nice city room.
Food from restaurant was delicious.Prices like, good but not luxury restaurants, close the OAKS.
The location is good.I went everyday to Melbourne Convention Center. I could go walking or by 112 tram with Mikicard ( you can buy it at 7 Eleven,80 mts from front door to right, on Collins St.)
The city tram can be taken on Flinders ,150 mts from front door, walking to the left.
To take the Shuttle City Bus( 5 dollars,not free anymore) go to the right, to Collins St, then to left ,Williams St., walk 50 mts and there is the stop, where you can buy the ticket. I really enjoyed the Shuttle Bus service.
As you see the Oaks is well located as others have said.
I think the daily cleaning must be improved not just the first day.
I would be back if I ever come back to Melbourne.

Room Tip: My room was 1914,do not recommend you because is just by the elevator.From 01 to 12 are far from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your in depth feedback; we are glad that you enjoyed our property and our beautiful city of Melbourne.

We will definitely share your comments with our Executive Housekeeper in regards to the daily housekeeping service.

Again, thank you for your comments; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Australia.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Oaks on market is fantastically central. I got around purely by foot and it would take roughly:

5 minutes walk to crown casino and the aquarium
15 minutes walk to Southbank and the DFO
20 minutes walk to Docklands
5 minutes walk to the heart of Flinder's lane
6 - 7 minutes walk to Flinders Station/Fed Squre

You really can't get much more central than that!

The rooms are well appointed and have everything you need for a comfortable stay in the CBD. The hotel itself is actually also very reasonable for a CBD hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMarket, Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property, we are glad that you enjoyed the central location of our building and our well appointed rooms.

Thank you again; and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#79 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,297 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#49 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Property: Oaks on Market
Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing